Service Date: January 21, 2025

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-240945
PENALTY AMOUNT: $5,000

Investigation # 9055
SERVICE VIA EMAIL
UBI: 328-000-223
Tyler Proszek Phone: (509) 495-8620
Brian Taylor

Avista Corporation

1411 E Mission Ave, MSC-10
Spokane, WA 99202-1902
Tyler.Proszek@avistacorp.com
Brian.Taylor@avistacorp.com

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Avista
Corporation (Avista or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(3)(a).

RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a
civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each
subsequent violation within a three-year period.

On December 5, 2024, the Safety Committee heard case 24-103 filed by M&L Construction (M&L
or Complainant) against Avista and determined Avista violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) by failing
to provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the location of its
facilities. The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission impose a $5,000 penalty.

Commission staff (Staff) reviewed the documents, reports, and communications with the Safety
Committee and agreed with the Safety Committee’s findings and recommendations.

The Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $5,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment)
against you on the following grounds:

1. Alleged Violation(s):
The Complainant states that on November 4, 2024, Avista failed to provide the excavator
with reasonably accurate information by marking the location of its facilities at 911 S.
Miriam Street, Spokane Valley, WA.
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Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.030(3)(a), which states, in part, that a facility
operator will provide the excavator with reasonably accurate information by marking the
location of its facilities. During the Safety Committee peer review on December 5, 2024,
M&L stated that it had conducted a hydro-vac for a power line on the north side of the
property at 911 South Mariam Street, Spokane Valley, WA, when it discovered a gas line.
M&L called Avista and was told that the line was abandoned. M&L stated that it asked
Avista for the location of the gas service line to the address, and after several hours, the
live gas line, which had not yet been located, was found on the south side of the property.

Avista did not participate in the Safety Committee peer review. Instead, it submitted a
written statement. In the written statement, Avista stated that the complaint and locate
occurred in an older Spokane Valley neighborhood that has rebuilt the natural gas and
electric facilities. Avista noted that it has nearly 30,000 feet of buried electric facilities and
over 14,000 feet of buried gas facilities as part of the series of M&L's locate requests in
that area. This includes 170 electric secondaries and 105 gas service lines. Avista
documented that in addition to the area's live facilities, there are thousands of additional
feet of abandoned Aldyl-A (also known as polyethylene or PE) gas and open-concentric
electric lines. Avista stated that this type of neighborhood presents many challenges to
account for with regard to locating facilities due to the amount of live, abandoned, and
rebuilt facilities. Avista claimed that ELM failed to account for the gas service to 911 S
Miriam before the commencement of excavation. Avista further noted that while it strives
to complete all locates on-time and accurately, Avista understands human errors may
occur, similar to the world of excavation, but believe working together to achieve safe
outcomes is just as important. Avista documented that to prevent this from happening in
the future, ELM has adjusted its process to walk back the locate area while referencing the
utility mapping to confirm all mapped utilities have been accounted for and located.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation:

1.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to M&L workers, utility
technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe injury
and/or loss of property.

Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation does not appear to be intentional, but rather due to negligence by Avista and
its locators. Over the past 36 months (December 18, 2021 - December 18, 2024), Avista
has been penalized by the Commission on 15 occasions for violations of RCW 19.122.030
Avista is aware of the requirements to comply with the dig law but continues to have
violations involving its locating practices.
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3. The likelihood of recurrence.
The likelihood of recurrence depends on Avista’s actions going forward and its ability to
ensure that its contract locator and its contract locator’s processes are sufficient to comply

with the requirements of the dig law.

4. The Company’s previous violations and penalties.
e Warning Letter

On January 11, 2024, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington
Dig Law letter to Avista for violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) which states, in part,
that an excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning
excavation. The letter included detailed information about Washington State’s
Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility
locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation.
The Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by
Avista’s electric crew on October 20, 2023, that occurred because the Company
failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

e Penalty Assessments
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The Commission has considered these factors and agrees with the Safety Committee’s findings of
probable violation and penalty recommendation, as follows:

e $5,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a).

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the

Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
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hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $5,000 penalty amount due; or
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250,
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).!

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 21, 2025.
/s/ James E. Brown Il

JAMES E. BROWN II
Acting Director, Administrative Law Division

! https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

|:| 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and:
Enclose $5,000 in payment of the penalty.
OR ttest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
portal.

|:| 2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

|:| a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR |:| b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

|:| 4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

|:| a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.
OR |:| b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [Month/Day/Year], at [City, State]

Name of Respondent (Company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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