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STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● TTY (360) 586-8203




March 20, 2013


Steven V. King, Acting Executive Director and Secretary
[bookmark: _GoBack]Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P. O. Box 47250 
Olympia, Washington  98504-7250

RE: 	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Genie Service Company, Inc., d/b/a Genie Tours
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties 
Docket TE-130200

Dear Mr. King:

On March 4, 2013, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $100 Penalty Assessment in Docket TE-130200 against Genie Service Company, Inc., d/b/a Genie Tours (Genie) for four violations of WAC 480-30-071, which requires Charter and Excursion companies to file annual safety reports with the Commission by December 31 each year; and WAC 480-30-076, which requires such companies to pay regulatory fees annually on that date. [footnoteRef:1] [1:  See Attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent to Genie Service Company, Inc.] 


On March 11, 2013, Genie responded to the commission, requesting mitigation of the penalty. In its Mitigation Request, Genie disputes that the violations occurred. The company states, “Please note attached report & check was submitted in December.” [footnoteRef:2] [2:  See Attachment B for a copy of the request for mitigation submitted on March 11, 2013.] 


[bookmark: OLE_LINK1][bookmark: OLE_LINK2]It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the December 31 deadline. On November 15, 2012, the commission mailed 2012 Annual Safety Report forms and 2013 Regulatory Fee packets to Charter and Excursion companies registered in Washington state.  A letter from the commission’s Assistant Director for Transportation Safety, David Pratt, instructed these companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by December 31, 2012. The letter stated failure to file the annual report by December 31 would result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in Washington. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual report were asked to do so prior to December 31, providing a reason for the requested extension. No extension was requested.[footnoteRef:3] [3:  See Attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on November 15, 2012.] 


On January 7, 2013, the commission issued a notice to companies that had not yet filed their annual report and paid regulatory fees, informing these companies that they were subject to enforcement action, including the assessment of penalties beginning to accrue on that date. Companies that filed their annual reports and paid regulatory fees after January 7, 2013, but on or before January 18, 2013, are subject to penalties that the commission uses its discretion to mitigate to $25 per day if the company had not made these filings late in prior years. Companies that were late in prior years are subject to an additional $25 per day for each year in which they were late up to a total of $100 per day. For first time late-filers who filed their report after January 18, the commission will mitigate the penalties to 50 percent of the maximum permissible amount. No further mitigation will be granted unless the company provides new information that is unrelated to these factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was unaware a report must be filed.[footnoteRef:4] [4:  See Attachment D for a copy of the Enforcement letter sent to all delinquent companies on January 7, 2013.] 


Commission staff investigated the claims of Genie and found that the commission received Genie’s annual safety report on January 14, 2013. The envelope was postmarked January 11, 2013. The commission assessed an automatic late fee of two percent of the $200 regulatory fee or $4, per WAC 480-30-076(4). Commission staff records reflect payment of $204 on January 14, 2013.[footnoteRef:5] [5:  See Attachment E for a copy of the commission’s revenue tracking system, which displays the payment history of the company.] 


January 11, 2013, is four business days past the January 7, 2013, notice date when penalties began to accrue, resulting in a potential penalty assessment of $400 ($100 per day times four days). Genie is a first time late-filer and, therefore, received a mitigated penalty of $25 per day for four days for a total penalty assessment of $100.

Staff does not support mitigating the $100 penalty assessment further. The penalty was already administratively mitigated by 75 percent, from $400 to $100 and commission records show the annual safety report was delinquent and the regulatory fees were not paid timely. Staff recommends denying the mitigation request.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105, or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.  

Sincerely,



Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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'WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TE-130200
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

ALICE CARTER.
GENIE SERVICE COMPANY, INC.
1846 TERMINAL DRIVE SUITE 101
RICHLAND, WA 99352

Accordingto the Washington Utlties and Transpartation Conmmission (Conmission) records,
‘youhave committed violations of two Commission nules: (1) Washington Administrative Code:
(WAC) 480-30.071, whichrequires Charter and Excursion companies o file annal safety
reports with the Commission by December 31 each year; and(2) WAC 480-30-076, which
requires such comparies to payregulatory fees armually on that date. You are classified asa
Charter andExcursion company. Conmmission records showthat you didnot fle an annualsafety.
reportor pay annulregulatory fees by December31, 2012

Revised Code of Washingten (RCW) 81,04 405 autherizes the Commissionto assess penalties of
5100 forviolations of Commission rules. Each and every such violationshallbe a separate and
distinct offense and, inthe case of  continuing violation, every day’s continuanceshallbe and
be deemed o be a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-30-07 1 and WAC 480-30-076 as continuing violations,giving rise to penalies of
5100 for each day a company fails to make cach requisite filing aRerthe date on whichit was
due

s aresult the Commission hereby notifies you thatit has assessed peralties against youinthe
‘amount of $100 onthe fallowingbasis:

