To:  State of Washington
Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

From: Bills Transfer, Inc.
2912 69™ Avenue West, Unit D-11
Tacoma, WA 98466

Date: June 2, 2006

Dear Sir(s):

We defiantly have a misunderstanding here as Bill’s Transfer has no intention of
changing its name to Universal Moving Systems Inc. We simply asked the WUTC to
remove the “Inc.” after the d/b/a: Universal Moving Systems Inc.

Please note that our legal name is correctly printed on the enclosed documents (please
refer to the enclosed Bill of Lading and company check). Our legal name is Bill’s
Transfer Inc. and that is what appears on all of our business forms.

Our outside printing company did send us a batch of envelopes where they accidentally
reversed the Bill’s Transfer and Universal Moving around so it appeared as Universal
Moving Systems d/b/a: Bill’s Transfer Inc. and that it was you are referring to in your
enclosed letter. For the record, we destroyed that batch of envelopes many months ago.

Again, we do not plan on changing our name. Our attorney that filed our articles of
incorporation with the Secretary of State told us that we could legally use the d/b/a:
Universal Moving Systems after our legal name without filing any additional paperwork
with the Department of Licensing. Please let us know if we have received incorrect
counsel on this matter. Thank you and we look forward to your response.

Respectfully,

Patti Wagner



SERVICE DATE
MAY 31 2006

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS
OF LAWS RULES AND REGULATIONS

PENALTY ASSESSMENT NO: TV-060415
PENALTY AMOUNT: $ 100.00
HOUSEHOLD GOODS CARRIER:
Bill’s Transfer, Inc.
2912 69™ Avenue West, Unit D-11
Tacoma, Washington 98466

The commission believes that you have committed one or more violations of Washington
Utilities and Transportation Commission rules; specifically WAC 480-15-390, which requires
motor carriers to conduct operations under the name shown on their household goods permit. As
a result, the commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in the
amount of $100.00. The basis for this penalty assessment is as follows:

On June 13, 2005, the commission received an application for mitigation of penalties
(application) from Bill’s Transfer, Inc. The envelope the application was received in had a return
address of “Universal Moving Systems, Inc. D/B/A Bill’s Transfer, Inc.” On June 15, 2005, staff
sent you a letter advising you to register the trade name with Department of Licensing (DOL).
The letter also contained the proper paperwork to register the trade name with the commission.
At the same time, on June 16, 2005, Investigator Leon Macomber, during a safety audit of your
company, also informed you that you must properly register your trade name with the
Commission and provided you the proper paperwork to do so.

On July 27, 2005, staff received the completed name change application, however, a review of
DOL’s website revealed the trade name was not yet registered with it. Staff has sent numerous
follow-up letters requesting you complete the registration of your company trade name. On
November 1, 2005, staff sent a “Final Notice” informing you the application would be dismissed
if the application was not satisfied within 30 days. You have not responded and the application
was dismissed on March 29, 2006, in Docket Number TV-051153.

The penalties contained in this notice of penalties incurred are assessed pursuant to RCW
81.04.405. Under RCW 81.04.405, every public service company subject to Title 81 RCW who
violates or who procures, aids or abets in the violation of any provision of Title 81 RCW or any
order, rule, regulation or decision of the Commission is subject to a penalty of $100 per
violation. Each and every violation shall be a separate and distinct offense. Each day of a
continuing violation is a separate and distinct offense. Every act of commission or omission
which procures, aids or abets in the violation is considered to be a violation.

Penalties are due and payable upon receipt of this penalty notice. If for any reason you believe the
violations described did not occur, you may request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the
violations. If you have an explanation as to why the violations occurred, or have other facts you
believe the Commission should have considered, RCW 81.04.405 provides that you may make
application for mitigation of this penalty. To do so, complete the enclosed mitigation form and
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return it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250,
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days of your receipt of this penalty
notice. You may, although you are not required to, present your request for mitigation at a
hearing. The Commission will consider your plea and notify you of its determination.

If you would like a hearing to contest either the occurrence of the violations or the amount of the
penalty, you may request one in your request for hearing or mitigation. If you request a hearing -
for either reason, please state why you believe a hearing is called for in your circumstances.

Failure to request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations or the amount of the
penalty, return the mitigation plea, or pay the amount due within 15 days will cause the
Commission to refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. Suit may
then be brought against you and after trial, judgment may be entered against you.

DATED at Olympia, Washington and effective this / day of May 2006.

P, 8L At

MARK H. SIDRAN, Chairman

PATRICK J. OSHIE, Commissioner

PHILIP B. JONE missioner



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
APPLICATION FOR MITIGATION OF PENALTIES

NOTE: This form must be completed, signed, and received by the Commission within 15 days
of your receipt of this form.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020, which states that making false statements under
oath is a class B felony (printed below). I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, application for mitigation of the penalties (as described in the attached Notice of Penalties),
for the following reasons:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing is
true and correct.

