SERVICE DATE

o | JUL 26 2012
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION -
ED NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
RECEIVE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES
e PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TG-121205

. PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,300

WasH. UT 3 TP, COMM

PULLMAN DISPOSAL SERVICE, INC.
PO BOX 619
PULLMAN, WA 99163

The Washmgton Ut111t1es and Transportatlon Comm15510n (Comm1ssmn) behevgs

lower or different from those contained in its tariff.
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Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such
violation. Under this statute, each and every violation is considered a separate and distinct <
offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day the violation continues is considered
a separate and distinet violation.

Commission staff investigated a self-reported overcharge, and identified a number of violations
of WAC 480-70-236(1). As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed
penalties against you in the amount $2,300 for the following 23 violations:

e Improper billing for solid waste collection service.
23 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-70-236(1)

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not oceur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you

think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty.
See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not

required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in

an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
- The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.
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You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
- FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 26, 2012,

P

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division



WASHINGTON UTILITIES IAND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TG-121205

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:
[ ]1Enclosed $2,300 in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $2,300 online at www.utc.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an affected
person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by an
administrative law judge:

[}4 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the peﬁa}}y sho_u'ld
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
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B{ta) I ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law _]udge based onﬁe
information presented above
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the 1nformat10n [
present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 7-20—172_~ [month/day/year], at / //m n L7 4 [city, stage]
Olimer Pz pssl _ Semee— //l./y/

Name of Respondént (company) — please print $ignature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



