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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


September 3, 2013


Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. William D. Hearn. d/b/a Bingen Garbage Service

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
	Docket TG-130873

Dear Mr. King:

On Aug. 5, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $25 Penalty Assessment in Docket TG-130873 against William D. Hearn d/b/a Bingen Garbage Service (Bingen Garbage Servie) for one violation of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-70-071, which requires solid waste companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.[footnoteRef:1] [1:  See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on Aug. 5, 2013] 


On August 16, 2013, Bingen Garbage Service wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Bingen Garbage Service does not dispute that the violation occurred. [footnoteRef:2] The company states, “we have always mailed our annual report post marked May 1st and have never been issued a penalty.”  The company enclosed a copy of their certified mail receipt, dated April 30, 2013. [2:  See attachment B for a copy of Bingen Garbage Service’s Mitigation Request received by the commission on Aug. 16, 2013.] 


It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets were mailed to all regulated solid waste companies.[footnoteRef:3] The cover letter informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action.  [3:  See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies dated Feb. 28, 2013] 


On May 10, 2013, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700.[footnoteRef:4] The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report, up to a maximum of $100 per day. [4:  See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013] 


Bingen Garbage Service filed its annual report on May 2, 2013, which is one business day past the deadline of May 1, 2013. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day, for a total of $25.  Because the company has not presented any new or compelling information, staff does not support further mitigation.

[bookmark: _GoBack]If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lauren McCloy, Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1108, or lmccloy@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-130873

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.
[11. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ] Enclosed $25 in payment of the penalty

[ ]Submitted my payment of $25 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation nymgber
. e =
is .

vEl

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not&
g e
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process:
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge: ==
jos)
e
-t

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty shm&iﬁ/
be rc?duced for the reason(s) set out below. we e alwa S Meu
o anual reports post g ived mq IS @
X euty been 185 Wd a pemuy Enciosed s a (0Pl
O ¥ rCuiph.
[ ]2 Iask fora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR ["4 b)

I ' waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information 1
presented directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated:ﬁ"ld’i& [month/day/yea.r],atCﬁJ’ﬁ(}V\ wA [city, state]
Runaen Cashaae S C Spade Wi

Name of Respondent (compdny) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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