Service Date: October 11, 2021

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

## NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

RECEIVED NOV 02 2021

WASH, UT. & TP. COMM

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-210688 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$1,000 Investigation #8381

UBI: 603-365-921

SERVICE VIA EMAIL

Olympus Services LLC 1725 South 9<sup>th</sup> St. Tacoma WA 98405

Olympus.wa@gmail.com; Gabefid@gmail.com

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Olympus Services LLC (Olympus or Company) has violated the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify one-number locator service before beginning excavation. RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each violation.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Commission staff (Staff) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a \$1,000 penalty against you on the following grounds:

On June 7, 2021, Olympus was excavating at 401 E 54<sup>th</sup> St., Tacoma, Washington. The Company was augering in fence posts when it struck a 5/8-inch PSE gas line operated by Puget Sound Energy (PSE). The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted by PSE on July 18, 2021, indicates the Company was installing fence posts without a valid locate ticket.

Staff conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, investigation reports, the homeowner contract for services, and the One-Call Ticket database. Staff contacted Olympus and received several written responses denying responsibility for the damage. The documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Olympus damaging a natural gas line while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Company has not been penalized previously and the Commission's primary goal is to promote education and prevent damage to underground utilities. Based on these factors, Staff recommends the Commission assess a \$1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 9.122.055(1)(a) with the option to suspend for one year, and then waive, an \$800 portion of the penalty subject to the conditions that: (1) the Company pay the \$200 portion of the penalty that is not suspended within fifteen (15) days of this Notice, (2) the Company complete Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within ninety (90) days of this Notice, and (3) the Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff's recommendation and assesses a penalty of \$1,000, with an offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, an \$800 portion of the penalty subject to the conditions above.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

# You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the \$1,000 penalty amount due; or
- Pay \$200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend \$800 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
  - Olympus Services management and field crew responsible for excavation must complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (<a href="https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh">https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh</a>) within 90 days of service of this Notice; and
  - The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending training; and
  - Olympus Services must not commit any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; or.
- Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
- Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 11, 2021.

/s/Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division

#### WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-210688, Investigation #8381

**PLEASE NOTE:** You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements:

1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose \$1,000 in payment of the penalty.

Accept the Conditions. I admit that the violation occurred enclose \$200 in partial payment of the penalty, and I also accept the Commission's offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, \$800

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:

[ ] 2.

- Olympus Services supervisors and applicable field staff must attend dig safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of the date of this Notice; and
- Olympus Services must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and

Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I

- o **Olympus Services** must not commit any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.
- describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied):

  [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.

  OR [ ] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above.

  [ ] 3. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied):
  - [ ] a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an administrative law judge for a decision.
- OR [] b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provided above. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: OCT 15 101 [Month/Day/Year], at TUMM, WA [City, State]

Stanton Moulii

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print

Signature of Applicant

### RCW 9A.72.020:

"Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony."