SERVICE DATE

| APR - 4 2012
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-120113
PENALTY AMOUNT: $2,600

METROPOLITAN MOVERS, INC. DBA
THE FAMILY MOVERS

10303 PORTLAND AVENUE
TACOMA, WA 98445

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15, which governs how
household goods moving companies may operate. The Commission also believes you have
committed a number of violations of Tariff 15-C, which identifies the rates and charges a
household goods moving company may charge its customers, the items a company must include
on its estimates, and how a company must complete its bills of lading.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such
violation. Under this statute, each and every violation is considered a separate and distinct
offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day the violation continues is considered
a separate and distinct violation.

As a part of a routine investigation of the company’s business records of 41 moves performed
between April and December 2011, Commission staff identified a number of violations of WAC
480-15 and Tariff 15-C. As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed
penalties against you in the amount $2,600 for the following 26 violations.

e Failure to properly complete estimates.
2 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630

e Failure to provide customers with cube sheet inventories.
1 VIOLATION: WAC 480-15-630

e Failure to properly complete bills of lading.
2 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-710

e Failure to follow the terms, conditions, rates, and all other requirements 1mposed by Tariff 15-C.

21 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-490(3)

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that you
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think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty.
See RCW 81.04.405. '

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request in
an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge.
The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due. _
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 4,2012.
GREGORY J. KOPTA
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11

[ ]2

Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing, which is a process that allows an

Payment of penalty. [ admit that the violation occurred and enclose $2, 600 in payment
of the penalty.

affected person to present argument to an administrative law judge for a decision by

an administrative law judge:

2

- (e
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DT P
?é 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that th ;iﬁlﬁ shogld
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below. w0 . = _
P(] a) Iask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law Judge *®

OR

[ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the 1nformat10n
present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ‘7(/ 'F// 2 ﬁc’oﬁw , WA [city, state]

[4
et posees (Y
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

[month/day/year], at

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony
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