
  Service Date: January 10, 2018 

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE 

FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES 

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: D-171084 

PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,000 

Full Bore, Inc.  

1546 NW 56th St. 

Seattle, WA 98107  

The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes you have 

violated Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 19.122.040(2)(a) by failing to use reasonable care to 

avoid damaging underground utilities by not determining the precise location of the facilities 

which had been marked. RCW 19.122.070(1) states, in part, that violations of any provision of the 

chapter is subject to a civil penalty of not more than one thousand dollars for an initial violation 

and not more than five thousand dollars for each subsequent violation within a three-year period. 

The Commission reviewed findings and recommendations made by the Washington State Dig Law 

Safety Committee (Safety Committee) and hereby notifies you that it is assessing a penalty against 

you in the amount of $1,000 on the following grounds: 

The Safety Committee received a complaint against Full Bore, Inc. (Full Bore) 

regarding a potential violation of the Washington State Dig Law, RCW 19.122, for 

work performed in 2017. The complainant in this case was Silver Lake Water & 

Sewer District (Silver Lake) 

On Oct. 25, 2017, the Safety Committee heard the complaint against Full Bore in 

Case 17-026. The Safety Committee determined that Full Bore committed the 

following violation: 

 One violation of RCW 19.122.040(2)(a) for failing to use reasonable care to 

avoid damaging underground utilities by not determining the precise 

location of the facilities which had been marked.  

 

The Safety Committee recommended that the following penalties be assessed 

against Full Bore: 

 $1,000 for one violation of RCW 19.122.040(2)(a); and 

 The opportunity to defer the full $1,000 penalty if all Full Bore owners and 

field supervisors complete National Utility Contractor Association (NUCA) 

Dig Safe Training within 90 days of issuance of a penalty assessment by the 

commission. 

 

Commission regulatory staff (Staff) reviewed the Safety Committee’s determination and 

agrees with their decision. Staff found that Full Bore committed one violation of RCW 

19.122.040(2). Staff based this decision on the following information provided by the 

Safety Committee: 
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Case 17-026 

Silver Lake alleges that on or about Feb. 7, 2017, a Full Bore excavation crew was 

installing cable service at 11009 30th Drive SE, in Everett, WA, when they damaged the 

their 8” concrete sewer main. Full Bore is a sub-contractor for Comcast and submitted a 

proper utility locate request on Feb. 2, 2017, which was assigned Ticket No. 17028477. 

Silver Lake properly located their sewer main and side laterals, as well as their water mains 

and services, located in the 30th Drive SE area.  

 

Silver Lake was unware that Full Bore had damaged their sewer main until a customer 

reported that sewage was surfacing in the homeowner’s yard on April 15, 2017. While 

Silver Lake employees were on site investigating the cause of the sewage leak, a 

homeowner advised them that Full Bore had bored across 30th Drive SE in February 2017, 

in the area of the sewage, and had experienced considerable difficulty with the bore job, 

taking approximately 12 hours to complete the work.  

 

On April 17, 2017, Silver Lake used a video camera to inspect the sewer main and 

discovered a section of the pipe had collapsed. Silver Lake began excavating to repair the 

damage when they discovered an unmarked 2” PVC pipe installed at a depth of 8” under 

the asphalt. When Silver Lake was finally able to expose the broken sewer main it was 

discovered that it had a bore hole running through it, which was in perfect alignment with 

the 2” PVC pipe installed directly above it. Silver Lake concluded that Full Bore damaged 

their sewer main while performing their boring activities in February 2017. The 

photographic evidence shows that Full Bore drilled through Silver Lake’s sewer main, and 

when they experienced difficulties installing their cable line, they drilled another hole at a 

shallower depth and installed the 2” PVC pipe, directly above where they damaged the 

sewer line.  

 

Staff determined that Full Bore did commit one violation of RCW 19.122.040(2)(a), for 

failing to use reasonable care to avoid damaging underground utilities by not determining 

the precise location of the facilities which have been mark. Staff found that Silver Lake 

properly located and marked their underground utilities, and Full Bore failed to properly 

determine the location of the marked utilities while excavating.  

 

Pursuant to RCW 19.122.150(3), the Commission has considered the Safety Committee’s 

determination and adopts its recommendation. The Commission assesses a penalty of 

$1,000 against Full Bore for the single violation of RCW 19.122.040(2)(a), for failing to 

use reasonable care to avoid damaging underground utilities by not determining the precise 

location of the facilities which had been marked. Staff also recommends providing the 

opportunity to defer the full $1,000 penalty on the conditions that (1) Full Bore owners and 

field supervisors attend “Dig Safe” training provided through the NUCA, within 12-months 

of the issuance of the Penalty Assessment; and (2) Full Bore commits no further violations 

of RCW 19.122 within the next 12 months. The commission will waive the suspended 

penalty amount of $1,000 if Full Bore complies with both conditions 

 

 



PENALTY ASSESSMENT D-171084  PAGE 3 

  

 

The information the Safety Committee provided to the Commission, if proved at a hearing and not 

rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the penalty assessment. 

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may deny 

committing the violation and contest the penalty assessment through evidence presented at a 

hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if material issues of 

law or fact concerning the violation require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. 

Any contest of the penalty assessment must include a written statement of the reasons supporting 

that contest. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the contest.  

 

If you admit the violation but believe there is a reason for the violation that should excuse you 

from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence 

presented at a hearing or in writing. The Commission will grant a request for hearing only if 

material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any 

request for mitigation must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. 

Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. 

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the 

Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for 

mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The 

administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision. 

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following: 

 Pay the $1,000 amount due; 

 Notify the Commission that you accept the offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, the 

$1,000 penalty based on the conditions that Full Bore owners and field supervisors attend 

NUCA Dig Safe training within 12-months of this penalty assessment; submit 

documentation of that attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the 

training; and commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next 12-months; or 

 Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violation; or 

 Request mitigation to reduce the amount of the penalty. 

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and 

Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within 

FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. 

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the 

Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.  

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective January 10, 2018. 

 

 

GREGORY J. KOPTA 

Director, Administrative Law Division



   

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION 
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission 

within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed. 
 

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false 

statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the 

matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under 

oath, the following statements. 

 

[   ]  1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1,000 in 

payment of the penalty 

 

[   ]  2. Accept conditions.  I admit that the violations occurred and I accept the 

Commission’s offer to suspend, and ultimately waive, $1,000 of the penalty on the 

conditions that Full Bore owners and field supervisors attend NUCA Dig Safe 

training within 12-months of this penalty assessment; submit documentation of that 

attendance to the Commission within five (5) days of attending the training; and 

commit no further violations of RCW 19.122 within the next 12-months; or 

  
[   ]  3. Contest the violations. I believe that the alleged violations did not occur for the reasons 

I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your contest here, your 

request will be denied): 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

 

[   ]  4. Request mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should be 

reduced for the reasons set out below (if you do not include reasons supporting your 

application here, your request will be denied): 

 

 

[   ]  a) I ask for a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to an 

administrative law judge for a decision. 

     OR [   ]  b) I ask for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide 

above. 

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing, 

including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct. 

 

Dated: __________________ [Month/Day/Year], at ______________________ [City, State] 

 

_____________________________________  ___________________________ 

Name of Respondent (company) – please print  Signature of Applicant 



  

 

RCW 9A.72.020: 

 

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official 

proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath 

required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an element 

of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a defense to 

a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”   


