STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.0. Box 47250 o Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360} 664-1160 » TTY (360) 586-8203

November 5, 2009

Ethan Margalith, Chairman
- Starving Students, Inc.
- 1850 Sawtelle Boulevard #300
Los Angeles, California 90025-7028

RE: Penalty Assessment TV-091592

Dear Mr. Margalith:

A review of Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) records
indicates that you have not responded to the enclosed Notice of Penalties dated October 9, 2009.
A response was due within 15 days of your receipt of the penalty notice. According to our

. records, Starving Students, Inc. received the penalty assessment on October 13, 2009.

The penalty amount is due and payable now. If we do not receive your $1,600 payment by
November 13, 2009, we will refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney General for coIlectmn.

In addmon the commxssmn will consider further sanctions at that time.

~ If you have any questions, please contact Betty Young, Compliance Specialist, Transportation
Safety. Ms. Young can be reached at 360-664-1202, or by e-mail at byoung@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosure



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-0915%2
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,600

STARVING STUDENTS, INC.
1850 SAWTELLE BLVD #300
- LOS ANGELES, CA 90025-7028

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570,

. Driver safety requirements, which requires household goods carriers to comply with CFR Part
391 governing qualification of drivers. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 8L.04.405 allows
penalties of up to one hundred dollars for every such violation and, in the case of & continuing
vielation, states that every day's continuance shall be deemed a separate and distinet viclation.

The Commission hcreby notifies you that it has assessed penalties agamst you in the amouni of
$1,600, as follows:

On September 23, 2009, Motor Carier Safety stafl John Foster conducted a compliatice
review of Starving Students. During the review, Mt. Foster found that the company had

" been using a driver whose license was suspended. This violates WAC 480-15-570,

- which adopts by reference CFR Part 391.11{(b)(5), Using a driver without a curremly

- valid motor vehicle operator’s license or permit. According to the company’s records,
this driver drove for a total of 16 days during September 2009, This constitntes (6
violations as to whicha pcnalty of $100 per viclation is assessed.

This- ufcrmatwn, if proved at a hearing and not rebutmd or explmned is sufficient to support the

e penalt}r assessment.

Your penalty is dye and payable now. If you believe the violations did not oceur, you may
Tequest & hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a réason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from all or part of the panalty, you may ask for mltrgatlon
(xevciucnon) of this penalty. See RCW 81.04.405,

© - You have the nght to present your request for review or mifi gation at a hearing, but you are not
requlred to do so. 'If you de, the Commission will review the evidence Supporting your request
in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law

judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his orher decision,
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You must act within 15 davs after receiving this notiee to do one of the following:

¢ TPay the smount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+  Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Waéhmgmn Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 4 7250, Olympia, Washmgton 98504-7250, within
FIETEEN {15} days after you receive ﬂuq notice, .

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to thc Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Cnmmlsszon rmay then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washmgtun and cffectwe October 9, 2009,

A

DENNTS ¥
Administ: Law Fudge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-091592

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 13 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72,020 (prinfed below), which states that making false
statcrnents under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and [ have persoual knowledge of those maiters. [ herelyy make, under
oath, the following statemenits. _

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1, 600 in
payment of the penalty,

] '} 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged vmlaﬁons did not occur, based on the.
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
Judge:

f13 Apphcatlon for mitigation. [ admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
‘be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 2)71ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law Judge
OR [ 1 b)Twaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
' - T present here;

-1 declate under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of ‘Washmgton that the foregomg,
ncluding information I have presented on any attachments, is rue anid correct.

‘Daled: _ [ﬁo‘nthf&ayfyear}, af - ' [city, state]
. Name of Respondent (company) - please print . o o Signature of Apphicant
- RCW 9A.72.020;

. “Perjury in the first degree. (1) A peysqn is guilty of pexjury in the firgt degree ifin anf,r official - .

- | proceeding he makes 4 materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath

-+ required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the staternent isnotan . -
- element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statetiient was not material is not a.
-, defense to a prosecution under this section. (3} Pexjury in the first degreeis-a class B felony”




