STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 e Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ www.utc.wa.gov

September 3, 2013

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P.O. Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:  Washingion Utilities and Transportation Commission v Christopher R, Hood
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TV-130978

Dear Mr. King:

On August 7, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $900 Penalty
Assessment in Docket TV-130983 against Christopher R. Hood for violation of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household goods carriers to furnish
annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.'

On August 22, 2013, Christopher R. Hood wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Christopher R. Hood does not dispute
that the violation occurred.” The company states, “On April 23, 2013 I was involved in a
debilitating car accident and 1 was hospitalized for nearly 3 weeks with a broken arm, cracked
ribs and infection. Upon release, I spent the next 3 weeks at home recovering with extensive
physical therapy up to 5 times a week.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is
filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee
packets were mailed to all regulated household goods carriers.” The cover letter informed the

! See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on August 7, 2013 to Christopher R. Hood

? See attachment B for a copy of Christopher R. Hood’s Mitigation Request received by the Commission on
August 22, 2013

* See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies, dated February 28, 2013
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regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and
return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action. On May 10, 2013, the
Commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying
them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700." The letter went on to explain that
companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would receive mitigated
penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each
instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report, up
to a maximum of $100 per day.

Christopher R Hood filed its annual report on June 3, resulting in a penalty of $100 per business
day between May 1 and May 24, for a total penalty of $1,800. Christopher R. Hood had not
previously missed the deadline for filing its annual report and paying its regulatory fee, the
Commission exercised its discretion to mitigate the penalty by 50 percent to a total assessed
penalty of $900. Because the company has presented new and compelling information, staff
supports further mitigation to waive the assessed penalty.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lynda Holloway,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1129, or lholloway(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,
1aron Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications

* see attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013
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ATTACHMENT A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMDMIISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-130978
PENALTY AMOUNT: $900

Hood, Christopher R.
PO Box 58661
Renton, WA 98058

According to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Comumission Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires household
goods carriers to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You did not file
an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2013.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
The Commuission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-15-480 beyond May 1 as a continuing
violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report or pay its
regulatory fees after that date.

As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $900 on the following basis:

On March 1, 2013, the Commission mailed 2012 annual report forms and 2013
regulatory fee packets to all household goods carriers registered in Washington
state. A letter from the Commission’s Acting Executive Director Steven V. King
instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by
May 1, 2013. The letter stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1
would result in penalties, and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to
operate in Washington. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your
annual report was April 24. You did not request an extension.

On May 10, the Commission issued a notice to companies that had not yet filed
their annual report or paid regulatory fees, informing these companies that they
were subject to enforcement action, including penalties that began accruing on
May 2. Companies that filed their annual reports and paid regulatory fees after
May 1, but on or before May 24, 2013, are subject to penalties that the
Comimission uses its discretion to mitigate to $25 per day if the company had not
filed late in prior years. Companies that were late in prior years are subject to an
additional $25 per day for each year they were late, up to a total of $100 per day.
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PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130978 PAGE 2

For first-time late filers who filed their report after May 24, the Commission will
mitigate the penalties to 50 percent of the maximum amount. No further mitigation
will be granted unless the company provides new information that is unrelated to
these factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was
unaware that a report must be filed.

On June 3, 2013, Christopher R. Hood filed its 2012 annual report and paid its
2013 regulatory fee, resulting in a penalty of $100 for each business day between
May 1 and May 24 for a total penalty of $1,800. Christopher R. Hood has not
previously missed the deadline for filing its annual report and paying its regulatory
fees. The Commission. therefore, exercises its discretion to mitigate the penalty by
50 percent to a total assessed penalty of $900.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you believe
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 8§1.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do. the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding. before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective August 7, 2013.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130978

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A 72 020 {prinfed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

L Payment of penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. I have:
[] \ \
[ 1Enciosed $900 in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submifted my payment of $900 online at wwiw.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is .

[ 12, Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
accur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that ailows an affected person to présent arguinent to an administrative ko judge fora
decision by an administrative Iaw judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

[ 1a Iaskforahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ 19) Iwaiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information [
presented directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
mncluding information I have presented on any atfachments, is frue and correct,

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state}
Nanme of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guiity of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowtedge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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ATTACHMENT B

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-130978

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it 1w the Commission
within 15 days afier you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed,

{ have read and understand RCW 9A,72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statenments under oath is a class B felony. 1 am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements,

i 11 Payment of penalty, [ admit that the violations occurred. § have;
{ ] Enclosed $900 in payment of the penalty RECEIVED

{ ] Submitted my payment of $900 online at www.utc wa.pov. My confirmatihl € ¢ AN
number is

WASH. UT. & TP COMM

[ ]2 Request fora hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a progess
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law}udge’fbr a
decision by an administrative law judge:

=

Ry}

™~
)

-Q
{444 Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but | believe that the penalty shotil __d

be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. .
.

{ } o) 1ask fora hearing for a decision by an administrative faw judge based on the
information presented above.
OR {V]’f) 1 waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information 1
presented directly above,

I declare under penalty of perjury under the faws of the State of Washington that the forepoing,
including information 1 have presented on any attachments, is true and correct,

Dated: _ & / 2.0 / {3 fmonth/day/year], at K{d.f’l}; LU/}” {city, state)
A2b _prpviney e Hok—

Natne of Respondent (comphdy) — plcase print Signatdre of Applicant

ROCW 9A,72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilly of perjury in the first degree i in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows te be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the acior's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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A2B Moving™ & Storage
8622 S 222™ Street
Kent WA 98031
MOVING & STORAGE™
August 19, 2013 REC EIVED

AUG 2 2 203

Washington Utiities and Transpertation Commission

Post Office box 47250 WASH. UT & TP COMM
Olympia WA 98504-7250

In response (o the letter we received regarding the penalty assessment due to filing our annuat report late, 1 would like
to explain some extenuating circumstances and ask that the fine be reduced or waived.

