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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-230098 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $5,000  

 Investigation # 8693 

SERVICE VIA EMAIL 

 UBI: 328-000-223

Avista Corporation 

337 North Post St. 

Spokane, WA 99201 

Brian.schultz@avistacorp.com 

 

 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Avista 

Corporation (Avista or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(3)(a) 

by failing to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location 

of its underground locatable facilities.  

 

RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a 

civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each 

subsequent violation within a three-year period.  

 

On February 15, 2023, the Safety Committee heard case 22-030 filed by M&L Construction 

(Complainant) against Avista and determined Avista violated RCW 19.122. 030(3)(a) by failing to 

provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location of its 

underground locatable facilities. The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission 

impose a $5,000 penalty.  

 

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing documents, reports, 

and communications with the Safety Committee and all parties involved. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $5,000 penalty 

(Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 

 

1. Alleged Violation(s): 

The Complainant states that on July 18, 2022, during the process of hydro excavation, it 

was unable to locate a gas facility that had been located by Avista. M&L reported that the 

gas facility was eventually located 15 feet from the locate marks. The complainant states 

Avista failed to accurately locate its facilities.  
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2. Analysis: 

 The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.030(3)(a), which states, in part, that a facility 

operator must provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the 

location of its underground facilities. M&L had a valid locate ticket for 1628 E 16th Ave., 

Spokane, WA. The complainant reported that on July 18, 2022, it potholed on both sides of 

the gas locates and was not able to locate the facility. M&L then called the locate company 

to explain it had not been able to find the gas line. The locater responded to the address and 

was able to locate the line approximately 15 feet away from the original location markings. 

Avista acknowledged that this locate was inaccurate but argued that M&L should have 

done this project in phases, in which case it believes the outcomes would have been more 

accurate.     

 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 

for the violation: 

 

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have caused severe harm to employees, or the public, and could have 

resulted in additional undue expenses and hardships.  

 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 

The violation does not appear to be intentional, but rather due to negligence by Avista and 

its locators. Over the past 24 months (March 2021-March 2023), Avista has been penalized 

by the Commission on nine occasions for violations of RCW 19.122.030. Avista is aware 

of the requirements to comply with the dig law but does not appear to be making 

significant progress to improve its practices.  

 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 

Avista did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the violation 

after the Complainant filed a complaint with the Safety Committee. 

 

4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on Avista’s actions going forward, and its ability to 

ensure that its contract locator and its contract locator’s processes are sufficient to comply 

with the requirements of the dig law. 

 

5.  The Company’s previous violations and penalties.  

During the past 24 months, the Commission has issued Avista nine Penalty Assessments of 

$5,000 each for violations of RCW 19.122.030 as follows: 

 

D-230005 3-13-23 Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

D-230007 2-22-23 Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

D-220230 5-26-22  Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

D-220112 3-29-22  Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(4)a  

D-220111 3-29-22  Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(3)a  

D-210605 12-28-21  Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

D-210636 9-23-21  Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(4)a 
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D-210635 9-23-21  Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(4)a 

D-200814 3-18-21  Penalty Notice $5,000  RCW 19.122.030(3)a 

 

Staff would like to remind Avista of the requirements in 49 C.F.R 192 and WAC 480-93 

related to the Company’s responsibility for contractors, locating facilities, and facility 

maps.  

 

The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of 

probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:  

• $5,000 Penalty Assessment for one violation of 19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide the 

excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location of its underground 

locatable facilities.  

 

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 

Penalty Assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 

penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 

following: 

• Pay the $5,000 penalty amount due; or 

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations; or 

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 

Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 

receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 

email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 

paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, 

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. 

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
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If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective April 17, 2023. 

 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-230098  Investigation # 8693 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and: 

[  ] Enclose $5,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 

portal. 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 

I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

 

[   ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 

application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 

an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 

 

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 

actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 

prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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