
 Date of Service: April 16, 2019        

 
  

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

 

 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-190113  

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

 Investigation # 7959 

 

Andrew Damerau                UBI:  601 634 671 

Andrew’s LandShapers            Phone:  (360) 331-4020 

19123 SR 525 

Freeland, WA 98249 

  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have 

violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.030(2) by failing to request a dig ticket prior 

to performing an excavation. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of 

the chapter are subject to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 for an initial violation and not 

more than $5,000 for each subsequent violation within a three-year period. 

 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against 

you for $1,000 on the following grounds: 

On February 20, 2019, the Safety Committee heard the complaint for case 18-092 

against Andrew’s LandShapers (Company) regarding a potential violation of the 

Washington State dig law, RCW 19.122, that occurred on November 13, 2018. The 

complainant in this case was Bayview Meadows Community Association (BMCA). 

The Safety Committee determined that the Company committed the following 

violation: 

 One violation of RCW 19.122.030(2) for failing to submit a request to have 

underground utilities located through a one-number call service prior to 

excavating. 

 

The Safety Committee recommended that the Commission assess the following 

$1,000 penalty against Andrew’s LandShapers: 

 $1,000 penalty for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2); and 

 The opportunity to suspend $800 of the penalty if the owner completes 

National Utility Contractor Association (NUCA) Dig Safe Training within 

12 months of the date of this Notice, and the company incurs no additional 

dig law violations within 12 months of the date of this Notice.  

 

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s determination 

and agrees with its conclusion. Staff found that Andrew’s LandShapers violated 
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RCW 19.122.030(2) one time. Staff based this decision on the following 

information provided by the Safety Committee: 

BMCA alleges that on November 13, 2018, Andrew’s LandShapers was digging a 

trench for a drain and encountered a thrust block, which was protecting a joint in 

BMCA’s six-inch water main. Andrew’s LandShapers’ excavation damaged the 

joint in the water main and created a leak. Prior to excavating, Andrew’s 

LandShapers did not notify a one-call service to request marking of the 

underground facilities at the excavation site. 

Photographs and documentation submitted to the Safety Committee by BMCA were 

examined and considered by Staff. The photographs, taken at the time of the 

damage incident and subsequent repair, show the damaged water main, surrounding 

area, and the repaired main. A search of the one-call ticket database by Staff 

indicates that Andrew’s LandShapers did not submit a request to locate 

underground facilities for the site before excavating. Staff determined that 

Andrew’s LandShapers violated RCW 19.122.030(2) one time on November 13, 

2018, by failing to submit a request to locate underground utilities before 

excavating. 

Staff recommends the Commission assess a $1,000 penalty against the Company 

for one violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), for failing to provide the required notice 

to a one-number locator service not less than two business days before excavating, 

as follows: 

 

 $1,000 penalty for the violation of RCW 19.122.030(2), which occurred on 

November 13, 2018. 

 

Staff’s research indicates that the Company has a history of submitting utility locate 

requests, and that the violation appears to be the result of the Company’s negligence rather 

than a lack of knowledge of the requirements of Washington’s dig law. After considering 

all of the circumstances, Staff concurs with the Safety Committee’s recommendation that 

the Commission offer to suspend $800 of the total penalty for a period of one year subject 

to the conditions that (1) Andrew’s LandShapers’ owner attends Dig Safe training provided 

through the National Utility Contractors Association (NUCA) within 12 months of the date 

of this Notice; and (2) Andrew’s LandShapers commits no further violations of RCW 

19.122 within 12 months from the date of this Notice. 

 

The Commission agrees with Staff’s recommendation and assesses a penalty of $1,000 

with an offer to suspend $800 of the penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 

(1) Andrew’s LandShapers’ owner completes NUCA Dig Safe Training within 12 months 

of the date of this Notice, and (2) Andrew’s LandShapers has no further violations of RCW 

19.122 within 12 months of the date of this Notice. The Commission will waive the 

suspended penalty amount of $800 if the Company complies with both conditions. If the 

Company fails to comply with either of these conditions, the $800 suspended penalty will 

become immediately due and payable, in addition to any new penalties that the 

Commission may assess for additional violations. 
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These facts, if not contested or if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, are 

sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in 

writing. Alternatively, if there is a reason for the violation that you believe should excuse you from 

the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of the penalty through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request to contest 

the violation or for mitigation of the penalty must include a written statement of the reasons 

supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See 

RCW 81.04.405. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 

 Pay the $1,000 amount due; 

 Pay $200 of the total penalty amount and notify the Commission that you accept the offer 

to suspend, and ultimately waive, the remaining $800 of the penalty amount subject to the 

following conditions: 

o Andrew’s LandShapers’ owner attends Dig Safe training provided through NUCA 

within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and 

o submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of 

attending the training; and  

o commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the date 

of this order; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the violation; or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

 

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective April 16, 2019. 

 

 

 

/s/ Rayne Pearson 

       RAYNE PEARSON 

Director, Administrative Law Division



 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-190113, Investigation # 7959 
 

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission within 15 

days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 

 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false statements 

under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the matters set forth 

below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under oath, the following 

statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $1,000 in payment of the 

penalty. 

 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 toward the payment 

of the penalty. I also accept the Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the 

remaining $800 penalty amount subject to the following conditions: 

o Andrew’s LandShapers’ owner attends Dig Safe training provided through NUCA 

within twelve (12) months of this Notice; and 

o Submit documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days 

of attending the training; and 

o Commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within twelve (12) months of the 

date of this Notice. 

 

[   ]  3. Contest the violation. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur for the reasons I 

describe below: 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should be reduced for 

the reasons set out below:  

 

 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide above. 

 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

 

 _____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 

 

 



 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath required or 

authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element of this crime, 

and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to a prosecution 

under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


