Service Date: December 8, 2021

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-210873 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$10,000 Investigation # 8472

UBI: 179-010-055

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

Puget Sound Energy 355 110th Ave. NE Bellevue WA 98004 <u>Troy.hutson@pse.com</u> gascompliance@pse.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Puget Sound Energy (PSE or Company) has violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(3)(a) by failing to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking its location. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$1,000 for an initial violation and not more than \$5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$10,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

On November 10, 2021, the Safety Committee heard case 21-039 against PSE and determined the Company violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) on two occasions and recommended the commission impose a \$5,000 penalty for each violation.

First Violation

PSE failed to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location on July 27, 2021.

Second Violation

PSE failed to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location on August 6, 2021.

Commission staff (Staff) agrees with the Safety Committee's finding of probable violations and agrees with the penalty recommendation. Staff based this decision on the following information.

Staff conducted an investigation that included observing the Safety Committee review, reviewing documents, reports, and emails submitted by the Safety Committee, and a review of the One-Call Center database. These documents identified that PSE failed to accurately

mark its facilities. During the Safety Committee Review PSE acknowledged that they failed to mark its facilities accurately on both occasions.

PSE has been issued the following Penalty Assessments by the Commission: \$5,000 penalty on November 3, 2021; \$5,000 penalty on September 13, 2021; \$5,000 penalty on June 24, 2021; \$5,000 penalty on March 24, 2021; and \$2,000 penalty on January 18, 2017. PSE received a warning letter from the Commission on July 15, 2019.

Staff recommends the following:

First Violation

\$5,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location on July 27, 2021.

Second Violation

\$5,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location on August 6, 2021.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation as described above.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. *See* RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

<u>You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment</u> to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$10,000 penalty amount due; or
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and file it with the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission through the <u>efiling portal</u>, or email to <u>records@utc.wa.gov</u> **within FIFTEEN (15) days** after you receive this Penalty Assessment.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective December 8, 2021.

/s/Rayne Pearson RAYNE PEARSON Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-210873, Investigation #8472

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

[]1.	Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.		
[]2.	Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):		
	[]a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence administrative law judge for a decision	on the information I provide above to an
OR	[]b)	v C	d solely on the information I provided above.
[]3.	Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your apphere, your request will be denied):		
	[] a)	I ask for a hearing to present evidence administrative law judge for a decision	e on the information I provide above to an
			d solely on the information I provided above. State of Washington that the foregoing,
Dated: _		[Month/Day/Year], at	[City, State]
	f Respor A.72.020	ndent (Company) – please print):	Signature of Applicant

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if, in any official proceeding, he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."