STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360} 664-1160 * TTY (360) 586-8203

September 16, 2008

Peter A. Clarke
Post Office Box 2307
Vancouver, Washington 98668

RE: Docket TV-081102
Dear Mr. Clarke:

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) has not received your
penalty assessment payment of $300. On June 30, 2008, the commission issued you a $300
penalty for failure to file the 2007 annual report timely (copy enclosed).

If we do not receive your $300 penalty payment by September 30, 2008, the commission
will consider additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to the Washington State
Office of the Attorney General for collection.

You must also file your 2007 annual report and pay your 2008 regulatory fee by September
30, 2008, or we may file for additional enforcement action against your company.
Enforcement action in this matter may include further penalties, of up to $100 for each day you
are late, and cancellation of your authority to provide household goods moving services in
‘Washington.

If we receive your payment and report postmarked no later than September 30, 2008, we will
not seek a fine or move to cancel your permit.

For questions regarding this matter, please contact Sheri Hoyt, Compliance Investigator. Ms.
Hoyt can be reached at (360) 664-1149 or by e-mail at shoyt@wutc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

{/Z,-;r’&/aﬂﬁw

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosure

O




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-081102
PENALTY AMOUNT: $300

Peter A. Clarke
3100 Falk Road, D-13 ‘
Vancouver, Washington 98661

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you
have committed a violation of Washington Administrative Code 480-15-480 which requires
household goods carriers to file annual reports with the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission (Commission) by May 1 each year. You are classified as such a
company. Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the required date of
May 1, 2008. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for
every such violation. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense
and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and be deemed to
be a separate and distinct violation.

As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount $300, as follows:

On February 29, 2008, the Commission mailed 2007 Annual Report forms and 2008
Regulatory Fee packets to household goods carriers registered with it, A letter from
Executive Secretary Carole Washburn instructed companies to file annual reports and
pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2008. Further, the letter stated failure to file the annual
report by May 1 could result in a penalty. :

On April 1, 2008, the Commission mailed a notice to all household goods carriers
reminding them that 2007 annual reports and 2008 regulatory fees were due by May
1, 2008.

On May 15, 2008, the commission sent letters to those companies that had not yet
filed their reports. The letter, signed by Carole Washburn, gave an extension fo

- companies to file their reports by May 30, 2008. In the letter, Ms. Washburn stated
the Commission would not seek a fine or move to revoke the registration of any
company with a report received by the Commission postmarked no later than May 30.

As of June 12, 2008, Peter A Clarke failed to file the 2007 annual report.




PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-081102 Page 2

Peter A. Clarke also failed to file the 2005 and 2006 annual reports timely and, as a
result, previousiy received a $100 penalty assessment in 2006 and a $200 penalty
assessment in 2007. This penalty amount of $300 is for three consecutive years of non-
compliance.

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or exp]ainéd, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405. .

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision. :

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

* Paythe amount due.
¢ Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the v10]at10ns
» Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June _2_§, 2008.

AL,,S &M

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-081102

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed. If you have questions regarding this penalty, please contact Sheri Hoyt,
Compliance Specialist, by phone at (360) 664-1149 or by e-mail at shoyt@utc.wa.gov.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] . Payment of penalty. | admit that the violation occurred and enclose $300 in
payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing,. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on

the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge: '

[ ]3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ ] a) Iask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
- 1 present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ___ [month/day/year], at ' [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under

an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Per_]ury in the first degree is a,
class B felony.”



