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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


September 3, 2013


Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Coast International, Inc.

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
	Docket UT-130793

Dear Mr. King:

On July 31, 2013, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $50 Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-130793 against Coast International, Inc. for two violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.[footnoteRef:1] [1:  See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on July 31, 2013] 


On August 12, 2013, Coast International, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Coast International, Inc. does not dispute that the violation occurred. [footnoteRef:2] The company states, “Coast International, Inc. has been operating under the impression that the annual report needs to be post-marked by the due date (05/01/2013).  We are now aware that the report and fees need to be received by the due date and have updated our procedures to ensure timely submission in the future.  We respectfully request a one-time waiver of all penalty fees.” [2:  See attachment B for a copy of Coast International Inc.’s Mitigation Request received by the commission on Aug. 12, 2013.] 


It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline. On March 1, 2013, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets were mailed to all regulated telecommunications companies.[footnoteRef:3] The cover letter informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2013, to avoid enforcement action.  [3:  See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies dated Feb. 28, 2013] 


On May 10, 2013, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $700.[footnoteRef:4] The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 24, 2013, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report, up to a maximum of $100 per day. [4:  See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 10, 2013] 


Coast International, Inc. filed its annual report on May 3, 2013, which is two business days past the deadline of May 1, 2013. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day, for a total of $25.  Because the company has not presented any new or compelling information, staff does not support further mitigation.

[bookmark: _GoBack]If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Lauren McCloy, Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1108, or lmccloy@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSIONU 12 2013

PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-130793 WASH. UT. & TP COMM

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ ]1 Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ] Enclosed $50 in payment of the penalty

Ny 102

fre]

[ ] Submitted my payment of $50 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation number
is ’

o

[/

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. | believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not '“
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process_"

that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge fofa
decision by an administrative law judge:

[\4/3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should ‘

be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. (past Internodwn. tnC. has been 0p€10hh9 wndey the
M\chsb‘(on Hhak Yhe inugd feport pedds o he po&L*ma/\ud by +he due dake (05/0v/2013) . We ove
Now awave Wag the (eport and (ees heed o be veceved by the due doxe and fowe updaked our
PFOLAIRS {t\e &f\s\x{t Himely Sulomission 0 vhe Rhure - We Fespect Qully Yemaest & one- time Wailer
£ i\ penolty fexs .
gane [ 1 a [Iask forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the

information presented above.

OR [\?P) [ waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
presented directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: % / g / ICi3 [month/day/year], at Le,r\L)(a KS [city, state]
Comst Internationad Inc. '

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signatuge of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”





Lowren MaCloy 360. bt 1108
Ysls  pudodo el ewedt woiver . [Viehgahin gpgheotia






image5.emf

image6.emf

image7.emf

image8.emf

image1.wmf

image2.emf

