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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


July 1, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Meeker Southern Railraod Company

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties TR-141003

Dear Mr. King:

On May 27, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket TR-141003 against Meeker Southern Railroad Company for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-62-300, which requires railroad companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On June 17, 2014, Meeker Southern Railroad Company wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).2  In its Mitigation Request, Meeker Southern Railroad Company does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company states, “To the best of my knowledge, the initial 2013 WUTC annual report form for Meeker Southern Railroad (MSN) was not received by our parent company, BALLARD TERMINAL RAILROAD COMPANY, LLC.  Had it been received, the report would have been filed for completion and payment by its due date as have been all previous WUTC requested reports from BTRC, LLC.  Unfortunately, the filing date for this report, and the absence of the required report form, were overlooked until the WUTC report form, sent by certified mail, was received.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated railroad companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.
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On June 16, 2014, Meeker Southern Railroad Company filed the 2013 annual report with no regulatory fees due.  The company was previously delinquent in filing the 2004 and 2005 annual reports but has filed timely every year since those occurrences.  Commission staff supports the company’s request for mitigation.  Staff recommends a reduced penalty of $25 per day for a total assessment of $250.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

[bookmark: _GoBack]Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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ATTACHMENT B
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_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Meeker Southern’s Mitigation Request received on June 17, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 27, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Meeker Southern’s Mitigation Request received on June 17, 2014
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‘WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TR-141003
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Meeker Southem Railroad Company
4725 Ballard Ave. NW
Seatlle, WA 98107

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-62-300, which requires railroad.
‘companes to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You did not
file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continvance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-62-300 beyond May 1 as a
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file ts report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all railroad companies registered in
‘Washington The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
‘companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The
instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual
report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Meeker Southern Railroad Company has not filed its 2013
‘annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from
May 1, resulting in a total penalty of $1.000.

‘Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. Ifthere is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing o in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWS1.04.405

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

‘You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
+ Requesta hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Comumission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attomey General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 27, 2014.

DENNIS T MOSS
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TR-141003

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document. and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
‘matters set forth below and  have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ ]Enclosed§. in payment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 12) Taskfor a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity. state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please priat Signature of Applicant
RCW 9472020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pejury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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BALLARD TERMINAL RAILROAD
EASTSIDE FREIGHT RAILROAD
MEEKER SOUTHERN RAILROAD

Subsidiaries of:
Ballard Terminal Railroad Company, LLC

4725 Ballard Avenue NW

Seattle, WA 98107 Office: (206) 7821447 _F:

: (206) 7827724

16 June 2014
TO: WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
RE: PENALTY ASSESSMENT TR-141003

SIRS:

To the best of my knowledge, the initial 2013 WUTC annual report form for Meeker
Southern Railroad (MSN) was not received by our parent company, BALLARD
TERMINAL RAILROAD COMPANY, LLC. Had it been received, the report would
have been filed for completion and payment by its due date as have been all previous

WUTC requested reports from BTRC,LLC.

Unfortunately, the filing date for this report, and the absence of the required report form,
‘were overlooked until the WUTC report form, sent by certified mail, was received.

Today, the completed form was delivered to the WUTC office in Olympia. As all
operations at the Meeker Southern Railroad are interstate only, no payment was due the

By DR
fyron Cole, General Manager

Ballard Terminal Railroad Co. LLC

WUTC.

Lz Ll

021z Le6 902 3100 drzio #1 41 ung




image5.png
'WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TR-141003

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days afier you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if necded.

Ihave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under .,
oath, the following statements =

[ 11 Paymentof penalty. I admit that the violations occured. T have:

[ IEnclosed$ - inpayment of the penalty -

2
[ ] Submitted my payment of S, online at www.ute wagov.
My confirmation number is , =

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
ocear, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for 2 decision by an administrative law judge:

11 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I blieve that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

SLEASE SEE ATTRCHED LETTER
[ 18 Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
‘an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [x] b) 1ask foraCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the Statc of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: _ = /6 =A01F montitinyisear), at_SEp 772E LA ey, sate]
Merkid suzieens Linpors Sy DGR s

Name of ondent (com — please print Signature of Applic

- Kemendent (compam) - plessep KoErr iy

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false staterent which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clement of this crmne, and the acior's mistaken belie that his statement was not mteral is not &
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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