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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-220239 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $5,400 

Vicky Sandhu 

d/b/a Seattle Top Class Limo; Alisha Limousine Service; Seattle Party Bus 

20120 SE 287th St. 

Kent, WA 98042 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Vicky Sandhu 

d/b/a Seattle Top Class Limo; Alisha Limousine Service; Seattle Party Bus (Seattle Top Class 

Limo or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-221, Vehicle and 

Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 

382 – Controlled Substance and Alcohol Use and Testing; 49 C.F.R. Part 383 – Commercial 

Driver’s License Standards; Requirements and Penalties; 49 C.F.R. Part 391 – Qualification of 

Drivers; and 49 C.F.R. Part 396 – Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance. 

 

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. 

RCW 81.04.530 allows penalties of up to $1,500 for an employer who begins or conducts 

commercial motor vehicle operations without having a controlled substance and alcohol testing 

program that is in compliance with the requirements of Title 49 C.F.R. Part 382. In the case of an 

ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.  

On March 29, 2022, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Edward Steiner completed a routine 

safety investigation of Seattle Top Class Limo and documented the following violations: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.305 – Failing to implement a random controlled 

substance and/or an alcohol testing program. The Company failed to enroll its drivers 

into a controlled substance and alcohol testing program. 

• Six violations of 49 C.F.R. §383.37(a) – Allowing, requiring, permitting or 

authorizing a driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) during any 

period in which the driver does not have a current commercial learner’s permit 

(CLP) or commercial driver’s license (CDL) or does not have a CLP or CDL with 

the proper class or endorsements. An employer may not use a driver to operate a 

CMV who violates any restrictions on the driver’s CLP or CDL. The Company 

allowed driver Manpreet Singh to operate passenger commercial vehicles without having 

a required passenger endorsement on their CDL on six occasions between August 20 and 

December 11, 2021. 

• Thirty-two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically 

examined and certified. The Company allowed driver Caleb Kidd to operate a CMV 

without having a valid medical certificate on 32 occasions between August 20, 2021, and 

February 5, 2022. 
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• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1) – Tire in contact with another part of the 

vehicle. Commission staff (Staff) discovered a CMV with the driver side front tire in 

contact with the wheel well.1 The vehicle was placed out of service. 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for 

these violations: 

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are 

serious and potentially harmful to the public. Passenger transportation companies that: (1) 

fail to enroll their drivers in controlled substance and alcohol testing programs, (2) allow 

drivers to operate passenger CMVs without proper CDL endorsements, (3) allow drivers 

to operate CMVs without having a valid medical certificate, and (4) fail to maintain parts 

and accessories in safe and proper operating conditions at all times. These violations 

present significant safety concerns. 

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include: 

• Whether the Company ignored Staff’s previous technical assistance; and 

• Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows 

the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation. 

 

On July 7, 2017, the Commission received the Company’s application for charter and 

excursion authority. In the application, Vicky Sandhu, owner of Seattle Top Class Limo, 

acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable 

motor carrier safety rules. 

 

On July 28, 2017, Staff provided new entrant safety regulation training to Seattle Top 

Class Limo. Vicky Sandhu acknowledged receiving training pertaining to 49 C.F.R. § 

382.305, 49 C.F.R. § 383, 49 C.F.R. § 391.45, and 49 C.F.R. § 396.3. 

 

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Seattle Top Class Limo did not 

self-report these violations. 

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was 

cooperative throughout the safety investigation. 

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. 

The Company stated in a letter that the violations have been corrected, but has not 

provided Staff with evidence. 

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 17 violation types with a total of 55 

individual occurrences during the safety investigation of Seattle Top Class Limo. Of 

those violations, Staff identified four violation type with 40 individual occurrences that 

warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy. 

 
1 VIN: 1GYEC63807R372388 
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7. The number of customers affected. Seattle Top Class Limo traveled 3,200 miles in 

2021. These safety violations presented a public safety risk. 

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies 

to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe 

operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. The Company was 

cooperative throughout the safety investigation and expressed a desire to come into 

compliance. Despite these factors, the repeat acute violation makes Staff believe that the 

likelihood of recurrence is possible. 

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.  

On September 13, 2018, the Commission cancelled the Company’s charter and excursion 

authority for failing to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees in Docket TE-

180773. The Company filed its annual report and paid regulatory fees on February 19, 

2019. The Company’s charter and excursion authority was reinstated on February 27, 

2019, in Docket TE-190102.  

On February 17, 2019, the Commission issued an Order Instituting Special Proceedings 

Seeking to Impose Penalties to determine if Seattle Top Class Limo had engaged, and 

was engaging, in unlawful operations following the cancellation of its charter and 

excursion carrier certificate in Docket TE-190079. On March 12, 2019, the Commission 

assessed a $10,000 penalty against Seattle Top Class Limo and suspended a $8,500 

portion of the penalty for a period two years subject to conditions. On July 12, 2019, the 

Company paid the $1,500 non-suspended portion of the penalty in full. 

On November 7, 2019, during a routine safety investigation, Staff identified one violation 

of 49 C.F.R. § 382.305.  

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Vicky Sandhu is responsible for the 

Company’s safety compliance program. 

11. The size of the Company. Seattle Top Class Limo currently operates three CMVs and 

employs three drivers. The Company reported $49,000 in gross revenue for the fiscal 

year ending December 31, 2021. 

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so 

fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each 

occurrence of a first-time violation.2 The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation 

category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do 

not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any 

equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service” 

 
2 Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – 

Section V. 
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criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat 

violation. 

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Seattle Top 

Class Limo $5,400 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows: 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 382.305 – Failing to implement a random controlled 

substance and/or an alcohol testing program. The Commission assesses a penalty of 

$1,500 for this repeat acute violation. 

• Six violations of 49 C.F.R. §383.37(a) – Allowing, requiring, permitting or authorizing a 

driver to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) during any period in which the 

driver does not have a current CLP or CDL or does not have a CLP or CDL with the 

proper class or endorsements. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each 

occurrence of this acute violation, for a total of $600. 

• Thirty-two violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) – Using a driver not medically examined 

and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this 

violation, for a total of $3,200. 

• One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 396.3(a)(1) – Tire in contact with another part of the 

vehicle. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this out-of-service violation. 

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the 

penalty assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur, 

you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at 

a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you 

believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the 

penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a 

request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and 

resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty 

must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a 

statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application 

for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 

following: 

• Pay the amount due. 

• Contest the occurrence of the violation(s). 

• Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount. 
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are 

unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are 

unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities 

and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, 

including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide 

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 26, 2022. 

/s/Michael Howard for 

RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-220239 

 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $5,400 in 

payment of the penalty. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the 

reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 

here, your request will be denied): 

 [   ]  a)    I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

[   ]  3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should 

be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting 

your application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [month/day/year], at ________________________ [city, state] 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020: 

 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an 

element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a 

defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” 
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