Service Date: July 6, 2017

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATIbN COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND EDUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-170544
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1000

T L0

Reliable Movers LLC ' ' o
40 Lake Bellevue Suite 100 ; 5 :

Bellevue, WA 98005 i
According to Washington Utilities and Transportatlon Commission (Comnussmn) records, yc i
have violated Washington Administrative Code{(WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household
goods carriers companies to file their annual report and pay recvulatory fees each year by May:I).

You did not file a complete annual report by May 1,2017.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 31.04. 405 authorizes the Commi ssion to assess a pepalty
of $100 for each violation of a Commission rule In the case of a contipuing violation, every
- day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May 1 as a contmumg violatjon, and assesses penalties of $100
for each day a company fails to file its comp[ete report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penaltlcs against you in the amount of $1000 on the
following basis: : i

On February 28, 2017, the Commission sent the 2016 annual leport forms and the
2017 regulatow fee packets to all household goods carriers companies registered
in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
companies to file complete annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1,
2017. The instructions page also stated that failure to file the complete annual
report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an
extension to file your annual report was Apr1l 15. You did not tequest an
extension. .

As of May 15, 2017, Reliable Movers LLC had not filed its complete 2016 annual
report or paid its 2017 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1,
resulting in a total penalty of $1,000. A COmplete and accurate annual report is
still not on file and additional penalties may accrue until the C@mrmsswn receives
the report and any required regulatory fee i
Your penalty is due and payable now. If you belleve the violation did hot occur, you may
request a htearing to contest the penalty assessment The Commission w111 grant that
request only if material issues of law or fact requue consideration of eV1dence and

. resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the
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reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial
of the request. : :

If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may
ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence prescntl:d at a hearing or in
writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hiearitig only if material issues of law or fact
require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must
include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request, See RCW 81.04.405. !
The Commission will only grant requests for mitigation if the violations occurred due to
circunnstances beyond your control, Such circumstances include, but ate not limited to: death or
serious illness of the person responsible for filing the report, or a mcmbcr of that person’s

immediate family; destruction by fire or other casualty of your place of business or business
records; or an act of fraud, embezzlement, theft, or conversion on the p;art of your employee.

The following are examples of circumstances that are not considered be to beyond your contrpl,
and thus are not acceptable bases for requesting mitigation: financial hardship; a
misunderstanding or lack of knowledge of Commission rules; failure té receive an annual report
form from the Commission; mistakes or misconduct on the part of youir employees; employee
termination or turnover; personal events such as'weddings or graduation ceremonies; and
vacations or business trips. % ;

If you propetly present your request for a hearing and the Commissioni grants that request, the|
Commission will review the evidence supporting your djspute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudjcative Proceeding, before an administrativeé law judge. The

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving tﬁis potice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $1000 due. ;
o Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
» Request mitigation to contest the amount;of the penalty.

In addition to your selection, a complete annufal report and payment of the regulatory fee is
required. Payment of the penalty does not satisfy the requirement that you file an annual
report and pay any applicable regulatory fee, 5
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and file it with the Washington Utilities and

Transportation Commission at: https://www.utc:»'va.gov/docs/Pages/Elec-trOnicFiling.aspx,
within FIFTEEN (15) days of receiving this electronic notice.
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedmgs under WAC 480-15-430 to ,canocl your permit to
operate as a household goods carrier in WaShmgton -

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effectwe;J une 29, 2017. '

/s/ Gregory J. Kopta |
GREGORY I. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and SCI‘:ld it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

. |
I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those mattexb I hereby make, undet
oath, the following statements. |
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[]3.

. [ 1Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-170544

Payment of penalty: ] admit that the violations occurred. Iihave:

[ y]’§ubmltted my payment of $ \ DQQ [{®) online at wew.ute.wa.goy
My confirmation number is 5

Contest the violation. I believe that oﬁe or more of the allegéd violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below'(if you do not include reasons supporting you
contest Of the violations here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) Iask forahearing to present ev1dence on the 111f01mat10n I'provide above tp

an administrative law judge for a decision i
OR ' §

[ 1b) Iask foraCommission (lec1smu based solely on the information I provide
above. ;

[=]

Application for mitigation, I admit the violations, but I beheve that the penalty should

be reduced because the violations occurred due to cir cumstances beyond my control,

explained below (if you do not include reasons that support your application for
mitigation here, your request will be demecl)

i
[ ] & Task forahearing to present evidence on the mfomlatlon I provide above ta
an administrative law judge fox a decision o

OR . »

[ 1b) TaskforaCommission deo1s1®n based solely on the gnfounatlon I provide
above,

as
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I declare under penalty of petjury under the laws of the State of Wash'i]:ngton that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true andI correct.

Dated: 1 2'-\! | [month/day/year] ; at T PIND3 \\ﬁb [city, state]
Vo> Savon L M_

Name of Respondent (comparny) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020: i

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any officigl
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the istatement is not an

element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Petjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




