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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


June 20, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Local Access LLC

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties UT-140897

Dear Mr. King:

On May 30, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-140897 against Local Access LLC for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On June 9, 2014, Local Access LLC wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).2  In its Mitigation Request, Local Access LLC does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company states, “The third party that had reporting responsibilities said they filed the report that was filled out in a timely manner.  When proof of filing was requested, they had none.  They no longer work with Local Access.  Thank you for your assistance and I apologize for the failure and will ensure the 2014 filing is done timely.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated telecommunication companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of 
the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.

On June 6, 2014 Local Access LLC filed its annual report with no regulatory fee due.  The company has been active since August 14, 2013.  Staff supports the company’s request for 
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mitigation as this is the first delinquent annual report filing.  Staff recommends a reduced penalty assessment of $200.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 30, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Local Access LLC’s Mitigation Request received on June 9, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on May 30, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Local Access LLC’s Mitigation Request received on June 9, 2014
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

'NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-140897
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Local Access LLC
11442 Lake Butler Blvd.
Winderemere, FL 34786

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
telecommunications companes to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by
May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continvance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-120-382 beyond May 1as 2
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 annual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all telecommunications companies registered in
‘Washington. The instructions page for the annual report form instructed these
‘companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2014. The
instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annal
report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Local Access LLC has not filed its 2013 annual report or
paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from May 1, resulting in
atotal penalty of $1.000.

‘Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
‘material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request
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Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. Ifthere is a reason for the
violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing o in writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include  written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWS0.04405

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

‘You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

 Pay the amount due.
+ Requesta hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and.
Transportation Comumission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Aftomey General for collection. which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-121-060 to revoke your authority to
provide telecommunications services in Washington

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 30, 2014.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140807

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document. and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
Statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
‘matters set forth below and  have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11  Paymentof penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ ]Enclosed§. in payment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at www utc wa gov,
My confirmation number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T admit the violations. but I believe that the penalty should.
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 12) Taskfor a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
Tdeclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information T have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity. state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please priat Signature of Applicant
RCW 9472020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes  materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pejury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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Local Access LLC

11442 Lake Butler Blvd, Windermere, FL 34786
866:841-7898 sales@localaccesslic.com

June 4,2014

Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250 L

Re: Annual Report - Penalty

Dear Sir or Madam:

Please find the enclosed Letter. Local Access learned that the fling was not made
properly and submitted the Zero revenue report. Subsequently we received the
commission letter with a $1,000 fine assessment. | realize the error was ours and
have submitted payment online for the penalty. (Confirmation code 1294) If there
were any way to lessen the fine, it would be greatly appreciated. We are having a
terrible time with AT&T and interconnecting to start operating in Washington.

However, we have no excuse for the late filing. The third party that had reporting
responsibilities said they filed the report that was filled out in a timely manner.
When proof of iling was requested, they had none. They no longer work with Local
Access.

Thank you for your assistance and I apologize for the failure and will ensure the
2014 filing is done timely.

Sincerely,

Robert Russell
President
Local Access LLC DBA VolP Origination

Enclosure
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140897

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
‘within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional peper if necded.

Ihave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
siatements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, unde2
oath, the following statements. =
[ 11 Paymentof penalty. I admit|that the violations occurred. I have: o

[ ]Enclosed$ in payment of the penalty

[ 1Submitted my payment of § ___online at www.utc, wa.gov.
My confirmation mumber is =

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
for a decision by an administrative law judge:

[13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[P Task fora earing o present evidence on th information  provide sbove to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [} b) Task fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information 1 have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 6 /3 /301 Y [month/daylyear), at

L
Njpane of Respondet (company) — please print

RCW 9A.72.020:
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person i guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this erime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Pegjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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