[image: ]

STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


June 16, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Career Path Services Employment & Training

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TN-141038

Dear Mr. King:

On May 23, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket TN-14038 against Career Path Services Employment & Training for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-080, which requires nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On June 2, 2014, Career Path Services wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).2  In its Mitigation Request, Career Path Services does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company states, “This report is handles by our Safety Team as part of the overall safety program, but no one in any department in our office reports seeing the WUTC mailing”.  The request continues, “…we have already calendared the submission of our 2014 report so we will not have an issue with non-compliance again.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated nonprofit special needs transportation provider companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.
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On June 13, 2014, Career Path Services filed the 2013 annual report and paid the required regulatory fees on June 5, 2014.  The company has been active since September 27, 1995.  The company was delinquent in filing the 2011 annual report and received partial mitigation for that offense.  Staff supports the company’s request for mitigation to $250 which is 25% of the assessed penalty with the understanding that future violations may not result in a favorable recommendation for mitigation.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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ATTACHMENT B
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_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Career Path Services’ Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 23, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Career Path Services’ Mitigation Request received on June 2, 2014
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'WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-141038

Career Path Services Employment & Training
10 North Post Street, Suite 200
‘Spokane, WA 99201

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-080, which requires nonprofit
special needs transportation provider companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory
fees each year by May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1,
2014,

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 450-30-080 beyond May 1as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file ts report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all nonprofit special needs transportation
provider companies registered in Washington. The instructions page for the
‘annual report form instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay
regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The instructions page also stated that failure o
file the annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline for
requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 17. You did not
request an extension.

As of May 15. 2014, Career Path Services Employment & Training has not filed.
its 2013 annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days
from May 1, resvlting in a total penalty of $1.000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
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‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. If there is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWS1.04.405

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
‘administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

‘You must act within 15 days after rec

ving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
‘Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250. within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Aftorey General for collection. which may file suitin tate court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 430-31-052 to revoke your authority to
provide nonprofit transportation services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 22, 2014.

GREGORY J KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-141038

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below). which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ EnclosedS__inpayment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons T describe below. and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1a) Taskfora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information T have presented on any attachments, s true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city. state]
Name of Respondent (company) - please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 94.72.020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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www.careerpathservices.org cys:

10 N Post Street, Suite 200
Spokane, WA 99201
May 28, 2014

wutc
P O Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Re: Penalty Assessmer

: TN-14138
To Whom it May Concern:

1 am requesting mitigation of the $1,000 penalty assessed Career Path Services for late filing of
our nonprofit special needs transportation report. We received the certified notice of penalty
on May 27", Unfortunately, we have no record of receiving the original documents.

This report is handled by our Safety Team as part of the overall safety program, but no one in
any department in our office reports seeing the WUTC mailing. As a non profit corporation, we
are required to file many annual reports with the State of Washington, and take this
responsibility seriously. Al staff know to pass on anything with a State of Washington return
address. Unfortunately, the paperwork did not reach who it needed to.

1just looked at the WUTC website, and it appears we are now able to download and complete a
report and submit it on line. Our 2013 report wil be completed and submitted today, and we
have already calendared submission of our 2014 report so we will not have an issue with non-
compliance again.

I respectfully requested mitigation of the assessed penalty due to not receiving the forms, and
the assurance that we will ile electronically in the future so this wil not happen again.

Thank you for your consideration.

cFo

mebjork@careerpathservices.org
509-323-1233
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-141038,

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
‘within 15 days afier you receive the penalty asscssment. Use additional paper if needed.

T have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ JEncloseds, __in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of §, _ online at www.ute.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons.
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

B3 Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

Mo e atiits - LT
[ 1a) Iask forahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR bLb) 1 ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide

above.
1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,

including infgrmation | have presented on any attachments, s true and correct.
z /g v 7/
Dated: -, CVV [month/dayfyear], at ([ Qe [city, state]
v / 7 (
Mpie  Bigh Heeyor Mx/y’\#

‘Name of Respondent {company) — please print Signdture of Applicant Y,

RCW 9A.72.020:
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows (o be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosccution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree s & class B felony.”
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