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STATE OF WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
621 Woodland Square Loop S.E. ● Lacey, Washington 98503 

P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250 

(360) 664-1160 ● TTY 1-800-833-6384 or 711 

 
 

 

April 27, 2023 

 
Sent via email and first-class mail 

 
Justin Higbee 

d/b/a J & S Movers and JNS Movers INC 

6721 21st Avenue SW, Apt. B 

Seattle, WA 98106 
 

RE: Household Goods Moving in Washington State 

 

Dear Justin Higbee: 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) has information that you 

are conducting household goods moves within the state of Washington. Advertisements for your 

household goods services have been found on yelp.com, facebook.com, and 

https://www.jandsmovers.com/. Conducting or advertising household goods moves requires a 

permit issued by the commission. You do not have a valid permit, as required by state law, to 

conduct this type of work. 

 

Until you obtain a permit, you must immediately cease operating as a household goods 

mover in Washington State. Operating as a household goods mover without the required permit 

is illegal and subject to a penalty of $5,000 per violation.1 This means that you may receive this 

penalty for each day you operate in violation of the law. 

 

You must also immediately cease advertising as a household goods mover in Washington 

State. Advertising for the transportation of property for compensation in Washington without a 

proper permit is against the law. The penalty for advertising without a permit is $5,000 per 

violation. This means that you may receive a penalty for each and every advertisement. At this 

time, the commission has documented advertisements for household goods moving services from 

J & S Movers and/or JNS Movers INC. 

 

If you advertise or operate as a household goods mover without a permit, the commission 

will take enforcement action against you. Such action may include the above-mentioned 
 

 
 

1 RCW 81.80.075 

 

 
Respect. Professionalism. Integrity. Accountability. 
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financial penalties; and you will be served with a subpoena and be required to appear before a 

judge. 

 

To avoid enforcement action, you must stop operating and advertising as a household goods 

mover immediately. In addition, by May 11, 2023, you must do one of the following: 
 

a) Submit completed household goods moving permit application, proof of insurance, 

supporting materials, and application fee. To request a permit application, please call 

(360) 664-1222. You may also download an application from the commission’s 

website at www.utc.wa.gov/regulated-industries/transportation/licensing- 

insurance/permit-applications. 
 

OR 

 

b) Explain in writing why you believe your operations do not require authority from the 

commission. Please explain your operations in detail. Direct your written response to 

Jaquandria Ewanika, Compliance Investigator, at jaquandria.ewanika@utc.wa.gov or 

to P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, WA 98504. 

 
If you have questions about the household goods laws, please contact Jaquandria Ewanika at 

(360) 664-1320. 

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

Bridgit Feeser 

Assistant Director, Consumer Protection 

http://www.utc.wa.gov/regulated-industries/transportation/licensing-insurance/permit-applications
http://www.utc.wa.gov/regulated-industries/transportation/licensing-insurance/permit-applications
mailto:jaquandria.ewanika@utc.wa.gov
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STATE OF WASHINGTON 

UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

621 Woodland Square Loop S.E. • Lacey, Washington 98503 

P.O. Box 47250 • Olympia, Washington 98504-7250 

(360) 664-1160 e TTY (360) 586-8203 

 
 

October 14, 2019 

 

 
 

Justin Higbee 

d/b/a The Northwest Movers 

17615 163rd Pl. S.E. 

Momoe, WA 98272 

 
RE: Household Goods Moving in Washington State 

 
Dear Justin Higbee: 

 
The Utilities and Transportation Commission has information that you are conducting household 

goods moves within the state of Washington. Adve1iisements for your household goods services 

have been found on facebook.com. You do not have a valid permit, as required by state law, to 

conduct this type of work. Conducting household goods moves requires a permit issued by the 

comm1ss10n. 

 

To avoid enforcement action, your complete household goods permit application, supporting 

materials, and application fee must be submitted to the commission by October 28, 2019. 
 

Until you obtain a permit, you must immediately cease operating as a household goods 

mover in Washington State. Operating as a household goods mover without the required permit 

is illegal and subject to a penalty of $5,000 per violation.1 This means that you may receive this 

penalty for each day you operate in violation of the law. 
 

You must also immediately cease advertising as a household goods mover in Washington 

State. Advertising for the transportation of property for compensation in Washington without a 

proper permit is against the law. The penalty for advertising without a permit is $5,000 per 

violation. This means that you may receive a penalty for each and every advertisement. At this 

time, the commission has documented advertisements for household goods moving services from 

Justin Higbee d/b/a The Northwest Movers. 
 

 

 
 

1 RCW 81.80.075 

 

 
Respect. Professionalism. Integrity. Accountability. 
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If you advertise or operate as a household goods mover without a permit, the commission 

will take enforcement action against you. Such action may include the above-mentioned 

financial penalties; and you will be served with a subpoena and be required to appear before a 

judge. 

 

Again, to avoid enforcement action, your complete application, supporting materials, and 

application fee must be submitted to the commission by October 28, 2019. In addition, you must 

stop operating and advertising as a household goods mover immediately. 

 

If you have questions about the household goods laws, please contact Brian Braun, Compliance 

Investigator, at (360) 664-1129. 

 
Should you decide to apply for a household goods moving permit, please note that you still may 

not operate as a household goods mover in Washington state until you have received a permit. 

To request a permit application, please call (360) 664 1222. You may also download an 

application from the commission's website at \vWW.utc.wa.,gov/mover. 

 

Sincerely, 
 

Bridgit Feeser 

Assistant Director, Consumer Protection 


