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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
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Amber Anderson                UBI:  603 511 259 

Able Concrete Designs, LLC            Phone:  (425) 830-1865 

16633 244th Pl SE 

Issaquah, WA 98027 

 

  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Able 

Concrete Designs, LLC, (Able Concrete Designs or Company) has violated Revised Code of 

Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(1)(a) by failing to request a dig ticket prior to excavating. RCW 

19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the chapter are subject to a civil 

penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not more than $5,000 for each 

subsequent violation within a three-year period. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a $1,000 penalty 

against Able Concrete Designs on the following grounds: 

On January 9, 2020, the Safety Committee heard the complaint for case 19-077 

against Able Concrete Designs regarding an alleged violation of the Washington 

state dig law, RCW 19.122, that occurred on October 19, 2018. The complainant in 

this case was Seattle Public Utilities (SPU). The Safety Committee determined that 

the Company committed the following violations: 

 One violation of RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) for failing to submit an 

underground utility locate request through a one-number call service prior to 

excavating on October 19, 2018. 

 

The Safety Committee recommends that the Commission assess the following 

penalty against Able Concrete Designs: 

 $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(1)(a); and 

 The opportunity to suspend $800 of the $1,000 penalty amount if the owners 

of Able Concrete Designs complete National Utility Contractor Association 

(NUCA) Dig Safe Training within 12 months of the date of this Notice, and 

the Company incurs no additional dig law violations within 12 months of 

the date of this Notice.  
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Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s determination 

and agrees with its conclusions. Staff found that Able Concrete Designs violated 

RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) on one occasion. Staff based this decision on the following 

information provided by the Safety Committee: 

 

On October 19, 2018, while preparing forms for concrete work, Able Concrete 

Designs punctured an SPU underground 2-inch fire water service line with a 

concrete form stake at 111 E. Hamlin St., Seattle, Washington. 

 

The type of work performed by the Company on October 19, 2018, requires 

notification to utility operators not less than two full business days before 

beginning. The One-Call ticket database does not have record of a valid utility 

locate request submitted for the area in which the Respondent caused the damage 

on October 19, 2018. 

 

Staff recommends the Commission accept the Safety Committee’s recommendation 

and assess a $1,000 penalty against the Company for one violation of RCW 19.122 

for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator service not less 

than two business days before excavating, as follows: 

 

 $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(1)(a) that occurred on October 

19, 2018. 

 

Documents and statements provided by the Company and SPU suggest that the violation 

occurred due to a lack of understanding of the requirements of Washington’s dig law. After 

considering all of the circumstances, Staff concurs with the Safety Committee’s 

recommendation that the Commission should offer to suspend $800 of the total penalty for 

a period of one year subject to the following conditions: (1) owners of Able Concrete 

Designs must attend Dig Safe training provided through the National Utility Contractors 

Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date of this Notice; and (2) the Company 

may not incur any further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months from the date of this 

Notice.  

 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000 

with an offer to suspend $800 of the total penalty amount subject to the conditions listed 

above. The Commission will waive the suspended penalty amount of $800 if the Company 

complies with both conditions. If the Company fails to comply with either of these 

conditions, the $800 suspended penalty amount will become immediately due and payable, 

in addition to any new penalties that the Commission may assess for additional violations. 

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are 

sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe that the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from 

the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 
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hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the $1,000 amount due; 

 Pay $200 of the total penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer 

to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $800 of the penalty amount subject to the 

following conditions: 

o Able Concrete Designs owners attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA 

within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and 

o Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) 

days of attending the training; and  

o Able Concrete Designs incurs no additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 

twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the violation; or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective February 14, 2020. 

 

 

 

/s/Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-200037, Investigation # 8139 
 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 

days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the 

penalty. 

 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the payment 

of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the 

remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 

o Able Concrete Designs owners attend Dig Safe training provided through NUCA 

within twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice; and 

o Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) 

days of attending the training; and 

o Able Concrete Designs incurs no additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 

twelve (12) months of the date of this Notice. 

 

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below: 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for 

the reasons set out below:  

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

 



 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


