Service Date: September 12, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-250670
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000

Investigation # 9137
SERVICE VIA EMAIL
UBI: 603-159-315
Christopher Masaniai
Influx Development LLC Phone: (425) 248-8334

2000 Fairview Ave E. Ste 100
Seattle, WA 98122
Riley.a.influx@gmail.com
Excavation@influxdevelopment.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Influx
Development, LLC (Influx or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an
underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission Staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Influx Development LLC (Influx
or Company) damaging a natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

Staff reviewed the documents, reports, and communications with the Safety Committee and agreed
with the Safety Committee’s findings and recommendations.

The Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment)
against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation(s):
On June 2, 2025, Influx was excavating at 1708 2" Avenue North, Seattle, Washington.
While excavating, Influx workers struck and damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy
(PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report
submitted by PSE on July 13, 2025, indicated that Influx was excavating without a valid
request to locate underground utilities.

2. Analysis:
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The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. The Gas
First Response (GFR) submitted by PSE states that on June 2, 2025, a 5/8” natural gas
service line was damaged. The report explains that Influx was moving a pile of dirt using
hand tools and did not have a locate request when the line was damaged. The ELM report
confirms that Influx did not have a valid locate ticket when it caused damage to the gas
line.

On August 20, 2025, Staff contacted Influx requesting further information regarding this
damage incident. On September 2, 2025, the Company responded with photos and an
explanation that the gas line they hit was too shallow. Staff responded and explained that
despite the shallow gas line, the Company was still responsible for having a valid request
for locates before it started excavation.

Staff reviewed the One Call Center database and found locate ticket request #25230496 for
this location that was requested on the day the damage occurred.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation(s):

1.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.
This incident could have been harmful to Company workers, utility technicians, nearby
homeowners, and the public, and could have resulted in serious injury and loss of property.

Whether the violation is intentional.

This violation appears to be due to negligence by Influx rather than a lack of knowledge
regarding Washington State’s dig law. Over the past 12 months, Influx has submitted 27
requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates the Companies knowledge of
requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service before
beginning excavation

The likelihood of recurrence.

The likelihood of recurrence depends on Influx Development’s actions going forward, and
its ability to ensure that its contract locator and its contract locator’s processes are
sufficient to comply with the requirements of the dig law.

The Company’s previous violations and penalties.

On September 21, 2018, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig
Law letter to Influx. The letter included detailed information about Washington State’s
Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility locate
requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The
Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Influx on June
20, 2018, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to locate
underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of
probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:
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e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions
that:

1) Company management and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig
Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association
(NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;

2) The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the
Commission; and

3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within
12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation(s) did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation(s) that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion
of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation at the time of the
incident, must complete NUCA Dig Safe training (https://utc-
9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 days of service of this Penalty
Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion (Certificate) to the
Commission. (See attached NUCA Dig Safe Training Verification Record); and

o The Company must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation(s); or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250,
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).!

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 12, 2025.
/s/ Connor Thompson

CONNOR THOMPSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

! https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250670 Investigation # 9137

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

1.

OR

OR

Payment of penalty. | admit that the violation(s) occurred and:
Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.

Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment

portal.

Accept conditions. I admit that the violation(s) occurred and enclose $200 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following
conditions:

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation at the time of
the incident (indicate names below), must complete NUCA Dig Safe training
(https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6évndh) within 90 days of service of
this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion (Certificate) to
the Commission. (See attached NUCA Dig Safe Training Verification
Record); and

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within

twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

Request mitigation. I admit the violation(s), but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):
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a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide

above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing,

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.



	WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Check Box3: Off
	Check Box4: Off
	Check Box5: Off
	Check Box6: Off
	Check Box7: Off
	Check Box8: Off
	Check Box9: Off
	Check Box10: Off
	Month/Day/Year: 
	City, State: 
	Printed Name: 
	Text11: 
	Text12: 


