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STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● TTY (360) 586-8203




December 18, 2012


David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P. O. Box 47250 
Olympia, Washington  98504-7250

RE: 	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Eric Stewart d/b/a Ironman Moving Services
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties 
Docket TV-120944

Dear Mr. Danner:

[bookmark: Text1][bookmark: Text2]On July 24, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100 Penalty Assessment in Docket TV-120944 against Eric Stewart d/b/a Ironman Moving Services (Ironman Moving) for 21 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted household goods companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year. [footnoteRef:1]  [1:  See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on July 24, 2012 to Ironman Moving.] 


On August 22, 2012, Ironman Moving wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Ironman Moving does not dispute that the violation occurred. [footnoteRef:2] The company states, “I was under the impression I had until June 1st to file and be within compliance.” [2:  See attachment B for a copy of Ironman Moving’s Mitigation Request received by the commission on August 22, 2012.] 


It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets were mailed to all regulated permitted household goods companies. [footnoteRef:3] The cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any regulatory fees, and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement action. On May 15, 2012, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $900. [footnoteRef:4] The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day. An additional penalty of $25 per day would be assessed for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report, up to a maximum of $100 per day. [3:  See attachment C for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.]  [4:  See attachment D for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 15, 2012.] 


Ironman Moving filed its annual report on May 25, 2012, which is 18 business days past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day, for a penalty of $450. Ironman Moving received penalties for filing a delinquent annual report in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011. The prior penalties increase the 2011 penalty by an additional $100 per day. Ironman Moving received a $2,100 maximum penalty. 

Staff does not support mitigating the assessed penalty of $2,100. Ironman Moving failed to file its response within the 15 day timeframe required for the commission to consider mitigation. In addition to failing to file its 2011 annual report timely, Ironman Moving has received penalties for failing to comply with WAC 480-15-480 in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011. Staff recommends denying the mitigation request.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105, or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.  

Sincerely,



Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-120944
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,100

Stewart, Eric
1495 Lahti Drive
Bellingham, WA 98226

According to the Commission’s records, you have commitied a violation of Commission rule:
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-480, which requires permitted household
‘goods companies to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year and pay
regulatory fees annually on that date, You are classified as a household goods company.
Commission records show that you did not file an annual report or pay annual regulatory fees by
May 1,2012.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Comission to assess penalies of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be a separaic and
distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and
be deemed to be a separate and distinet violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-15-480 as continuing violations, giving rise to penalties of $100 for cach day a
company fails to make each requisite fling afier the date on which it was duc,

As & result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount $2,100 on the following bas

On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 2011 Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to all permitted household goods companies
registered in Washington state. A letter from the commission’s Exceutive
Secretary David W. Dannet, instructed these companies to file annual reports and
pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2012. The letter stated failure fo file the annual
report by May 1 would result in a penalty and possible cancellation of the
‘company’s permit to operate in Washington. Those companies wishing to request
an extension to file the annual report were asked to do so prior to April 24,
‘providing a reason for the requested extension. You did not request an extension.

Stewart, Eric filed its annual report on May 25, 2012, which is 18 business days

past the deadline of May 1. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25
per day for a total of $450. Stewart, Eric also received penalties for failing to file
‘annual reports by the deadline in 2007, 2008, 2010 and 2011. The prior penalties.
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increase the 2011 penalty by an additional $100 per day for a total of $1,800.
Stewart, Eric will receive the maximum $2,100 penalty.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not oceur, you may request
a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04.405.

‘You have the right to present your request for review ot further mitigation at a hearing, but you
are not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative
law judge. The administrative Jaw judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her
decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

« Pay the amount due.
= Request a hearing o contest the oceurrence of the violations.
« Request miligation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

1f you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney Genetal for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 24,2012

GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if needed.

I'have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 11 Paymentof penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:
[} Enclosed $2,100 in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $2,100 online at wyw.te.wa.gov. My confirmation
number is -

[ 12 Request for a hearing. [ believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
oceur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

[ ]3. Application for mitigation. 1 admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
‘be reduced for the reason(s) set out below

[ 1) Task fora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented abov.

OR [ ]1) Iwaiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information 1
present directly above.

T declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information [ have presented on any attachments, i true and correct

Dated

[month/day/year, at [eity, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belicf that his statement was not material is not a
defense 1o a prosccution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it o the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath s a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent o testfy 10 the.
matters set forth below and T have personal knowledge of those maters. I herby make, undec
oath, the following statements,

[ 11 Paymentof penalty. ] admit that the violations occurred. T have:

I 1 Enclosed 52,100 in pasment of the penalty
[ ) Submitted my payment of §2,100 online at weww.ute.we gov. My cosf
number is 3

ey

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that on or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process 1
that allows an affected person o present argument (0 an administative law judge for a
decision by an administrative Jaw judge:

N 3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but | believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) st out belov. s A
T tis tode dhe impresiion T hadt bl Gare 13

Fir cioet b witnin tomphance

0 @ 1ask for a hearing fo a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR [ 1'b) Twaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information I
present directly above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information T have presented on any attachments, is tre and correct

Dated: (3522 1 /) 012 imonttvdayiyearl, ot e phanar, Lur [y, st

Tren Man Movér
Name of Respondent (company) ~ please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of pecjury in the first degeee if in any official
procecding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belicf that his statement was not mterial is not &
defense 10 a prosccution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1500 5. Evergreen Park Dr. SW, P.O. Box 47250  Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 = TTY (360) 586-5203
February 29,2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utiliies
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, you must:
Complete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report form
 Pay your 2012 regulatory fees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day afler May 1
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day after May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seck mitigation of the penalties in response o the assessment you receive, after you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. If you have not filed your completed annual report or paid
Your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority o operate in Washington.

‘What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 12
1f you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
‘These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of  penalty of $100 per business day after
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
‘You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

.- o
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is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments if you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May 1.

‘What should you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
‘You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW. that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095. I a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.ute,wa.gov/annual reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidenial document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheef.

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website www. e, wa,gov/annualseports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancel your registration (telecommunications companies) or permit (transporiation
companies) if your company ceased operations in 2011

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
o Ifyou are a gas distribution company. please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2.
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o If you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

o Ifyou area class 1 Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington.

If you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Carnes at (360) 64-1152 or reames@utc.wa. gov.

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an alternate format, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289.

Sincerely,

leed

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosures
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1300 5. Fvergroen Park Dr. S.W, RO, Box 47250 + Olympia, Washinglon 93504:7250
(360) 6641160 + TTY (360) 5868203

May 15,2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Conumission (commission) was due
on May 1, as required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per day began accruing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have acerued a penalty of $900. That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fil to comply.

This letter tells you what you can do to miti

1 the commission receives your report postmarked no later than May 25, commission staff
will mitigate your penalty to $25 per day. Additional penaliies of $25 per day will be added for
cach year you have filed late in the past five years, up to & maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website at www.ute.wa.gov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance

Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or mperkinson@ute.wa.gov.
Sincerely,

dwiwc/

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary
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