STATE OF WASHINGTON |
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O. Box 47250 » Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 » TTY (360) 586-8203

April 21, 2008

Greyhound Lines, Inc.
Post Office Box 660362
Dallas, Texas 75266-0362

RE: Docket TE-080344

Dear Carrier:

The Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) has not received your penalty
assessment payment of $100. On March 7, 2008, you were issued a $100 penalty for failure to
file your 2007 annual safety report in a timely manner (copy enclosed).

If we do not receive your $100 pziyment by May 5, 2008, the commission will consider
additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney General
for collection.

Your payment must be postmarked no later than May 5, 2008.

For questions regarding this matter, please contact Sheri Hoyt, Compliance Specialist, Business

Practices Investigations Section. Ms. Hoyt can be reached at (360) 664-1149, or by e-mail at
shoyt@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Carole J. Washburn
Executive Secretary

Enclosure




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION |

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TE-080344
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

Greyhound Lines, Inc

d/b/a Greyhound Lines & Pacific Northwest Coaches
Post Office Box 660362 .

Dallas, Texas 75266-0362

The Commtsswn believes that you have committed a violation of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-071 which requires charter and excursion carriers to file
- annual reports with the Commission by December 31 each year. You are classified as such a
company. Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the required date of -
December 31, 2007. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of
- $100 for every such viclation. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct
offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day s continuance shall be and be
deemed to be a separate and distmct violation,

As a result, the Commission hereby notifics you that it has assessed penalties against you in -
‘the amount $100, as follows:

On November 19, 2007, the Commission mailed 2007 Annual Safety Report
forms and 2008 Regulatory Fee packets to charter and excursion carriers
registered in Washington State. A letter from Executive Secretary Carole

- Washburn instructed companies to file annual safety reports and pay
regulatory fees by December 31, 2007. Further, the letter stated failure to file
the annual safety report by December 31 would result in a penalty and possible
cancellation of the company’s permit to operate in Washington. Those
‘companies wishing to request an extension to file the annual safety report were
asked to do so prior to December 31, providing a reason for the requested
extension. You did not request an extension.

On January 19, 2008, the Commission sent letters to those companies that had
-not yet filed their reporfs The letter, signéd by Carole Washburn, gave an
extension to companies to file their reports by January 31, 2008, In the letter,
Ms. Washburn stated the Commission would not seek a fine from. any
company with a report filed by January 31.
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* As of February 27, 2008, Greyhound Lines, Inc. failed to file the 2007 Annual Safety
Report

This information, if proved at & hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment,

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (1cduct10n) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405. :

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The admlmstrative law judge wal consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision,

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

» Pay the amount due. :
* Request a hearing to contest the occutrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice,

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
_ Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective March _(0_, 2008.

Ann E. Rendahl
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT No. TE-080344

- PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the maiters set forth below and I have persona! knowledge of those matters, I hereby make,
under oath the following statements, =

[ 11. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $100 in
' payment of the penalty,

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing, I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge: )

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the v1oIat10n but I believe that the penalty
‘should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a) Task for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
‘OR [] b) Iwasive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
- 1 present here: :

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true.and correct.

Dated: fmonth/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent {company) - please -print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72. 020

- “Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section, (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”




