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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


June 25, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Rocket Enterprises, LLC

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TE-141076 and TC-141037

Dear Mr. King:

On May 22, 2014 and May 27, 2014 the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Dockets TC-141037 and TE-141067 respectively against Rocket Enterprises, LLC for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires both auto transportation and charter and excursion carriers to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On June 11, 2014, Rocket Enterprises, LLC wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).2  In its Mitigation Request, Rocket Enterprises, LLC does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company states, “Although it does not excuse the tardiness of the report, we ask that you take into account that Rocket moved our office location the weekend prior to this report being due…The report work became buried within the move and was thought to have been completed and paid.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated auto transportation and charter and excursion companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.
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On June 10, 2014, Rocket Enterprises, LLC filed the 2013 annual report and paid the required regulatory fees.  Late payment fees remain outstanding for the auto transportation authority.  The charter and excursion regulatory fees were timely paid on December 27, 2013.  No previous violations of WAC 480-30-071 are on commission record.  

Commission staff supports the company’s request for mitigation as this is the first delinquent filing.  As this is the first year for a combined authority report, staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of $100 per operating authority for a total penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises’ Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessments sent on May 22 and May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Rocket Enterprises’ Mitigation Request received on June 11, 2014
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'WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TC-141037
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Rocket Enterprises, LLC
PO Box 3681
Sequim. WA 98382

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires auto
transportation companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1
‘You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 450-30-071 beyond May 1asa
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file ts report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all auto transportation companies registered in
Washington The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
‘companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The
instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual
report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15. 2014, Rocket Enterprises, LLC, has not filed its 2013 annual report

or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1 resulting
ina total penalty of $1,000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include  written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWS1.04.405

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

‘You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
‘Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attomey General for collection. which may file suitin tate court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 430-30-171 to revoke your authority to
provide auto transportation services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 22, 2014.

GREGORY J KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-141037

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below). which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ EnclosedS__inpayment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons T describe below. and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1a) Taskfora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information T have presented on any attachments, s true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city. state]
Name of Respondent (company) - please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 94.72.020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
|
'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-141076
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Rocket Enterprises, LLC
PO Box 3681
Sequim, WA 98382

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071, which requires charter and.
excursion carriers to file their annual reports. You did not file an anmual report by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continvance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-30-071 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails o file ts report
after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all charter and excursion carriers registered in
‘Washington The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
‘companies to file annual reports by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated
that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The
deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You
did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Rocket Enterprises, LLC has not filed its 2013 annual report
May 15 is 10 business days from May 1. resulting in a total penalty of $1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. Ifthere is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
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(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

‘You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
+ Requesta hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Comumission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attomey General for collection, which may file suit in tate court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-30-171 to cancel your certificate to
operate as 2 charter and excursion carrier in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 27, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-141076

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document. and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ ]Enclosed§. in payment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons.
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 12) Taskfor a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above:
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity. state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9472020
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (3) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pejury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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'WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TC-141037

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it o the Commission
‘within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, undgg
oath, the following statements. =

[ 11.  Paymentof penalty. Iadmit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ 1Enclosed §. in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of §, online at www.ute. wa. o
)

My confirmation number is 3

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

7 @) Task fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above fo
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR (4.b) 1 ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct,

Dated: [p- 107 4 [month/day/year], at
—

K /) orta
Name of Respondent (comphny) — please print

Signature

RCW 9A.72.020:
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to & prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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Rocket Transportation
PO BOX 3681

z ‘Sequim, WA 98382
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Gregory J Kopta, Administrative Law Judge
Washington Utiities and Transportation Commission
PO BOX 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

June 10,2014
Honorable Judge Kopta;

Rocket Transportation is writing this appeal to eliminate or reduce penalty assessments:
TC-141037 and TE-141076,

Rocket fully admits that the 2013 Annual Report Forms were filed late and in violation of
'WAC 480-30-071. We respectfully request that you please take into consideration that
we have a history of fiing our annual reports on time.

Although it does not excuse the tardiness of the report, we ask that you take into
account that Rocket moved our office location the weekend prior to this report being
due, April 26 & 27. We had an appointment with our bookkeeper on April 28 to
complete the balance sheet portion of the report which was the last part needed prior to
filing. The report work became buried within the move and was thought to have been
completed and paid

We are distressed and concerned that the report was filed late and assure you that this
‘was not as we intended nor reflects our history.

Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter.

Respectfully,

Katty

Rafael and Kathy Roman
Managing General Partners
Rocket Transportation
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