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The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Greentree
Dozing (Greentree Dozing or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to an
underground gas facility.

RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more
than $10,000 for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports,
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved Greentree Dozing damaging a
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket.

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds:

& Alleged Violation:
On January 3, 2024, Greentree Dozing was excavating at 9404 Southwest Harbor Drive,
Vashon, Washington. While excavating, Greentree Dozing workers struck and damaged an
underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage Information
Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on February 14, 2024, indicated that
Greentree Dozing was excavating without a valid request to locate underground utilities.
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Analysis:

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation.
According to PSE’s Gas First Response (GFR) report, on January 3, 2024, Baron
Construction was using a backhoe to dig a trench for a sewer line when they snagged the
water line that was underneath the 2019 5/8 IP service gas line, severing it. The ELM
report identified Greentree Dozing as the company that caused the damage. The ELM
report further documented the damage to the gas line and noted that there were no locate
requests for this location. PSE advised that Greentree Dozing would be treble billed.

Staff reviewed the One Call ticket center database and found a locate ticket (#23378542)
that was requested by Greentree Dozing for 9404 SW Harbor Drive, Vashon, WA on
September 18, 2023. The locate ticket expired on November 2, 2023, which was two
months prior to the damage.

Staff communicated with Greentree Dozing via email on March 29, 2024. On April 7,
2024, the Company responded acknowledging that it had a previous locate ticket for the
property that may have expired. Greentree Dozing explained that it was relocating a water
yard hydrant and upward pressure was placed on the gas line causing it to start leaking.
Staff communicated with the Company on May 10, 2024, to clarify which company caused
the damage. Greentree Dozing stated it was working for Baron Construction, but it was
Greentree’s backhoe and driver who caused the damage.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount
for the violation:

1.

How serious or harmful the violation is to the public.

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to Greentree Dozing workers,
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe
injury and/or loss of property.

Whether the violation is intentional.

The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, Greentree Dozing has submitted 46
requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates Greentree Dozing’s
knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service
before beginning excavation.

Whether the company self-reported the violation.
Greentree Dozing did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.

The likelihood of recurrence.
The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its

willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning
excavation.
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3. The Company’s previous Warning Letter
On July 19, 2021, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law
letter to Greentree Dozing. The letter included detailed information about Washington
State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility
locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The

Commission mailed the letter after receiving a report of damage caused by Greentree
Dozing on May 27, 2021, that occurred because the Company failed to submit a request to
locate underground utilities before excavating.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Greentree
Dozing as follows:

e $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that:
1) Company supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete Dig Safe
Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA)
within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment;
2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and
3) The Company must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the
violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons supporting
that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW
81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the
following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
o Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions:
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o Greentree Dozing management and field crew responsible for excavation must
complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https:/utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh)
within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission; and

o Greentree Dozing must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within
12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or

e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
® Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia,
Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).!

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective May 22, 2024.

/s/Michael Howard
MICHAEL HOWARD
Director, Administrative Law Division

! hitps://www.utc.wa. gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payvment-now.
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements:

1.

OR

OR

Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:
Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty.

Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment

portal.

Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following
conditions:

o Greentree Dozing management and field crew responsible for excavation must
attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of service of
this Penalty Assessment; and

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the
Commission; and

o Greentree Dozing must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122
within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice.

Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

a) Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to

an administrative law judge for a decision.
b) Iask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be
reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
application here, your request will be denied):

a) Iask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to

an administrative law judge for a decision.
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OR b) Task for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 5~ 285 - Q«L—i [Month/Day/Year], at \,’M}’\OY\ \l\}\)A' [City, State]

Siby twaddiine WM

Name of ReSpondent (Compady) — please print Signaure of App@t'

RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes
a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a
prosecution under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.





