
 Service Date: May 26, 2022 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-220318 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation # 8536 

SERVICE VIA EMAIL 

 UBI:  604-130-082

Greenland Industries LLC 

PO Box 215  

Southworth, WA  98386 

Gabriela@greenlandindustriesllc.com 

 

YOU MUST RESPOND TO THIS NOTICE WITHIN 15 DAYS -  See page 4. 

 

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that  

Greenland Industries LLC (Greenland or Company) has violated the Revised Code of 

Washington (RCW) 19.122.030 (1) An excavator must mark the boundary of the 

excavation area with white paint applied on the ground of the worksite, then provide notice 

of the scheduled commencement of excavation to all facility operators through a one-

number locator service; and (2) An excavator must provide notice to a one-number locator 

service not less than two business day before the scheduled date of excavation.  RCW 

19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a 

civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for 

each subsequent violation within a three-year period.  

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty 

(Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 

 

On April 27, 2022, the Safety Committee heard the complaint about case 22-001 

against Greenland and determined that the Respondent violated RCW 19.122.030 

(1) An excavator must mark the boundary of the excavation area with white paint 

applied on the ground of the worksite, then provide notice of the scheduled 

commencement of excavation to all facility operators through a one-number locator 

service; and (2) An excavator must provide notice to a one-number locator service 

not less than two business day before the scheduled date of excavation. 

 

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing documents, 

reports, and emails submitted by the Safety Committee, and a review of the One-Call 

center database.  

 

Staff agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of probable violation and agrees with the 

penalty recommendation of a $1,000 penalty for the two violations of RCW 19.122.030 

that occurred on January 17, 2022. Staff recommends offering an opportunity to suspend an 
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$800 portion of the penalty amount for one year, and then waive it, subject to the 

conditions that: (1) Greenland supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation 

complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association 

(NUCA) within 45 days of the date the Commission issues the Penalty Assessment, (2) the 

Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of the 

date of this Penalty Assessment, and (3) the Company must pay the $200 portion of the 

penalty that is not suspended within 15 days of receiving the Penalty Assessment. 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a $1,000 penalty with 

an offer to suspend an $800 portion of the penalty subject to the conditions described 

above.  

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient 

to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe either of the violations did not occur, you may 

deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing 

or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation(s) that you believe should excuse you from 

the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 

following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 

• Pay the $200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended and notify the Commission that 

you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion of the penalty amount subject to the 

following conditions: 

o Greenland management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete 

NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) within 45 

days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 

Commission within 5 days of attending training; and 

o Greenland must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 

months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 

• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and file it with the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, at records@utc.wa.gov, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 

receive this Penalty Assessment. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective May 26, 2022. 

 

/s/Michael Howard 

       MICHAEL HOWARD 

Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

file:///C:/Users/pdoyle215/AppData/Local/Microsoft/Windows/INetCache/Content.Outlook/3MMTRSY0/records@utc.wa.gov


 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-220318 Investigation #8536 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 

15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the 

following statements: 

[  ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of 

the penalty. 

[  ]  2. Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred. I enclose $200 and accept 

the Commission’s offer to suspend and ultimately waive the remaining $800 portion of the 

penalty amount subject to the following conditions:   

o Greenland supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe training 

provided through NUCA within 90 days of the date of this Penalty 

Assessment; and   

o Greenland must submit documentation of that attendance to 

the Commission within 5 days of attending the training; and   

o Greenland must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 

12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.   

[  ] 3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

 

 

 

 

 [  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

 

[  ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application 

here, your request will be denied): 

 

 

 

 

[  ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [  ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 



 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if, in any official 

proceeding, he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required 

or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.” 
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