STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Fvergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ° Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 © TTY (360) 586-8203

August 9, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Battle Ground, Yacolt, &
Chelatchie Prairie Railroad Association
Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket TR-120876

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 11, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,900
Penalty Assessment in Docket TR-120876 against Battle Ground, Yacolt, & Chelatchie Prairie
Railroad Association for 19 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-62-300,
which requires regulated railroad companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later
than May 1 each year.

On August 3, 2012, Battle Ground, Yacolt, & Chelatchie Prairie Railroad Association wrote the
commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request,
Battle Ground, Yacolt, & Chelatchie Prairie Railroad Association does not dispute that the
violation occurred. The company states, “1. The only copy of the required forms was received
via electronic means on the day notification of violation occurred and [ called your office. 2. The
State of Washington Ultilities and Transportation Commission was remiss in their duties to notify
us within a reasonable length of time (19 business days) We should have been notified within 5
days. 3. The penalty should be reduced to an amount that reflects filling out the forms on the
same the day as notified by the commission of delinquent, that time should have been no more
than five days. There we request that the fine be reduced to $500.00.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012%, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated regulated railroad companies. In addition to other information, the
cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report form, pay any
regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012 to avoid enforcement action. On May 14,
20123, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an annual report

1 See attachment A for a copy of Battle Ground, Yacolt, & Chelatchie Prairie Railroad Association’s Mitigation

Request.

2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012,

3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012. =
® e 10 %



incurred a penalty of $800. The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual
reports no later than May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an
additional $25 per day for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a
penalty for filing a late report.

Battle Ground, Yacolt, & Chelatchie Prairie Railroad Association filed its annual report on May
29, 2012, which is 19 business days past the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty is $100 per
day for a total of $1,900. Battle Ground, Yacolt, & Chelatchie Prairie Railroad Association
became regulated in 2001 and received a penalty of $100, in 2009 for filing a delinquent annual
report.

Based on the company’s delinquent annual report filling in the past, staff does not support
mitigating the assessed penalty and recommends the request be denied.

If you have any questions, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Compliance Investigator, at (360)
664-1105, or at Mperkinson(@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

= A~ 74
Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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, YACOLT, & CHELATCHIE
PRA] m‘\ ROAD ASSOCIATION
ko @Sg\zn
L.E GROUND, WA 98604

According to the Commission’s records, you have commilted a violation of Commission rule:
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-62-300, which requires railroad companies tg file
annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year and pay repulatory fees mxualiy'riz) ﬂmt
date. You are classified as a railroad company, Commission records show that ;qq—_&u{'nolgc an -
anaual report or pay annuat regulatory fees by May 1, 2012. 3T

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 anthorizes the Commission to assm p;.nall:g.a of
$100 for violations of Commission rules. Each and every such violation shall be'a’ séparate afd
distinet offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance shail be o
be deemed to be a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncomplianc
with WAC 480-62-300 as continuing violations, giving rise to penalties of $100 for each day a
company fails 1o make each requisite filing afier the date on which it was due.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of 51,900 on the following basis:

On February 29, 2012, the Commission mailed 2011 Annual Report forms and
2012 Regulatory Fee packets to all railroad companies registered in Washington
state. A letter from the commission's Executive Secretary David W. Danner,
instructed these companies to file anunal reports and pay regulatory fees by May
1, 2012. The letter stated failure to file the annual report by May 1 would result in
a penalty and possible cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in
Washington. Those companies wishing to request an exiension to file the annual
report were asked 1o do so prior to April 24, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did not request an extension,

Battle Ground, Yacolt, & Chelatchie Prairie Railroad Association filed its annual
report on May 29, 2012, which is 19 business days past the deadline of May 1.
The penalty is $100 per day for a wtal of $1,900.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
a hearing to vontest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that you think
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should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for miligation (reduction) of this penalty. See
RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

- You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

¢ Pay the amount due,
+ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days afier you receive this notice,

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission will then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 11, 2012,

7

GREGORY 1. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TR-120876

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed,

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
stalemnents under oath is a class B felony, | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify 1o the . s,
matters set forth below and | have personal knowledge of those maiters. 1 hereby make, un ; 5

—
oath, the following statements. o R N R
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[ ] 1. Payment of penaity. | admit that the violations occurred. 1 have:
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[ ]Enclosed $1,900 in payment of the penalty red ’é
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[ ]Submitted my payment of $1,900 online at www.utc. wa.gov. My confirmation
number is .