1 am the co-owner of A2B Moving, along with my husband Christopher Hood.  Fam responsible for the day to day
office operations of the busingss, which includes all permits, licensing, and any ali paperwork, ete, 1 was in the process
of completing our annual report before the due date of April 30™, which I was well aware of. On April 23", 2013 1 was
involved in a debilitating car accident and [ was hospitalized for nearly 3 weeks with a broken arm, cracked ribs and

infection. Upon release, | spent the next 3 weeks al home recovering with extensive physical therapy up to 3 timesa
week.

On June 3" | finally was able retumed 1o the office, where there was a huge stack of unopened mail to the company. |
immediately opened all correspondence from vendors and the Commisston. This is when Lopened your letter dated

May 10,2013 notifying us that the annual report was not submitted on time and would incur big penalties if not
submitted by May 24,

[ immediately called the commission and talked to both Suzy and Rae Lynn and explained the situion. 1let they
know that 1 would get it submitted ASAP. 1 was nearly 90% done with the report in April before the accident so it
didn't take much time for me to finish it and submit it that day, along with the fees due.

We have never had any issues with submitting our report timely before or any other late filing of requested documents.

We ask that the commission reduce or waive our penalty. This was not done intentional or with malice but was an
extenuating circumstance for us.

With our Apologies,

ol

Laurene Hood
Owner

Jhtnd

Christopher Hood
Owner

pacl Mg 229V

206-419-5748 ~ 253-21-MOVE-U
www.a2bmoving.net ~ Info@aZbmoving.net
HG637683 ~ DOT1941425
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ATTACHMENT C

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergeeen Park Dr S.W,, RO, Box 47250 * Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 » TTY (360) 586-8203

February 28, 2013

Dear Regulated Company:

Reference: Your 2012 Annual Report and 2613 Regulatory Fees are DucMay 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and ‘Transportation Commission (commission).

‘What is required of you?
By May 1, you must: .
e Complete and file ong paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2012 annual
“geportfonn T T T T T T e T
e Pay your 2013 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the commission will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after
May 1 that the report is not filed and/or the fees are unpaid. You may seek nitigation of the
penalties in response to the assessment you receive after you have filed a completed annual
report and paid your regulatory fees. Any potential mitigation of the penalty, if any, will
depend on the reason it is late and whether you have filed late in prior years. Stafl may also
initiate proceedings to request the comimission revoke your authority to operate in
Washington.

‘What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If the commission does not receive your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur
a 2 percent penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid
balance. These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business
day after May 1 that the fees ate unpaid.

May you reguest an extension of thime if you are unable to filo the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed aunual report; however,
the commission will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request
must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2013, and must state a valid reason for why you
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UTC Amnual Reports and Fees
February 28, 2013
Page 2

need an extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual
report, The commission will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied.
Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if
you fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov; however, if your company operated in
Washington at any time during the 2012 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2012 even if you
cancel your registration or permif,

May you designate any information in your annusl report as confidential?
. Only if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatiment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications, or
water company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not
request confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such freatment is
found only in RCW 80.04.095, If a Title 81 company files its annual 1ep01t or fee sheet as

--confidential, the commission will not treat it-as confidential. - -

(2} You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule on the commission website, www.utc.wa.gov/annualreports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The commission will not,
however, disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the aunual repotts page at the
commission website www.ute.wa.gov/annualeeports..
¢ Obtain electronic versions of annual repoit forms;
s Pay regulatory fees;

Where do you mail the completed annual yeport form and regulafory fee payment? -
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250 '
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

The commission must receive your annual report form and regulatory fee payment on or
before May 1, without regard to when you mail them. The commission will no longer
consider this ﬁhng to be timely if it is postmarked on that date. If you mail the completed
form and payment, thelefme, you must do so sufficiently in advance for them to be
delivered to the commission on or before May 1. Forms and payment the commission
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UTC Answial Reporis and Fees
Febroary 28, 2613
Page 3

receives after that date will be considered late and subject to the penalties described in this
notice without regard to when you mailed them.

Is there any additional information you should file? .
*» If'you ate a gas distribution company, please remember to also file both a paper and
electronic copy of your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
 If you are an clectric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Fedesal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1,
¢ Ifyouareaclass 1 Ratlroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington,

If you have questions about any aspect of your tepoit or iegulatory fee, please contact the’
following staff’ _

Rae Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or rcarnes(@ute.wa.gov

Kim Anderson at (360) 664-1253 or kanderso@utc. wa.gov

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call (360) 664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289. '

Sincerely,

lg o /‘—-")(
Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
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ATTACHMENT D

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 « Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 o TTY (360) 586-8203
May 10, 2013
NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION

Attention!

Your 2012 annual report and/or regulatory fees to the Utilities and Transportation Conunission
were due May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on

May 2. As of the date of this letter, you have accrued a penalty of $700. That penalty will
increase by $100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells vou what vou can do to mitigate vour penalty.

If the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 24, commission staff will
mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day will be added for each
year you have filed late in the past five years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website at www.utc.wa.gov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Kali Wraspir, Consumer Program
Assistant, at (360) 664-1214 or kwraspir@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Steven V. King
Acting Executive Director and Secretary



