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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION ”

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE —
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES -

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: DG-1 903 71
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1000

Investigation #7967

UBI: 602-046-666

Ground Effects Landscaping, Inc. Phone: (253) 333-9477
302 Western Ave NW

Auburn, WA 98001

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to request a dig ticket prior
to excavating and subsequently damaging an underground natural gas facility. RCW 19.122.055
states, in part, that any excavator who fails to notify a one-number locator service and causes
damage to a hazardous liquid or gas facility is subject to a civil penalty of not more than $10,000
for each violation.

Commission staff (Staff) conducted an investigation that included reviewing damage reports
submitted by Cascade Natural Gas Corporation (CNGC), which identified a natural gas damage
event involving Ground Effects Landscaping, Inc. (Ground Effects or Company). Accordingly, the
Commission hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against you for $1,000 on the
following grounds:

On October 23, 2015, the Commission mailed an Alleged Violation of Washington
Dig Law letter to Ground Effects. The letter included detailed information about
Washington state’s underground utility damage prevention act, requirements for
submitting utility locate requests before excavating, and the possibility of penalties
for each violation. The Commission sent the letter after receiving a report of
damage caused by Ground Effects in August 2015 that occurred because Ground
Effects failed to submit a request to locate underground utilities before excavating.

On December 17, 2018, Ground Effects was excavating at 4826 Castleton Rd SW, Port
Orchard, Washington. While working, Ground Effects employees struck and damaged an
underground CNGC gas facility. The Damage Information Reporting Tool report submitted
by CNGC on December 19, 2018, indicated that the Company was excavating without a
valid request to locate underground utilities.

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty against Ground Effects for one
violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to provide the required notice to a one-number locator
service before excavating, as follows:
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e No penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred in August, 2015;
and

e $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) that occurred on December
17, 2018. '

Staff’s investigation found that Ground Effects has submitted 914 requests to locate
underground utilities since January 2018, and the violation appears to be the result of the
Company’s negligence rather than a lack of knowledge of the requirements of Washington
state’s dig law. After considering all of the circumstances, Staff recommends that the
Commission offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the $1,000 penalty amount, subject to
the condition that the Company incurs no further violations of RCW 19.122 within 12
months of the date of this Notice.

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000,
with an offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the entire $1,000 penalty amount subject to
the condition described above. If the Company fails to comply with the condition the
$1,000 suspended penalty will become immediately due and payable in addition to any new
penalties that the Commission may assess for additional violations.

These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are sufficient
to support the penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny
committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. Or, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from the
penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a
hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of
law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest
the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons
supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See
RCW 81.04.405.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $1,000 penalty amount due; or
e Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the
entire $1,000 penalty subject to the following condition:
o Ground Effects incurs no additional violations of RCW 19.122 within 12 months of
the date of this Notice; or
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or
e Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty.
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Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, P.O. Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 5, 2019.

/s/ Rayne Pearson
RAYNE PEARSON
Director, Administrative Law Division



WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT DG-190371, Investigation #7967

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within
15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the
following statements:

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of
the penalty.

[X] 2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and accept the Commission’s offer to
suspend, and ultimately waive, the entire $1,000 penalty amount subject to the following
condition:

o Ground Effects incurs no additional violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12)
months of the date of this Notice.

[ 13. Contestthe violation. I believe that the alleged violation(s) did not occur for the reasons I
describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your
request will be denied):

[ 1 a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) TIaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

[ 14 Requestmitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced
for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your application
here, your request will be denied):

[ 1a) Iaskforahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an
administrative law judge for a decision.
OR [ ] b) TIaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide above.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: é/ lo / (4 [Month/Day/Year],at  A<l.. - L4q [City, State]
j.uun\w Deoact Pl /7&'_/?@

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signafure of Applicant



RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or
authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime,
and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution
under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”