Dated: (9(&/ 0L / O(, [month/day/year], at | w [city, state]

Signature of Applicant Y

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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- Uniform Household Goods Bill of Lading Job Code
Customey: This bill of lading establishes a confract between you and the household goods cariier. It confirms insfructions and authorizes the carier to move, pack, store, and/or
perform services shown. Before you sign this document it is important that you first read the entire document, including the back, and that you ask for an explanation of anything
that is not clear or that is different from any previous information received from the carrier or carrier’s representative(s). This contract is subject to conditions on the back of this form.
From 10 - ‘
Customer Customer
Address Address
City/State/Zip City/State/Zip
H/Phone Cell H/Phone Cell
W/Phone Page W/Phone Page
email email
Add’l Pickup Extra-Stop
Billing Address Other
Hourly Rated Moves
Day Vans Personnel Start Arrive Breaks Depart End Total Hrs Rate Charges
Storage Mileage Rated Moves
If shipment will be placed into storage, the customer must initial option selected. - ,
__——_-_pShipmenT is o be placed in storage for a period of less than 90 Acruall Ship m'e nt Weight(los) Qross Tare Net
days (Storage-In-Transit). | understand that on the 91st day of | Exoedited Shipment Wt (cust sign here) Net
storage the shipment becomes permanent storage. Billed shipment weight los at Cwt
—— Shipment is to be placed in storage for more than 90 days. Stairs at Cwt -
— | certify that | have requested Storage-In-Vehicle for a period of | Distance Carry at Cwt
days at an agreed upon rate of § per day. Elevator at Cwit ~
Storage in Transit Cuft Extra pickup/del at ea
Trans to/from Whse Ibs af Cwt Piano at per stop
Storage per month lbs at Cwt Piano carry at eq
Whse Handling in/out Ibs af Cwt Overtime Labor —_— at per hour
Add1 Valuation § at per $100 Mileage
Permanent Storage Cuft Fuel Surcharge
Labor at per hour Materials, Additional Services
Storage per month ibs af Cwt )
Whse Handling in/out Ibs at Cwt | Dishpacks at per unit
Add1 Valuation at per $100 Less than 3.0 cuft cins at perunit ______
Pickup/Load Vaults at per vault 3.0 cuftcins at per unit _
Oversized ltems at eq 4.5 cuft ctns at perunit ______
Storage months permonih 6.0 cuftcins at per unit
Delivery of Vauits Wardrobe ctns - at perunit _____
Declarations (Customer must initial preferences) C'”'b matt _ at per unl:T -
Rights and Responsibilities Guide: Single matt - af per un{f _—
____The carrier gave me, or | declined a copy of the brochure "Your Rights | Double matt _  af perunit
and Responsibilities as a Moving Customer”. Queen maft - at perunit ___
Valuation: The customer must initial option selected King matt _ at perunit ____
Basic \T{olluation: I release this shipment fo a value of .60 per pound | king box ctn at per unit
er arficle . - S T
Beprecioted Valuation: | release this shipment to a value of $2 per Miror cin - at per unl'r -_—
pound fimes the shipment wt. at rate of $___ per $100 of declared | ¢rates cuft at perunit
value. Or: Appliances at per unit
I declare a lump sum totai dollar valuation of this entire shipment of | Add1 Labor af per hour
and select the following: Ferry or Bridge Toll at
Replacement Cost Coverage/$300 Deductable: | release this
shipment o a value of $3.50 per pound times the shipment wt. at a
rate of S____ per $100 of declared value.
—— Replacement Cost Coverage/No Deductable: | release this shipment | Subtotal Moving, Packing, Materials, Storage Charges
fo a value of $3.50 per pound times the shipment wt. at arate of §____
per $100 of declared value. Additional Valuation
Estimates: The customer must initial option selected
— I did not request a written estimate on this shipment and understand | .
will be required to pay charges as shown on this confract Total Relocation Charges
— lunderstand this shipment is moving under a binding estimate and Total Amount Paid
that | will be required to pay the amount shown on the estimate
— lunderstand this shipment is moving under a non-binding estimate. If Balance Due
the charges shewn on the bill of lading exceed the charges on the
non-binding estimate given me by the carrier, the carrier must release L . )
the shipment to me upon payment of no more than 110% of the Payment (Customer must initial):  The customer and carrier agree that
estimated charges and will extend credit for 30 days in which | must payment. at time of delivery, will be made by:
pay the remainder due. In no case will | be required to pay more than Cash Other
115% of the estimate (plus any supplements) for mileage rated Comments
shipment, or more than 125% of the estimate plus supplements for
hourly rafed shipments. ’
I have read and understand this contract thoroughly, and release
my goods to the carrier subject to the terms and conditions above.




