Service Date: July 22, 2019

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-190540
PENALTY AMOUNT: $300

Phillip E. Pettinger R E

d/b/a Pettinger Family Movers CEI VE D
4304 E. 41 St. AUG 12 2p19
Spokane, WA 98223 WASHQ UT ¢ o

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes Phillip E.
Pettinger d/b/a Pettinger Family Movers (Pettinger Movers or Company) violated Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-560, Equipment Safety Requirements, which adopts Title
49 CFR Part 393 — Parts and Accessories Necessary for Safe Operations, and Part 396 —
Inspection, Repair, and Maintenance; and WAC 480-15-570, Driver Safety Requirements, which
adopts Title 49 CFR Part 391 — Qualifications of Drivers.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for each violation. In
the case of an ongoing violation, every day’s continuance is considered a separate and distinct
violation.

On June 27, 2019, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandi Yeomans completed a routine
safety investigation of Pettinger Movers and documented the following violations:

* One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 391.51(a) — Failing to maintain driver
qualification file on each driver employed. The Company failed to maintain a driver
qualification file for driver Phillip Pettinger.

* Two violations of Title 49 CFR Part 396.3(b) — Failing to keep minimum records of
inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Company failed to keep minimum records of
inspection and maintenance for either of its two vehicles.

* One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 393.47(a) — Inadequate brakes for safe stopping.
Commission Staff (Staff) discovered a commercial motor vehicle with brake fluid
contaminating the brake friction material on the left inside dual tire of axle two.! This
commercial motor vehicle was placed out of service.

The Commission considered the following factors in determining the appropriate penalties for
these violations:

1. How serious or harmful the violations are to the public. The violations noted are
serious and potentially harmful to the public. Companies that: (1) fail to maintain driver
qualifications, (2) fail to keep records of inspection and vehicle maintenance, and (3) use
commercial motor vehicles in need of repair put their customers and their customers’

! Equipment Identification Number 002
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belongings, as well as the traveling public, at risk. These violations present serious safety
concerns.

2. Whether the violations were intentional. Considerations include:

e  Whether the company ignored Staft’s previous technical assistance; and
e  Whether there is clear evidence through documentation or other means that shows
the company knew of and failed to correct the violation.

The Company applied for household goods moving authority on September 26, 2011. In
its application, the Company’s owner, Phil Pettinger, acknowledged his responsibility to
comply with applicable safety laws and regulations.

On May 23, 2013, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Alan Dickson completed a
safety investigation of Pettinger Movers, which resulted in a satisfactory safety rating.

The Company’s household goods permit was canceled on October 27, 2014, for failure to
submit an annual report and pay regulatory fees. The Company applied again for
household goods moving authority on February 11, 2016. In its application, Mr. Pettinger
acknowledged the Company’s responsibility to comply with applicable safety laws and
regulations.

On May 19, 2016, Mr. Pettinger and Reggie Martin attended household goods training
provided by Staff.

On May 7, 2017, Commission Motor Carrier Investigator Sandi Yeomans completed a
safety investigation of Pettinger Movers, which resulted in a satisfactory safety rating.
Staff provided technical assistance to the Company during this investigation.

The Company knew or should have known about these requirements.

3. Whether the company self-reported the violations. The Company did not self-report
these violations.

4. Whether the company was cooperative and responsive. Pettinger Movers was
cooperative throughout the investigation, and expressed a desire to come into
compliance.

5. Whether the company promptly corrected the violations and remedied the impacts.
The Company corrected some of the violations, and has been asked to submit a Safety
Management Plan.

6. The number of violations. Staff identified eight violation types with a total of nine
individual occurrences.

7. The number of customers affected. The Company employs one driver, operates two
commercial motor vehicles, and reported 50,000 miles traveled in 2018. Members of the
traveling public were put at risk by these safety violations.
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8. The likelihood of recurrence. The Commission does not know if Pettinger Movers is
likely to repeat these safety violations. However, past performance can be an indicator of
future violations. On June 6, 2017, Pettinger Movers was penalized in Docket TV-
170679 for 113 violations of using a driver not medically examined and certified. The
Commission suspended a portion of the penalty subject to the condition that the
Company must not repeat that same violation. Pettinger Movers satisfied that condition.

During all safety investigations, Pettinger Movers has been cooperative with Staff and
willingly accepted technical assistance.

9. The company’s past performance regarding compliance, violations, and penalties.
This is the Company’s third routine safety investigation. The Company was penalized
$1,000 twice for failure to file its annual report and pay its regulatory fees.? The
Company had its permit cancelled in Docket TV-143238 after being held in default for
failure to file its annual report and pay its regulatory fees. The Company was penalized
$6,300 in Docket TV-170679 for 113 violations of using a driver not medically examined
and certified.> All penalties were paid in full.

10. The company’s existing compliance program. Mr. Pettinger is responsible for the
Company’s safety compliance program.

11. The size of the company. Pettinger Movers is a small company with one driver and two
vehicles. The Company reported $85,000 in gross revenue for 2018.

The Commission’s Enforcement Policy provides that some Commission requirements are so
fundamental to safe operations that the Commission will issue mandatory penalties for each
occurrence of a first-time violation.* The Commission generally will assess penalties per type of
violation, rather than per occurrence, for first-time violations of those critical regulations that do
not meet the requirements for mandatory penalties. The Commission will assess penalties for any
equipment violation meeting the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s “out-of-service”
criteria and also for repeat violations of critical regulations, including each occurrence of a repeat
violation.

The Commission has considered these factors and determined that it should penalize Pettinger
Movers $300, calculated as follows:

® One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 391.51(a) — failing to maintain a driver qualification
file on each driver employed. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this first-
time critical violation.

2 Docket TV-130992 and TV-140982

* In Docket TV-170679, the Commission assessed a reduced penalty of $6,300, a $3,300 portion of which was
suspended and ultimately waived. The Company paid the $3,000 penalty due in full.

* Docket A-120061 — Enforcement Policy of the Washington Utilities & Transportation Commission —

Section V.
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e One violation of Title 49 CFR Part 393.47(a) — inadequate brakes for safe stopping. The
Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this out-of-service violation.

e Two violations of Title 49 CFR Part 396.3(b) — failing to keep minimum records of
inspection and vehicle maintenance. The Commission assesses a penalty of $100 for this
first-time critical violation.

This information, if proven at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe any or all of the violations did not occur,
you may deny committing the violation(s) and contest the penalty through evidence presented at
a hearing or in writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for any or all of the violations that you
believe should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the
penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a
request for hearing only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest the violation(s) or for mitigation of the penalty
must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation(s) or application
for mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.
You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the amount due.

e Contest the occurrence of the violations.

e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and submit it electronically through the
Commission’s web portal within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. If you are
unable to use the web portal, you may submit it via email to records@utc.wa.gov. If you are
unable to submit the form electronically, you may send a paper copy to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, PO Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may take additional enforcement action,
including but not necessarily limited to suspending or revoking your certificate to provide
regulated service, assessing additional penalties, or referring this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection.

DATED at Lacey, Washington, and effective July 22, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-190540

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

Y
\{<] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $300 in payment
/ of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Contest the violation(s). I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the
reasons | describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest
here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

OR [ ] b) IaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting
your application here, your request will be denied):

[ ] a) [Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision.

iy

OR [ ]b) I ésk for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 7-26¢ -2« g [month/day/year], at SFekpng LA [city, state]

/:-7):// 1 E Ferriveer m

Name of Respondent (compahy) — please print Signature of Applicant




PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-190540 PAGE 6
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