On November 15, 2012 the Commission iled 2012 Annual Safety Repart
forms and 2013 Regulatory Fee packets to Charter andExcursion comparies
registered in Washington state. Aletter from the Commission’s Assistant
Director for Transportation Safty, David Pratt, instructedthese conpanies to file
‘annualreports and pay regulatory fees by Decemmber31,2012. Theltterstated
failureto file the annualzeport by December 31 wouldresultin a penalty and
‘possible cancellation ofthe company’s penmit o operate in Washington. Those
‘companies wishingo request an extensionto fil the annualreport were askedto
doso prior to Decerber 31, providing a reason for the requested extersion No
extension wasrequested.

On January 7, 2013, the Commissionissued a notice to companies that hadnot yet
filed their annualreport and paid regulatary fees, informing these companies that
they were subject to enforcement action, including the assessmentof penalties
beginning to accrue onthat date. Comparies that Sled their anmul reports and
‘paidregulatory fees after January 7, 2013, but on orbefore January 18,2013, are:
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subject to penalties that the Commission uses it discretion to mitigate to $25 per
day if the company had not made these filings late in prior years. Companies that
were late in prior years are subject to an additional $25 per day for cach yeat in
which they were lae up to a total of $100 per day. For first ime late-filers who
filed ther report after January 18, the Commission wil mitigate the penalties o
50 percent of the maximum permissible amount. No further mitigation will be
granted unless the company provides new information that is unrelated to these
factors. Mitigation will not be granted on the basis that a company was unaware a
report must be filed.

Genie Serviee Company, Inc., filed its 2012 Annual Safety Report and paid its 2013
Regulatory Fee on January 11, 2013, That date is four business days past the January 7,
2013, notice date when penlties began to acctue, resulting in a potential penalty
assessment of $400 ($100 per day times four days). Cenie Service Company, Inc. is a
firsttime late-filer and, therefore, is subject to a mitigated penalty of $25 per day for four
days for atotal penalty assessment of $100.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not oceur, you may request
& hearing to contest the penalty assessment, If there is  reason for the violation that you believe.
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 8104405,

‘You have the sight to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you arc not
required {0 do so. If you do, the Commission will eview the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
“The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 18 days after receiving this notice (o do one of the following:

o Pay the amount dy
« Request a hearing o contest the occurrence of the violations; or
« Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your sclection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washinglon 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

18 you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter o the Office of the
‘Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and cffective March 4, 2013.

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TE-130200

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it o the Commission
within 15 deys after you receive the penalty asscssment, Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath s a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal kniowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11, Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. T have:
[ 1 Enclosed $100 as payment of the penalty.

[ ] Submitted my payment of $100 onlinc at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person (0 present argument (o an administzative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.

16) Task for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ ]'b) Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administeative decision on the information [
present directly above.

1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information 1 have presented on any attachments, s true and correct,

Dated: [month/dayyearl, at _ ey, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:
“Perjury in the fist degree. (1) A person s guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement s not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belicf that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this scction. (3) Perjury in the first degre s a class B felony.”
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SERVICE DATE

MAR =4 2013
'WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

RECEDER v AsSESSMENT: TE-130200
| i1gg  PENALTY AMOUNT:Sio0

WASH. UT 8 TP

ALICE CARTER

‘GENIE SERVICE COMPANY, INC.
1846 TERMINAL DRIVE SUITE 101
RICHLAND, WA 99352

According 10 the Washington Uslties d Transportition Commission (Commission) records,
You have commited violations of two Commission rules: (1) Washington Administative Code.
(WAC) 480-30-071, which requires Charter and Excursion companes to file annual safety
reports with the Commission by December 31 each year and (2) WAC 480-30-076, which
requires such companies 0 pay regulatory fees anmually on that date. You are lassiicfes ass
Chater o Excuon compan. Comission eonsshow s you did ot e ann

report or pay annual regulatory fees by December 31,2012 z

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) §1.04.408 authorizes the Commisson to asess Znalissof
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a septe 2pd
distinct offense and, in the case of acontinuing violation, every day’s continuance sho

e decmed 1o be  sepate and distinct violtion, The Commision inteprts oo S§ance™
with WAC 480-30-071 and WAC 480-30-076 as continuing violations, giving rise 1o pemaltiSof
$100 for each day & compeny il to make cach requisite Ting afer the date on whicll was

due,

R
o
m

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penaltics against you in the
‘amount of $100 on the following bass:

