Service Date: August 2, 2024

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-240545 PENALTY AMOUNT: \$4,000

San Juan Moving Company 566 Kelsando Circle, 9B Friday Harbor, WA 98250

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes San Juan Moving Company (San Juan Moving or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-530, Public Liability and Property Damage Insurance; WAC 480-15-555, Criminal Background Checks for Prospective Employees; and WAC 480-15-560, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 391 - Qualifications of Drivers, and 49 C.F.R. Part 395 - Hours of Service of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of \$100 for each violation. In the case of an ongoing violation, every day's continuance is considered a separate and distinct violation.

On July 12, 2024, Commission Motor Carrier Safety Investigator Arber Demiri completed a routine safety investigation of San Juan Moving and documented the following violations:

- Two violations of WAC 480-15-530 Failing to maintain liability insurance while operating a motor vehicle as required. The Company operated a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) without the required insurance on May 7, 2024, and June 5, 2024.
- Two violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) Carrier failed to complete a national criminal background check for an employee. The Company failed to acquire criminal background checks prior to hiring employees Ryan Degrazio and Samuel Daniels.
- Thirty-four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. San Juan Moving allowed driver Chase Haws to operate a motor vehicle without a valid medical certificate on 34 occasions between December 13, 2023, and June 7, 2024
- One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The company failed to maintain a driver qualification file for driver Chase Haws.
- Ten violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Company failed to require driver Chase Haws to prepare a record of duty status on ten occasions between May 1, 2024, and May 30, 2024.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are serious and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: (1) operate commercial motor vehicles without the required public liability and property damage insurance, (2) fail to conduct criminal background checks on employees prior to hire, (3) use drivers who are not medically certified, (4) fail to maintain driver qualification files, and (5) fail to require drivers to create records of duty status put their customers, their customers' belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present safety concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

- Whether the Company ignored Commission staff's (Staff) previous technical assistance; and
- Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On April 10, 2023, the Commission received the Company's application for household goods moving authority. In the application, Chase Haws, owner, acknowledged the Company's responsibility to understand and comply with applicable motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

Chase Haws completed Commission sponsored household goods training on April 5, 2023, and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

- 3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. San Juan Moving did not self-report these violations.
- 4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was cooperative and responsive during the safety investigation.
- 5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts. San Juan Moving has not provided staff with evidence of correction.
- 6. **The number of violations.** Staff identified nine violation types with a total of 54 individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of San Juan Moving. Of those violations, Staff identified five violation types with 49 individual occurrences that warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission's Enforcement Policy.
- 7. **The number of customers affected**. San Juan Moving last reported traveling 11,000 miles for 2023. These safety violations present a public safety risk.

- 8. **The likelihood of recurrence.** The Company was cooperative throughout the investigation and was provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, Staff believes the likelihood of recurrence is low.
- 9. The Company's past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties. The Company has no history of penalties for safety violations.
- 10. **The Company's existing compliance program.** Chase Haws is responsible for the Company's safety compliance program.
- 11. **The size of the Company.** The Company employs one driver and operates one commercial motor vehicle. The Company reported \$122,628 gross revenue in 2023.

The Commission's Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each occurrence of a first-time violation. The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration's "out-of-service" criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize San Juan Moving \$4,000 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

- Two violations of WAC 480-15-530 Failing to maintain liability insurance while operating a motor vehicle as required. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this acute violation, for a total of \$200.
- Two violations of WAC 480-15-555(1) Carrier failed to complete a national criminal background check for an employee. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of this first-time critical violation, for a total of \$200.
- Thirty-four violations of 49 C.F.R. § 391.45(a) Using a driver not medically examined and certified. The Commission assesses a penalty of \$100 for each occurrence of these critical violations, for a total of \$3,400.
- One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 391.51(a) Failing to maintain driver qualification file on each driver employed. The Commission assesses a \$100 penalty for this first-time critical-type violation.

¹ Docket A-120061 – Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission – Section V.

• Ten violations of 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) - Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Commission assesses a \$100 "per category" penalty for this first-time critical violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

- Pay the amount due.
- Contest the occurrence of the violation.
- Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the Commission's web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).3

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action, including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide

-

² https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

³ https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now

regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective August 2, 2024.

/s/ Michael Howard MICHAEL HOWARD Director, Administrative Law Division

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-240545

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed. I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following statements.

| OR | Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. [] Enclose \$4,000 in payment of the penalty. [] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission's payment portal. | | | |
|------------|--|---|--|--|
| [] 2. | Contest | Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your request will be denied): | | |
| | | I ask for a hearing to present eviden inistrative law judge for a decision. | ce on the information I provide above to | |
| OR | [] b) | I ask for a Commission decision bas above. | sed solely on the information I provide | |
| [] 3. | Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty sho be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application here, your request will be denied): | | | |
| | [] a) | I ask for a hearing to present eviden an administrative law judge for a de | ce on the information I provide above to ecision. | |
| OR | [] b) | I ask for a Commission decision bas above. | sed solely on the information I provide | |
| | - | enalty of perjury under the laws of the ation I have presented on any attachm | e State of Washington that the foregoing, ents, is true and correct. | |
| Dated: _ | | [month/day/year], at | [city, state] | |
| Name o | of Respond | dent (company) – please print | Signature of Applicant | |

RCW 9A.72.020 "Perjury in the first degree."

- (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding they make a materially false statement which they know to be false under an oath required or authorized by law.
- (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that their statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section.
- (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.