Service Date: December 16, 2021

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-210921 TV-210921
PENALTY AMOUNT: $500
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Prospective Employees.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct
violation.

On November 18, 2021, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Tracy Cobile completed a
routine safety investigation of Bhare Pac and documented the following violations:

¢ Five violations of WAC 480-15-555 — Failing to conduct or retain paperwork
containing criminal background check for a household goods carrier in the state of
Washington. Bhare Pac failed to conduct a criminal background check prior to hiring
employees Ryan Roberts, Darell Drinker, Rafael Martinez, Isidro Cano Guerrero, and

Sergei Zelenkov.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that
fail to conduct criminal background checks on their employees put their customers, their
customers’ belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present safety

concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

o  Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and

o  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.
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On October 17, 2018, the Commission received the Company’s application for household
goods moving authority. In the application, Brandon Christian, part-owner of Bhare Pac,
acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable

motor carrier safety laws and regulations.
On February 20, 2019, Brandon Christian, Autumn Christian, and Heather Evans, all

part-owners of Bhare Pac, attended household goods training provided by Staff. On
December 18, 2019, Autumn Christian and Ryan Evans, both part-owners of Bhare Pac,

attended household goods training provided by Staff. Each owner of Bhare Pac
acknowledged receiving training pertaining to the requirement of conducting criminal
background checks. The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Bhare Pac did not self-report these

violations.
Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was responsive
and cooperative throughout the safety investigation.

Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.

S
The Company has corrected the violations by completing criminal background checks for
employees Ryan Roberts, Darell Drinker, Rafael Martinez, Isidro Cano Guerrero, and

Sergei Zelenkov.

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 13 violation types with a total of 35
individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Bhare Pac. Of those
violations, Staff identified one violation type with a total of five individual occurrences
that warrant penalties in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy.

The number of customers affected. Bhare Pac reported traveling 34,437 miles in 2020
These safety violations presented a public safety risk.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies
to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe
operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. Bhare Pac was
cooperative during the safety investigation, expressed a desire to come into compliance

with applicable safety regulations, and took corrective action. Staff believes the

likelihood of recurrence is low.

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the Company’s first routine safety investigation. Bhare Pac has no history of

penalties for safety violations with the Commission.
10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Brandon Christian is responsible for the

Company’s safety compliance program.
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11. The size of the Company. Bhare Pac operates three commercial motor vehicles and
employs six drivers for its household goods moving operations. The Company reported
$570,638 in gross revenue for 2020.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.! The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation
category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat

violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Bhare Pac
$500, calculated as follows:

e Five violations of WAC 480-15-555 — Failing to conduct or retain paperwork containing
criminal background check for a household goods carrier in the state of Washington. The
Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for each occurrence of this critical violation, for a

total of $500.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at
a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you
believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the
penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a
request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty
must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
o Contest the occurrence of the violation(s).

! Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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e Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the

Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are

unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the

Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 16, 2021.

/s/Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-210921

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under

oath, the following statements.
1. Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred and enclose $500 in payment
of the penalty.

D 2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest

here, your request will be denied):

a) Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR D b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

D 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting

your application here, your request will be denied):

D a) ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR D b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 12/ 1 6/ 2021 [month/day/year], at Puyallup Wa [city, state]
Brandon Christian P -

Signature of Applicant

Name of Respondent (company) — please print
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