On November 15, 2012, the Commission mailed 2012 Annual Safety Report =
Forms and 2013 Regulatory Fez packets to Charter and Excursion compenics =
registered in Washing(on satc. A letter from the Commission’s Assistant 2=
Director for Transportation Safey, David Prat instructed these companis 1o li. —
annual reports and pay regulatory fees by December 31,2012, The leier sated 2=
failure to file the annual report by December 31 would resultin o penalty nd =
possible canceluon of the corpany’s perit o perste n Washingion. Those 2
‘compenics wishing to request an extension 10 file the annual report were asked 1o 53
40 50 prior 10 December 31, providing a reason for the requested extension. No
extension was requested,

On January 7, 2013, the Commission issued a notice to companies that had not yet
filed their annual report and paid regulatory fees, informing these companics that
they were subject 0 enforcement action, including the assessment of penalties
beginning to accrue on that date. Companies that filed their annual repors and
‘paid regulatory fees afier January 7, 2013, but on or before January 18, 2013, are
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CHARTER & EXCURSION CARRIERS

ANNUAL SAFETY REPORT
Due December 31, 2012

RECEIVED

N=ON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
for the
YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2012

Inquiries concerning this Annual Report should be addressed to:
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Washington Unified Business Identifier (UBI) No.
(i you do not know your UBI No. please contact Busines Lic

nse Service af (800)-451-7965)

Annual Report Certification

1 cer\g thatt,__Oan Carler , the responsible account officer for
b

s have examined the foregoing report; that, to the
st of my knowiedge, information and belief, all statements of fact contained in said report are true
and said report s a correct statement of the business and affairs of the above-named respondent in
respect to each and every matter set forth therein during the period from January 1, 2012, to
December 31, 2012, inclusive

Name (Printed)___ Do s Cavter Tite__(Fa
Signature: N (o5 e (2/s /2612

Online Annual Report Certification

I acknowledge that the foregoing Annual Report has been submitted elecironically; that, to the best of my
knowledge, information and belief, all statements of fact contained in ll attached schedules are true and said
report is a correct statement of the business and affairs of the above-named respondent in respect to each and
‘every matter st forth therein during the period from January 1, 2012, fo December 31, 2012, inclusive. | agree
that my name typed in lieu of my handuwriten signature shall be sufficient to deem the report complete.

T S — J

nuorad e | -

Pl Type Ful Do Her

Keep a copy of the completed report for your records,
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1. Current insurance company: L ancey .
2. Insurance policy number___IOAISG4S AT -

3. Number of recordable intrastate and interstate accidents in 2012,

(Please include the total recordable accidents for both intrastate and interstate passenger charter/excursion
operations based in Washington.)

Recordable Accidents Intrastate Interstate

An occurrence involving a commercial vehicle on a public road
in interstate or intrastate commerce that resulted in:

Afatalty.
B. An injury to a person requiring immediate,

treatment away from the scene of the accident. _ -
€. Disabling damage to a vehicle, requiring it to be
towed from the accident scene.

Total number of recordable accidents =

4. Total operating miles for the year 2012:
Intrastate L 04, 195 interstate___13,2.90

Intrastate: Trips that operate exclusivoly within the state of Washington.
Interstate: Trips that operate oulside the state of Washington.

5. Did yau provide charter bus operations for any Washington school districts during 20127
rves TN

Keep a capy of he completed report for your records,
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
P.0.Box 47250 Olympia, WA 98504-7260
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STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 . Evrgreen Pak D S.W, R0, Box 47250  Olypia, Wshington 98504-7250
60) 661160 « TTY (360) 586-6203

November 15,2012

Subject: Your Charter and Excarsion Annual Safety Report and Regulatory Fees are Due
December 31,2012

You are required (o fle an annual safety report and pay regulatory fees if you operste as a charter
or excrsion company.

What s required?
By December 31, you must:
« Complete and file the enclosed 2012 annual safety repart form.
= Py your 2013 regulutory fecs.

1f you are using U.S. postal mail to send your snnual safety report and pay your regulatory fee,
the envelope must be postmarked by Monday, December 31, 2012, If you are planning on using

another delivery method, the company mus( ensure that it arrives at the commission by 5:00 p.m.
Monday, December 31, 2012.

Failure to file or mail your annual safety report or pay repulatory fecs by December 31, 2012 will
‘result in & penalty and possible cancellation of your pemmit to operate in Washington. This s the

oaly notice you will receive from the commission,

‘What happens if you do not pay your regulatory fecs by December 312
T regulatory fees are not paid by December 31, you will incur:

o a2 percent penalty on the amount due; and

« a1 percent monthly intercst chirge on the unpeid balance.

