Service Date: January 3, 2024

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-231020
PENALTY AMOUNT: $300

Marsik Movers LLC
7171 Marshall Ave SE, Apt 207
Auburn, WA 98092

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Marsik
Movers LLC (Marsik Movers or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC)
480-15-590, Leasing Vehicles; and WAC 480-15-560, Vehicle and Driver Safety Requirements,
which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (49 C.F.R.) Part 390 — Safety Regulations,
General, and 49 C.F.R. Part 395 — Hours of Service of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct
violation.

On December 14, 2023, Commission Motor Carrier Tracy Cobile completed a routine safety
investigation of Marsik Movers and documented the following violations:

e One violation of WAC 480-15-590 — Failing to ensure that all conditions are met
when entering into an equipment lease agreement before operating a leased motor
vehicle. Marsik Movers failed to maintain a valid original lease agreement for its leased
commercial motor vehicle (CMV).

e One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 390.15(b) — Failing to maintain, for a period of three
years after an accident occurs, an accident register. The Company failed to maintain
an accident register for an accident that occurred on May 19, 2023.

e Sixviolations 49 C.F.R. 8 395.8(a)(1) - Failing to require a driver to prepare a
record of duty status using the appropriate method. The Company failed to require
drivers Marcel Filip and Stefan Reailean to prepare a record of duty status on six
occasions between October 1 and October 30, 2023.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
this violation:

1. How serious or harmful the violation is to the public. The violations noted are serious
and potentially harmful to the public. Household goods moving companies that: (1) fail to
retain written agreements for leased equipment, (2) fail to maintain accident registers, and
(3) fail to maintain records of duty status put their customers’ belongings, and the
traveling public at risk. These violations present significant safety concerns.

2. Whether the violation was intentional. Considerations include:
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e  Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and

e Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

On May 2, 2019, the Commission received the Company’s application for household
goods moving authority. In the application, Marcel Filip, owner of Marsik Movers,
acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and comply with applicable
motor carrier safety laws and regulations.

On August 7, 2019, Marcel Filip attended household goods training provided by Staff
and acknowledged receiving training pertaining to motor carrier safety regulations.

On March 22, 2022, Staff completed a routine safety investigation of Marsik Movers and
documented violations of WAC 480-15-590 and 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1). Staff provided
technical assistance to the Company during this safety investigation.

On January 25, 2023, Staff completed a follow-up safety investigation of Marsik Movers
and documented violations of WAC 480-15-590 and 49 C.F.R. § 390.15(b). Staff
provided technical assistance to the Company during this safety investigation.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violation. Marsik Movers did not self-report
these violations.

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. The Company was mostly
cooperative and responsive during the safety investigation but was at times evasive in
answering Staff’s questions.

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violation and remedied the impacts.
Marsik Movers has provided staff with evidence that it has begun to correct the
violations.

6. The number of violations. Staff identified 10 violation types with a total of 29
individual occurrences during the routine safety investigation of Marsik Movers. Of those
violations, Staff identified three violation types with 8 individual occurrences that
warrant a penalty in accordance with the Commission’s Enforcement Policy.

7. The number of customers affected. Marsik Movers last reported traveling 45,000 miles
for 2022. These safety violations present a public safety risk.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Company incurred repeat violations despite prior
technical assistance. Absent a significant commitment to prioritize safe operations, the
violations are likely to reoccur.
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9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
On March 29, 2022, the Commission issued a Notice of Intent to Cancel the Company’s
household goods moving permit in Docket TV-220168 after the safety investigation of
Marsik Movers resulted in a conditional safety rating. On April 5, 2022, the Company
was penalized $700 in Docket TV-220169 for safety violations of WAC 480-15-555,
WAC 480-15-560, and WAC 480-15-570.

On May 6, 2022, the Commission entered Order 01, which consolidated Dockets TV-
220168 and TV-220169, approved the Company’s safety management plan, and extended
the Company’s provisional period. The Company paid the $700 penalty in full.

On February 9, 2023, the Commission issued a Notice of Intent to Cancel the Company’s
household goods moving permit in Docket TV-230061 after a compliance investigation
of Marsik Movers resulted in a conditional safety rating.

On March 24, 2023, the Commission entered Order 01 in Docket TV-230061, approved
the Company’s safety management plan, and extended the Company’s provisional period.
The company paid the $500 penalty in full.

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Marcel Filip, owner, is responsible for
the Company’s safety compliance program.

11. The size of the Company. The Company employs two drivers and operates two CMVs.
The Company reported $412,526 in gross revenue in 2022.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.* The Commission generally will assess penalties by violation
category, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat
violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Marsik
Movers $300 (Penalty Assessment), calculated as follows:

e One violation of WAC 480-15-590 — Failing to ensure that all conditions are met when
entering into an equipment lease agreement before operating a leased motor vehicle. The
Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this repeat violation.

! Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —
Section V.
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e One violation of 49 C.F.R. § 390.15(b) — Failing to maintain, for a period of three years
after an accident occurs, an accident register. The Commission assesses a $100 penalty
for this repeat violation.

e Six violations 49 C.F.R. § 395.8(a)(1) - Failing to require a driver to prepare a record of
duty status using the appropriate method. The Commission assesses a $100 “per
category” penalty for these critical violations.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
Penalty Assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violations that you believe should excuse you
from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence
presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if
material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any
request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written
statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in
denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of their decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.
e Contest the occurrence of the violation.
e Admit the violation but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal at https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form within FIFTEEN (15) days after
you receive this Penalty Assessment.? If you are unable to use the web portal, you may submit it
via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are unable to submit the form electronically, you may
send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250,
Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you wish to make a payment online, please use this link: Make a Payment Now (wa.gov).?

2 https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form.

3 https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now



https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.utc.wa.gov%2Fdocuments-and-proceedings%2Fonline-payments%2Fmake-payment-now&data=05%7C01%7Cstacey.brewster%40utc.wa.gov%7C184e666112fd4f0dd84b08db095f25a7%7C11d0e217264e400a8ba057dcc127d72d%7C0%7C0%7C638114076480296165%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=6NM7X7%2Fu9ypm9iMNyWquTWSLjAc1Uu4m1gvSFU9DkaA%3D&reserved=0
https://efiling.utc.wa.gov/Form
https://www.utc.wa.gov/documents-and-proceedings/online-payments/make-payment-now
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective January 3, 2024.

/s/ Michael Howard
MICHAEL HOWARD
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-231020

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the Penalty Assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. | hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

1. _Payment of penalty. | admit that the violations occurred.

Enclose $300 in payment of the penalty.

OR Attest that I have paid the penalty in full through the Commission’s payment
portal.

2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons | describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide
above.

3. Application for mitigation. | admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

a) | ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information | provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR b) 1 ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information | provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
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RCW 9A.72.020 “Perjury in the first degree.”

(1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official proceeding he or she makes a
materially false statement which he or she knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law.

(2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, and the actor's
mistaken belief that his or her statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section.

(3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.
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