
Service Date: February 22, 2023 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-230007 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $5,000 

Investigation # 8670 

SERVICE VIA EMAIL 

UBI:  328-000-223

Avista Corporation 

337 North Post St. 

Spokane, WA 99201 

Brian.schultz@avistacorp.com 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Avista 

Corporation (Avista) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(3)(a) by failing to 

provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location of its 

locatable underground facilities.   

RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a 

civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each 

subsequent violation within a three-year period.  

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $5,000 penalty 

(Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 

• On December 20, 2022, the Safety Committee heard case 22-038 filed by M&L

Construction Inc. (Complainant) against Avista and determined Avista violated RCW

19.122.030(3)(a) by failing to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate

information by marking the location of their locatable underground facilities. The Safety

Committee recommended that the Commission impose a $5,000 penalty.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing documents, reports, 

and emails submitted by the Safety Committee, and a review of the One-Call center database.  

1. Analysis

The alleged violations concern RCW 19.122.030(3)(a), which states, in part, that a Facility

Operator must provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the

location of its underground facilities.

mailto:Brian.schultz@avistacorp.com
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2. Violation

The Complainant states that on July 7, 2022, the Company cored asphalt for two hours

looking for the location of an Avista gas line. After not finding the gas line, the Company

called Avista who then responded to the location and found the line ten feet away from

where the line had originally been marked as located.

In a written response to the Complainant on July 25, 2022, Avista acknowledged that the

original locate marks were not accurate and reassured the Complainant that the locator has

received additional training.

During the past 24 months, the Commission has issued Avista seven Penalty Assessments

of $5,000 each, for violations of RCW 19.122.030, and two new pending Penalty

Assessments.

5-26-22 Penalty Notice $5,000 RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

3-29-22 Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

3-29-22 Penalty Notice $5,000 RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

12-28-21 Penalty Notice $5,000 RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

9-23-21 Penalty Notice $5,000 RCW 19.122.030(4)a 

9-23-21 Penalty Notice $5,000 RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

3-18-21 Penalty Notice $5,000 RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

Staff would like to remind Avista Corporation of requirements in 49 C.F.R 192 and WAC 

480-93 related to the company’s responsibility for contractors, locating facilities, and

facility maps.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty 

amount: 

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have resulted in severe injury or harm to the excavators or the

public and could have resulted in additional undue expenses and hardship.

2. Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation does not appear to be intentional, but due to negligence by Avista and

its locators. Over the past 24 months, Avista has been penalized by the Commission

on seven occasions for violations of RCW 19.122.030. This indicates it is aware of

the requirements to comply with the dig law but does not appear to be making

significant progress to improve its practices.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation.

Avista did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the

violation after the Complainant filed a complaint with the Safety Committee.
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4. The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on Avista’s actions going forward, and its

ability to ensure that its contract locator and its contract locator’s processes are

sufficient to comply with the requirements of the dig law.

The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of 

probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:  

$5,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide the 

excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location of their 

locatable underground facilities on July 7, 2022.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 

following: 

• Pay the $5,000 penalty amount due; or

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 

receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 

email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 

paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, 

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1 

1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now. 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.  

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 22, 2023 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-230007 Investigation #8670

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 

days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred: 

   [  ] Enclose $5,000 in payment of the penalty. 

      OR    [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment portal. 

[  ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

[  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

 OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

[  ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application 

here, your request will be denied): 

[  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 _____________________________________ ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a

materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or authorized

by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's

mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under

this section.



 

 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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