Can you request an extension of time if you are unable o file the annual safety report by
Decomber 317

Yes, you must provide the request in writing, including a valid reason for the extension by
December 31. We will notify you when yiour request is approved or denied. You will stll be liable
for penalty and interest payments if you fil to pay your regulatory fees by December 31. If you are
Jate fling your annal safety report or fuil o fi, you could incur additional penaltes up to $100 &
day.

g &
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November 15,2012
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May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC website

‘wwurte, wa, gov/annualreports:

« Obisin electronic versions of annual report forms
« Py regulatory fees.
« File your report clectronically
© Cancel your permit if your company ceased operations in 2012.

‘Whatf you didn’t operate during the year?
You must indicate this on the report and regulatory fes sheet that you've had no operations,
include the mimimum $25 fee and retun both forms to the commission. If you are no longer
‘using your charter or excursion authority and wish o cancel i, go to our website at
sewwte.wa gov and locate the, “voluntary permit cancellation form” or call us at

(360) 664-1222 and we'll mail you the form.

‘Where do you mail the completed annual safety report form and regalatory fee payment?
Washington Uilities and Transportation Commission

PO Box 47250

Olympia, WA 985047250

‘Where can you obiain an elestronic version of the annual safety report?
Forms are available on our website at wrww.ute.wa.gov. Locate “Quick Links” then select “2012
annual safety report”

‘Who do you contact if you have questions?
‘Youmay call Tom MeVaugh at (360) 664-1237 or e-mait him at tmevaugh(@ute,wa,gov for
questions related to the annual safety report, I you have questions calculating sour regulatory
fee, penalties or interest, call Rac Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or c-mail her at

reames(@ute.vwa.gov. If you need this information in an aliemate format, please call
(360) 664-1133. TTY Toll Free phone mumber s (800) 416-5289 or (360) 586-8203.
Sincerely,

Cohal) Rebo-
David Pratt

Assistant Diector, Transportation Safety

Enclosures
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STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Pack D S.W, 0. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washinglon 985047250
60 664-1160 + TTY (360) 586-0203

January 7, 2013

NOTICE OF ENFORCEMENT ACTION

Attention!

Your 2012 annual safety report and regulatory fees to the Utlities and Transportation
Commission (commission) were due December 31, as required by law. Financial penalties of
100 per day begin accruing today, January 7. The penalty will increase by $100 per day for
cach additional day you fail to comply.

How do you mitigate your penalty?

1 the commission receives your report postmarked no later than January 18, commission staff
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional pealties of $25 per day will be added for
each year you have filed a delinquent annual safoty report in the past five years, up to &
‘maximum of §100 per day.

Where do you mail or fax the completed annual safety report form?
Washington Utlities and Transportation Commission

PO Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Fax: (360) 664-1289

Annual safety report forms are available on the commission's website at www.ute.we.gov. If you
have questions calculating your regulatory fee, penalties or interest, contact Rae Lynn Cames at
(360) 664-1152 or rcames(@utc.wa.gov. If you require additional information, please contact
Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinson@utc.wa.gov. If
you need thi information in an alternate formal, please call (360) 664-1133. TTY Toll Free
‘phone number is (800) 416-5289 or (360) 586-8203.

Sincerely,
f.oa ch—

‘David W. Damner
Executive Director and Secretary
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Fiscal Year  ReceiptID Receivable  R/N Company AFRSDocID  Reg Year Deposit Date ~ OL Pay # Amount
13 42849 R Genie Service Company, In 1319035 01/14/2013 5204,
‘Genie Service Company, In U1309020 03/09/2012 S23L75
‘GENIE SERVICE COMPANY
32828 R INCORPORATED U1123063 2011 05/23/2011 $227.00
30241 R Genie Service Company, In 1119002 01/03/2011 $225.00
‘GENIE SERVICE COMPANY
25316 R INCORPORATED U1113034 2010 07/19/2010 $452.00
19914 R Genie Service Company, In 1109008 03/08/2010 $206.00
19802 R Genie Service Company, In U1108003 02/02/2010 $206.00
16917 R ‘GENIE SERVICE CORP U0919001 01/02/2009 $400.00
16639 R ‘GENIE SERVICE COMPANY, INC U0918974 12/29/2008 $175.00
15273 R ‘GENIE SERVICE CORP 21501730 11/26/2008 $600.00
12740 R ‘GENIE SERVICE CORP 21501610 10/09/2008 $400.00
12419 R (RENIE SERVICE CORD 21501509 nas10/7008 <ANN 0N
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