
Service Date: May 30, 2024 
 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 
 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-240275 
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation # 8882 
EMAIL SERVICE 
 UBI:  601-715-526
Eric Vander Linden 
W&N Development, LLC 

Phone: (360) 319-9235

20817 Old Highway 99 SW 
Centralia, WA 98531-9660 
EricV@wndevelopment.co 
 
 

YOU MUST RESPOND WITHIN 15 DAYS OF THIS NOTICE  
 
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that W&N 
Development, LLC (W&N Development or Company) violated Revised Code of Washington 
(RCW) 19.122.055(1)(a) by failing to notify the one-number locate service and causing damage to 
an underground gas facility.  
 
RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) states, in part, that excavators who fail to notify a one-number locator 
service and cause damage to an underground gas facility are subject to a civil penalty of not more 
than $10,000 for each violation. 
 
Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports, 
investigation reports, the One Call Center database, and communications with the Company. The 
documents reviewed identified a natural gas event that involved W&N Development damaging a 
natural gas facility while excavating without a valid locate ticket. 
 
The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by Staff and hereby notifies you 
that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty (Penalty Assessment) against you on the following grounds: 
 
1. Alleged Violation:  

On November 29, 2023, W&N Development was excavating at 5671 N 7th St, Joint Base 
Lewis McChord, Washington. While excavating, W&N Development workers struck and 
damaged an underground Puget Sound Energy (PSE) natural gas facility. The Damage 
Information Reporting Tool (DIRT) report submitted by PSE on December 27, 2023, 
indicated that W&N Development was excavating without a valid request to locate 
underground utilities.  

 
2. Analysis:  

The alleged violation concerns RCW 19.122.055(1)(a), which states, in part, that an 
excavator must contact the one-number locate center before beginning excavation. 



 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240275                                                                                               PAGE 2  
 

According to PSE’s Gas First Response (GFR) report, on November 29, 2023, W&N 
Development damaged a 5/8” gas service line. The report stated that the Company was not 
sure if they had a valid locate ticket at the time of the damage. The report stated that the gas 
service line was shallow and severed by concrete being peeled back with a trackhoe. The 
ELM report confirmed W&N Development damaged a 5/8” natural gas service line while 
replacing a sidewalk and front patio. W&N Development assumed it was ok to excavate 
using the locate requested by the general contractor. PSE provided a Claim Activity Report 
that documented W&N Development was treble billed.    
 
Staff reviewed the Washington One Call ticket center database and found no locate request 
for W&N Development. Staff did find a locate request for this location, but it was 
requested by a different Company.   
 
Staff communicated with W&N Development via email on March 25, 2024. The Company 
explained that it was pulling up a concrete sidewalk when it found the gas service line was 
stuck to the bottom of the concrete. On March 26, 2024, Staff communicated with the 
Company again who confirmed it did not have its own locate request at the time of the 
damage incident. The Company explained that for this job site, the general contractor was 
responsible for initiating and following the dig permit protocols to prevent five different 
subcontractors from starting a dig permit process all for one area. W&N Development 
stated that PSE did treble bill them and confirmed they paid the bill.  
 

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty amount 
for the violation: 
 
1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. 

This incident could have been significantly more harmful to W&N Development workers, 
utility technicians, nearby homeowners, and the public, and it could have resulted in severe 
injury and/or loss of property. 
 

2. Whether the violation is intentional. 
The violation appears to be due to negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of 
Washington State’s Dig Law. Over the past 12 months, W&N Development has submitted 
nine requests to the One Call Center for locates. This demonstrates W&N Development’s 
knowledge of requirements and its responsibility to contact the one-number locate service 
before beginning excavation. 
 

3. Whether the company self-reported the violation. 
W&N Development did not self-report the violation. The Commission became aware of the 
violation when PSE filed a DIRT report.  

 
4. The likelihood of recurrence. 

The likelihood of recurrence depends on the Company’s actions going forward and its 
willingness to notify the one-number locate service every time before beginning 
excavation.  
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5.  The Company’s previous Warning Letter:   

On March 21, 2019, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington Dig Law 
letter to W&N Development. The letter included detailed information about Washington 
State’s Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, requirements for submitting utility 
locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties for each violation. The 
Commission mailed the letter after receiving reports of damages caused by W&N 
Development on October 15, 2018, and November 13, 2018, that occurred because the 
Company failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating. 

 
The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize W&N 
Development LLC as follows:  

• $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.055(1)(a) with an offer to suspend an 
$800 portion of the penalty for one year, and then waive it, subject to the conditions that: 
1) W&N Development supervisors and field crew responsible for excavation complete 

Dig Safe Training provided through the National Utility Contractors Association 
(NUCA) within 90 days of this Penalty Assessment; 

2) The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission; and 
3) W&N Development must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 

12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment.  

These facts, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient to support the 
Penalty Assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the 
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of 
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 
RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision. 
 
You must act within 15 days after receiving this Penalty Assessment to do one of the 
following: 

• Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or 
• Pay $200 and notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend an $800 portion 

of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 
o W&N Development management and field crew responsible for excavation must 

complete NUCA Dig Safe Training (https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh) 
within 90 days of service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

https://utc-9183.quickbase.com/db/bpkt6vndh
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o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and 

o W&N Development must not incur any additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 
12 months of the date of this Penalty Assessment; or  

• Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 
• Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 
Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the 
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after you 
receive this Penalty Assessment. If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via 
email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a 
paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, 
Washington 98504-7250. 

If you wish to make your payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).1  

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 
Attorney General for collection.  
 
DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective May 30, 2024. 
 

/s/Michael Howard 
       MICHAEL HOWARD 

Director, Administrative Law Division 
 
 
 
 

 
  
 

 
1 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now.  

https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cpaige.doyle%40utc.wa.gov%7C9cb022d51a5643d6a62b08db0960304f%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114080949081842%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=LCe1LJN4m2K2jG%2FPg4tyJshn%2B1zgimsevw8pedLstG8%3D&reserved=0
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-240275 Investigation # 8882 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission 
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, competent to testify to the 
matters set forth below, and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 
oath, the following statements: 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred:   
[  ] Enclose $1,000 in payment of the penalty. 

     OR [  ] Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment 
portal. 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the 
payment of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and 
ultimately waive, the remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following 
conditions:   

o W&N Development management and field crew responsible for excavation 
must attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA within 90 days of 
service of this Penalty Assessment; and 

o The Company must submit documentation of that attendance to the 
Commission; and  

o W&N Development must not commit any further violations of RCW 19.122 
within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 
  

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons 
I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 
request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

 
[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 
application here, your request will be denied): 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to 
an administrative law judge for a decision. 
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     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 
above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the state of Washington that the foregoing, 
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 
 
 
Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 
 
 
 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 
Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 
 
 
 
RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.” 
 
(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes 

a materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or 
authorized by law. 

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the 
actor's mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a 
prosecution under this section. 

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony. 
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