
 Service Date: September 6, 2024 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-240630 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $4,000  
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SERVICE VIA EMAIL 
 UBI: 604-370-510
Aleksandr and Yelena Kislenko Phone: (360) 773-6678
NW United Exteriors, Inc. 
13504 Northeast 84th Street 
Ste. 103-262 
Vancouver, WA 98682 
info@lindastaxservice.com 
 
 
 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  
 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that NW United 
Exteriors, Inc. (NW United Exteriors or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 
19.122.030(2) by failing to provide notice to a one-number locator service not less than two 
business days before the scheduled excavation date on four separate occasions.  
 
RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a 
civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each 
subsequent violation within a three-year period.  
 
On August 22, 2024, the Washington State Dig Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) heard 
case 24-070 filed by NW Natural Gas (NWN or complainant) against NW United Exteriors and 
determined NW United Exteriors violated RCW 19.122.030(2) by failing to provide notice to a 
one-number locator service not less than two business days before the scheduled excavation date 
on four separate occasions. The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission impose a 
$4,000 penalty.  
 
Commission staff (Staff) reviewed the documents, reports, and communications with the Safety 
Committee and agreed with the Safety Committee’s findings and recommendations. 
 
The Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $4,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) 
against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation 1: 

The Complainant states that on April 3, 2024, NW United Exteriors was installing metal 
fence posts at 10308 NE 132nd Place, Vancouver, WA without providing notice to a one-
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number locator service not less than two business days before the scheduled excavation 
date.  
 

 Analysis: 
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.030(2), which states, in part, that an excavator 
must provide notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before 
the scheduled excavation date. The Complainant states that on April 3, 2024, NW United 
Exteriors was installing metal fence posts at 10308 NE 132nd Place, Vancouver, WA 
without providing notice to a one-number locator service. NWN stated that it sent official 
letters to the Company covering the dig law requirements and expectations, but the 
Company continued to excavate without locates.  

 
2. Alleged Violation 2: 

The Complainant states that on June 26, 2024, NW United Exteriors was installing metal 
fence posts at 10221 NE 133rd Ave, Vancouver, WA without providing notice to a one-
number locator service not less than two business days before the scheduled excavation 
date. 
 
Analysis: 
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.030(2), which states, in part, that an excavator 
must provide notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before 
the scheduled excavation date. The Complainant states that on June 26, 2024, NW United 
Exteriors was installing metal fence posts at 10221 NE 133rd Ave, Vancouver, WA 
without providing notice to a one-number locator service. NWN stated that it sent official 
letters to the Company covering the dig law requirements and expectations, but the 
Company continued to excavate without locates. 

 
3.  Alleged Violation 3: 

The Complainant states that on June 26, 2024, NW United Exteriors was installing metal 
fence posts at 10213 NE 133rd Ave, Vancouver, WA without providing notice to a one-
number locator service not less than two business days before the scheduled excavation 
date. 
 
Analysis: 
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.030(2), which states, in part, that an excavator 
must provide notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before 
the scheduled excavation. The Complainant states that on June 26, 2024, NW United 
Exteriors was installing metal fence posts at 10213 NE 133rd Ave, Vancouver, WA 
without providing notice to a one-number locator service. NWN stated that it sent official 
letters to the Company covering the dig law requirements and expectations, but the 
Company continued to excavate without locates.  

 
4. Alleged Violation 4: 

The Complainant states that on June 26, 2024, NW United Exteriors was installing metal 
fence posts at 10217 NE 133rd Avenue, Vancouver, WA without providing notice to a one-
number locator service not less than two business days before the scheduled excavation 
date. 



PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-240630  PAGE 3  
 
 

 
Analysis: 
The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.030(2), which states, in part, that an excavator 
must provide notice to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before 
the scheduled excavation date. The Complainant states that on June 26, 2024, NW United 
Exteriors was installing metal fence posts at 10217 NE 133rd Avenue, Vancouver, WA 
without providing notice to a one-number locator service. NWN stated it sent official 
letters to the Company covering the dig law requirements and expectations, but the 
Company continued to excavate without locates. 
 

Staff reviewed the One Call Center database and did not find locate requests for NW United 
Exteriors for these locations. 

 
Peer Review: 
During the Safety Committee review, NWN provided photographs that show the fence posts next 
to the gas meters. NWN stated that it had discussed with the Company the importance of calling 
for locates but NW United Exteriors continued to excavate without locates. NWN stated that there 
were locates on the ground at 10217 NE 133rd Avenue, Vancouver, WA that were requested from a 
landscaping company and not from NW United Exteriors. Additional photographs showed that 
there were clear gas markings, but they were not requested by NW United Exteriors. 

 
NW United Exteriors stated that it had requested a locate ticket, but it was improperly submitted 
and was not valid. The Company recognized there was an issue submitting the locate request 
online and by phone. NW United Exteriors stated that it is a small business and there isn’t an 
office employee to handle the locate requests. Since the complaint has been filed, NW United 
Exteriors stated that it is now submitting a dig request for every lot, and there should not be an 
issue going forward. 

 
The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violations: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. 

These incidents could have been significantly more harmful to NW United Exteriors 
workers, utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public and could have resulted in 
severe injury and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violations are intentional. 
The violations appear to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months NW United Exteriors has submitted 
17 requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates NW United Exteriors’ 
knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service 
before beginning excavation. 

 
3. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the NW United Exteriors’ actions going forward 
and its willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 
excavation. 
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4.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties. 

The Company has no previous violations or penalties. 
  
The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of 
probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:  

First Violation: $1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on April 3, 
2024, at 10308 NE 132 Pl, Vancouver, WA. 

Second Violation: $1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on June 
26, 2024, at 10221 NE 133rd Ave, Vancouver, WA. 

Third Violation: $1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on June 
26, 2024, at 10213 NE 133rd Ave, Vancouver, WA. 

Fourth Violation: $1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on June 
26, 2024, at 10217 NE 133rd Avenue, Vancouver, WA. 

The total penalty amount is $4,000 for the four violations of RCW 19.122.030(2) with an 
offer to suspend a $3,000 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to 
the conditions that: 
 

1) NW United Exteriors owner, lead foreman and field crew responsible for 
excavation complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility 
Contractors Association (NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

3) NW United Exteriors must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 
within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

 
Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violations and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $4,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $1,000 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend a $3,000 

portion of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o NW United Exteriors owner, lead foreman and field crew responsible for 

excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-
9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 90 days of service of this Penalty 
Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

o NW United Exteriors must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 
within 12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, 
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 6, 2024. 
 

/s/ James E. Brown II 
       JAMES E. BROWN II 

Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-240630 Investigation # 8942 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and: 
[  ] Enclose $4,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $3,000 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o NW United Exteriors owner, lead foreman and field crew responsible for 
excavation must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 
days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and  

o NW United Exteriors must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 
within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the 
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest 
here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 _____________________________________ ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print Signature of Applicant 

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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