Service Date: September 23, 2019

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

ﬁg\éuw ASSESSMENT: TV-190761
E WD Y AMOUNT: $4,700
Clutter, Inc. 0CT 0 / 2019

21402 24™ Ave S. Suite A WASH, UT
Des Moines, WA 98198 & TP.COMM

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that Clutter,
Inc., (Clutter or Company) violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570,
Driver Safety Requirements, which adopts Title 49 Code of Federal Regulatlons (49 CFR) Part

391 — Qualification of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows pcnalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is LOl]S]dC]Cd a separale and distinct
violation.

On September 10, 2019, Commission Motor Catrier Investigator Edward Steiner completed a
routine safety investigation of Clutter and documented the following violations:

e Forty-seven violations of 49 CFR § 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically
examined and certified. The Company allowed drivers Joshua Gamble, Spencer Emry,
Ibijoke Idowu, and Josue Lopez Madrid to drive a commercial motor vehicle without
having been medically examined and certified on 47 occasions between April 27 and July
31, 2019.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalty for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted arc
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Houschold goods moving companics that
use drivers not medically examined and certified put their customers, customers’
belongings, and the traveling public at risk. These violations present serious safety
concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional, Considerations include:

o Whether the Company ignored Commission staff’s (Staff) previous technical
assistance; and

o  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the Company knew of and failed to correct the violations.

On November 29, 2016, the Commission received the Company’s application for
household goods moving authority. In the application, Travis Eagles-Soukup, Dircctor of
Seattle Operations, acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to understand and
comply with applicable safety laws and regulations.
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On November 7, 2017, and August 7, 2019, employces representing Clutter attended
houschold goods (raining provided by Stalf. The employees acknowledged receiving
training pertaining (o motor carrier safety regulations.

The Company knew or should have known about this requirement,

3. Whether the Company self-reported the violations. Clutter did not scll-report these
violations.

4. Whether the Company was cooperative and responsive. Clutler was cooperalive
throughout the investigation,

5. Whether the Company promptly corrected the violations and remedicd the impacts.
Clutter presented evidence to Stalf that the violations have been corrected.

6. The number of violations. Stafl identificd five violation types with a total of 55
individual occurrences.

7. The number of customers affected. The Company employs 17 drivers and operates 26
motor vehicles. Clutter traveled 8,500 miles in 2018. These saflety violations presented a
public safety risk.

8. The likelihood of recurrence. Staff identified process breakdowns within Clutter’s
operations. Staff provided technical assistance with specific remedies to help the
Company assess how well its safety management controls support safe operations and
how to begin improving its safety performance. In light of these factors, staff believes the
likelihood of recurrence is low.

9. The Company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
On October 15, 2018, the Commission entered a complaint in Docket TV-180772 against
Clutter for failing to {ile a complete annual report and pay regulatory fees. On December
5, 2018, the Commission dismissed the complaint against Clutter afler the Company filed
its annual report and paid regulatory fees.

On June 14, 2019, Clutter was penalized $250 for failing to file a timely annual report
and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2019. The Company paid the $250 penalty in full on
July 12, 2019,

Clutter has no history of penalties for safcty violations.

10. The Company’s existing compliance program. Sean Winter, Clutter’s Field
Supervisor, is responsible for the Company’s safety compliance program.

1. The size of the Company. The Company currently leases 26 vehicles and employs 17
drivers, The Company reported $1,383,813 in gross revenue for 2018, ’

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for cach
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occeurrence ol a tirst-ime violation.! The Commission penerally will assess penalties per type of

violation, rather than per oceurrence, for first-time violations of those eritical repudations that do

not meet the requirements for mandatory penaltics. The Commission will assess penalties for any
cquipment violation meeting (he Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria and also Tor repeat violations of eritical regulations, including cach oceurrence ol a repeat
violation.

The Conmnission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Clutter
$4,700, calculated as follows:

e Porty-seven violations of'49 CFR § 391.45(a) — Using a driver not medically examined
and certificd. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for cach oceurrence of this
violation, for a total of $4,700.

This information, il proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sulficient to support the
penalty assessment,

Your penally is due and payable now. I you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented al
a hearing or in wriling. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you
believe should excuse you from the penally, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the
penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a
request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of cvidence and
resolution in a hearing, Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty
must include a wrilten statement of the reasons supporting that request. FFailure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW §1.04.405.

1I'you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants thal request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Briel Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due,
o Conlest the occurrence of the violation(s).
e Admit the violations but request mitigation of the penalty amount.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@@ute.wa.gov. 1l you are
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide

"'Docket A-120061 = Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Conunission —
v ! ¥ g |
Section V.
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regulated service, assessing additional penalties, ov relerting this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective September 23, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 5 days afler you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I'have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making lalse
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testily to the
matlers set forth below and 1 have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

i Q/]'/l Payment of penalty. I admit that the violalions occurred and enclose $4,700 in
payment of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the
reasons [ describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

[ 1 a) Task fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision,

OR [ ] b) Tlask foraCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) Task forahearing lo present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR | ] b) Task foraCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information 1 have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: ?,/2 7 /Za/ 4 [month/day/year|, al _DES r1 0 4 s ES). tw |city, state]

\/0/4 ) '\/{F/JM( v S o
Name of Respondent (company) — please print /S?gx{ature of Applicant
/
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RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class