{ 1 2. Request for a hearing. 1 believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a
decision by an administrative law judge:

{X] 3. Application for mitigation, | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should

be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. 1 )J412 ' CA}M‘ "U-‘g LA, ({mnu
Aung, meﬁbwd, AL LMML ﬁwaw ety oy vl "w&.m ¢ o
Aldes ,Xi‘ af (e ady mbf.ﬁ.b
(}Wwd awd frathdd g: ;: LE o) :{f AR !\%ah_}um o Jtﬁ

2
Corrpmpprnes . .v,,u;lﬂf gt ‘)[Mﬁ’ é,uuﬁﬂ?;x #L(J_ ", \Wﬁii/& 'f’ 4{
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information presented above. )
OR [ ] b) [Iwaiveaheanng and ask for an administrative decision on the information |
present directly above.
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[ declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: __@%_L 2002 [month/daylyear], at_Ruttie dt&uwzl} WA [city, state)
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RCW 9A.72.020: '
“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilly of perjury in the first degree if in any official )
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath "gct
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required or authorized by law, (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
clement of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not materiat is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




Aftachment B

STATE OF WASHINGTON .
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Park Do S.W., £.O. Box 47230 » Olymply, Washington 98504-7250
(360} 664-1160 + TTY {360) 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulmed Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatery Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?
By May I, you must:
+ Complete and (ile ong paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 201 1 annual
report formn
s Pay your 2012 regulatory lees

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay reguiatory fecs on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May |
that the report is not filed and $100 for cach business day afier May | the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penaliies in response to the assessment you receive, afier you
have fited a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penaities the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have fited late in prior years. I you have net filed your completed annuat report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Stalf will inttiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If you do 1ot pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day alter
May | that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time il you are unable to file the annual report ot puy

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to [ile your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend ihe deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annval report. The
UTC will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied. Even if your request

& e Q




UTC Annual Reponts and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be Hable for penalties and interest payments i’ you fail to pay your
repulatory fees by May 1.

What sheuld you do if your company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 201 1 calendar year, you must pay regulatory {ves and file 2 closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even il you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible 1o request confidential treatment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, il you operate an electric, nutural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transperfation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not request
vorfidential treatment of documents because the authority for such reatment is found
only in RCW 20.04.095. 1f a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidentiad.

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.ate wa gov/annual reports.

PMease note: The regutatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential reatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes, You may complete the following tasks from the annual repods page at the UTC

website www. ute.wa.gov/annualreports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your report electronically

Cancel your registration (felecommunications companies) or perniit {transporiation
companies) if your company ceased operations in 201 1,

*® & @

Where do you mail the completed annnal report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
e [f you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulaiory Commission Form 2.




UTC Annual Reports and Fees
Febuary 29, 2012
Page 3

¢ If you are an electric company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

s Ifyouure aclass t Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specifie to the state of Washington,

IT you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Camnes at (360) 664-1152 or arpesdivic. wa gov.

If you need this letter or an annual report {forms in an altemate format, please call 360-664-1243. The
TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-3289,

Sincerely,

oA

David W, Damner
Executive Director and Scerelary

Enclosures




Attachment C

STATE OF WASIINGION
WASHINGTOMN UTILIFIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 8, fvergecen Pask D S8, RO Blox 47250 « Ofymipia, Washinglon (HIS04- 2250
(300) God-1 A0 « TYY (160) SRG-A2003

May 14, 2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Atfention:

Your 201t annual report to the Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) was due
on May |, as required by law. Financial penaltics of $100 per day began aceruing on May 2.

As of the date of this letter, you have acerued a penalty of S804, That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply,

This letter tells you what yor can do to mitigate your pennlty.

If the commission receives your report postmarked no Jater than May 25, commission staff
will mitigale your penalty 10 $25 per day, Additional penalties of $23 per day will be added for
each year you have filed late in the past five years, up lo a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission's website al www,ute,wa.goyv. 1f you have
questions or require additionnl information, please contact Mathow Perkinson, Compliance
Investigator, at (360) 604-1105 or mperkinsonfiute. wa.gov,

Sincerely,

f\:ﬂ-‘/-j’ {-'\,_.ﬂ C’r 2 SRP I

David W, Danner
Executive Director and Secretary




