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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-190681  

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation # 8009 

 

Duaine Birkhofer                UBI:  313 013 420 

Frontier Communications Northwest, Inc.            Phone:  (425) 999-0182 

13923 Smokey Point Blvd. 

Marysville, WA 98270 

 

  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that  Frontier 

Communications Northwest, Inc., (Frontier or Company) has violated Revised Code of 

Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(3)(a) by failing to provide reasonably accurate information 

regarding the location of underground facilities to an excavator within the required two business 

days after receipt of notification of excavation. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations 

of any provision of the chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial 

violation and not more than $5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty of 

$1,000 against you on the following grounds: 

On August 13, 2019, the Safety Committee heard the complaints for cases 19-061 

and 19-062 against Frontier regarding alleged violations of the Washington state 

dig law, RCW 19.122, that occurred on December 27, 2018, and June 13, 2019. The 

complainant in this case was Austin’s Lend-A-Hand Corp (Austin’s Lend-A-Hand). 

The Safety Committee determined that Frontier committed the following violations: 

 Two violations of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) for failing to provide reasonably 

accurate information as to the location of underground facilities within two 

business days on the above dates. 

 

The Safety Committee recommends that the Commission assess  a $6,000 penalty 

against Frontier, as follows: 

 $1,000 penalty for the first violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) that occurred on 

December 27, 2018; and 

 $5,000 penalty for the second violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) that occurred on 

June 13, 2019. 

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s determination 

and conclusions regarding the violations on December 27, 2018, and June 13, 2019, 
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and conducted an independent investigation that included obtaining additional 

information that was not available for the Committee’s consideration at the time of 

the review. Staff found that Frontier violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) on June 13, 

2019. Staff’s investigation determined that here was insufficient evidence to 

support a finding that Frontier violated RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) on December 27, 

2018. Staff based its decision on the following information provided by the Safety 

Committee and Staff’s investigation: 

 

19-061 

On December 20, 2018, Austin’s Lend-A-Hand submitted utility locate request 

#18536674 for 832 New Morning Rd., Camano Island, Washington. On December 

27, 2018, Austin’s Lend-A-Hand arrived at the jobsite and discovered a lack of 

utility markings on the ground within the identified excavation area. Austin’s Lend-

A-Hand contacted Frontier’s contracted locator, who was dispatched to the site and 

subsequently located and marked other underground utilities within the excavation 

area. Frontier’s contracted locator contended that, at the time of the locator’s initial 

response within the required two business days, its locator indicated on the ground 

that Frontier’s utilities were outside the excavation area after reviewing maps that 

showed the area was clear. There was insufficient evidence to determine whether or 

not these markings were present. Therefore, Staff cannot confirm that the alleged 

violation occurred. 

19-062 

On June 5, 2019, Austin’s Lend-A-Hand submitted utility locate request #19235521 

for 495 Tillicum Way, Camano Island, Washington. On June 13, 2019, Austin's 

Lend-A-Hand arrived at the jobsite and discovered a lack of Frontier underground 

utility markings on the ground near a utility pole within the identified excavation 

area, despite markings indicating that the area was clear. Austin’s Lend-A-Hand 

contacted Frontier’s contracted locator, who was dispatched to the site and 

subsequently located and marked additional underground utilities within the 

excavation area. Photographs and documentation submitted to the Safety 

Committee by both parties support the allegation, and Staff’s subsequent 

investigation concluded that Frontier failed to provide reasonably accurate 

information to the excavator about the location of its underground utilities in the 

excavation area within the required two business days of the locate request. 

Additionally, the investigation found that at the time of the initial utility locate, 

Frontier’s locator lacked sufficient information to determine whether or not the 

additional utilities near the utility pole within the excavation area belonged to 

Frontier or another telecommunications company, and therefore failed to provide 

reasonably accurate information when it identified the excavation site as clear of 

Frontier utilities. 

Staff recommends the Commission accept the Safety Committee’s recommendation 

for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) that occurred on June 13, 2019, and 

assess a $1,000 penalty against Frontier for failing to provide reasonably accurate 
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information within two business days about the location of its underground utilities, 

as follows: 

 $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(3)(a) that occurred on June 13, 

2019. 

 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000. 

 

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are 

sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe that the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from 

the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violations or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violations or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the $1,000 amount due; 

 Request a hearing to contest the violation(s); or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective October 4, 2019. 

 

 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-190681, Investigation # 8009 
 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 

days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of 

the penalty. 

 

 

[   ]  2. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below: 

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

[   ]  3. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced 

for the reasons set out below:  

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (Company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 



 

 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


