
 Service Date: August 25, 2025 
 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-250579 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000  

 Investigation # 9121 
SERVICE VIA EMAIL 
 UBI: 601-450-995
Ruby Nee 
Clearwater Summit Group, Inc. 

Phone: (509) 990 3595

19208 E Broadway Ave 
Spokane Valley, WA 99016-8577 
Rnee@clearwatersummitgroup.com  
 
 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  
 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Clearwater 
Summit Group, Inc. (Clearwater Summit or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington 
(RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to 
an underground gas facility. 
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service 
and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than 
$10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
reviewed documents identified a natural gas event that involved Clearwater Summit damaging a 
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) 
against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation: 

On May 21, 2025, Clearwater Summit was excavating at 619 S. Easy St, Airway Heights, 
Washington. While excavating, Clearwater Summit workers struck and damaged an 
underground Avista Corporation (Avista) natural gas facility. The Damage Information 
Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by Avista on June 9, 2025, indicated that 
Clearwater Summit was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities. 

 
2. Analysis: 

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. On May 

mailto:Rnee@clearwatersummitgroup.com
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21, 2025, Clearwater Summit Group damaged an Avista gas line. The First Responder 
Report from Avista indicates that Clearwater Summit Group dug into an Avista 2” gas 
main line with a backhoe.  
 
On July 17, 2025, staff emailed Clearwater Summit and requested further information 
regarding this damage incident. On July 17, 2025, Clearwater Summit responded and stated 
it had submitted its DIRT report as required. On July 18, 2025, Staff communicated with 
Clearwater Summit that this investigation involved an alleged violation of the Dig Law and 
that further information was still needed from the Company. On July 28, 2025, Staff again 
sent follow-up email to Clearwater Summit requesting information. As of this date no 
further responses have been received from Clearwater Summit Group. 

 
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Clearwater Summit workers, 
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe 
injury and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Clearwater Summit has submitted 
61 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates the Company’s 
knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service 
before beginning excavation. 
 

3. The likelihood of recurrence. 
The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to notify the one-call location service every time prior to excavation. 
 

4.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties.  
On July 22, 2014, and November 21, 2018, the Commission mailed Alleged Violation of 
Washington Dig Law letters to Clearwater Summit. The letters included detailed 
information about Washington State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, 
requirements for submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of 
penalties for each violation. The Commission mailed the letters after receiving reports of 
damage caused by Clearwater Summit that occurred because the Company failed to submit 
requests to locate underground utilities before excavating. 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of 
probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an 
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions 
that: 
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1) Company management and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig 
Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association 
(NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of training completion to the 
Commission; and 

3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

 
Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation at the time of the 

incident, must complete NUCA Dig Safe training (https://utc-
9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 days of service of this Penalty 
Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion (Certificate) to the 
Commission. (See attached NUCA Dig Safe Training Verification Record); and 

o The Company must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
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paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, 
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 25, 2025. 
 

/s/Connor Thompson    
       CONNOR THOMPSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-250579 Investigation # 9121 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and: 
[  ] Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o Company management and field crew responsible for excavation at the time of 
the incident (indicate names below), must complete NUCA Dig Safe training 
(https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 days of service of 
this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of training completion (Certificate) to 
the Commission. (See attached NUCA Dig Safe Training Verification 
Record); and  

o The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 
twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
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[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 
 
 
Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 
 
 
 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
 
 
 
RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 
authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 
prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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