July 11, 2017
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250

Olympia, WA 98504

Dear Administrative Law Judge;

The Ephrata Senior Center just received a letter stating that we have not filed our 2016 Annual Report
for Nonprofit Special Needs Transportation Providers. It also states that we are fined $1000 penalty for
delinquent filing. We are asking for abatement on the fine as we have had volunteer turnover at the
Center this year and the notice was not passed on to the appropriate person to file the report on time.

Our 2016 Annual Report has been filed online as of today along with the payment including late fee and
interest.

We are asking the Commission decision to be based solely on the information we are providing in this
letter as a request for a hearing in Olympia would be a hardship for us to attend.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Mike Donovan
Chairman, Board of Trustees

Ephrata Senior Center



Service Date: July 7, 2017

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TN-170582
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1000

Ephrata Senior Center, Inc.
124 C St. NW
Ephrata, WA 98823

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-30-080, which requires nonprofit
special needs transportation provider companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory
fees each year by May 1. You did not file a complete annual report by May 1, 2017.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess a penalty
of $100 for each violation of a Commission rule. In the case of a continuing violation, every
day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-30-080 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100
for each day a company fails to file its complete report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As aresult, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2017, the Commission sent the 2016 annual report forms and the
2017 regulatory fee packets to all nonprofit special needs transportation provider
companies registered in Washington. The instructions page for the annual report
form instructed these companies to file complete annual reports and pay
regulatory fees by May 1, 2017. The instructions page also stated that failure to
file the complete annual report by May 1 would result in penalties. The deadline
for requesting an extension to file your annual report was April 15. You did not
request an extension.

As of May 15, 2017, Ephrata Senior Center, Inc. had not filed its complete 2016
annual report or paid its 2017 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from
May 1, resulting in a total penalty of $1,000. A complete and accurate annual
report is still not on file and additional penalties may accrue until the Commission
receives the report and any required regulatory fee.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that
request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the
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reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial
of the request.

If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may
ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact
require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must
include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 81.04.405.

The Commission will only grant requests for mitigation if the violations occurred due to
circumstances beyond your control. Such circumstances include, but are not limited to: death or
serious illness of the person responsible for filing the report, or a member of that person’s
immediate family; destruction by fire or other casualty of your place of business or business
records; or an act of fraud, embezzlement, theft, or conversion on the part of your employee.

The following are examples of circumstances that are not considered be to beyond your control,
and thus are not acceptable bases for requesting mitigation: financial hardship; a
misunderstanding or lack of knowledge of Commission rules; failure to receive an annual report
form from the Commission; mistakes or misconduct on the part of your employees; employee
termination or turnover; personal events such as weddings or graduation ceremonies; and
vacations or business trips.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

e Pay the $1000 due.
e Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
e Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

In addition to your selection, a complete annual report and payment of the regulatory fee is
required. Payment of the penalty does not satisfy the requirement that you file an annual
report and pay any applicable regulatory fee.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and file it with the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission at: https://www.utc.wa.gov/docs/Pages/ElectronicFiling.aspx,
within FIFTEEN (15) days of receiving this electronic notice.
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-31-052 to revoke your authority to
provide nonprofit transportation services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective July 5, 2017.

/s/ Gregory J. Kopta
GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TN-170582

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. [ have:

[ ]Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $ online at www.utc.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 1 2. Contest the violation. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
contest of the violations here, your request will be denied):

e 74X ¢ L A (s
) ¢ L LU

[ ] &) Task fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR

X1 b) Task for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[ 13. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced because the violations occurred due to circumstances beyond my control, as
explained below (if you do not include reasons that support your application for
mitigation here, your request will be denied):

[ 1 @) Task fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR

[ 1b) Iask fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
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I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated:  /-//-/7 [month/day/year], at , .’ WWata. LA [city, state]
NAL m(/-\, I o1 Nye i Dol P 7/‘ (nd/e <N !

Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



PRIVATE NONPROFIT SPECIAL NEEDS
TRANSPORTATION PROVIDERS

2016
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Report Year Ended: December 31, 2016

Inquiries concerning this Annual Report should be addressed to:
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250
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REPORT MUST BE RECEIVED NO LATER THAN MAY 1, 2017

***Please refer to the Instructions for Completing the Annual Report on Page 2***



INSTRUCTIONS FOR ANNUAL REPORT COMPLETION

Commission Authority
The purpose of this form is to collect financial and operational information from nonprofit transportation providers
regulated by the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (UTC). The commission's authority for
requiring this report is found in RCW 81.04.080. This report is a non-confidential public use form.

Regulatory Fees
Regulatory fees are set by commission order A-140166.

Certification
The Annual Report Certification must be signed by an authorized officer, partner or owner.

Deadlines and Penalties
All nonprofit transportation providers regulated by the UTC are required to complete this form, including all
schedules. Failure to complete all schedules will result in the report being considered incomplete and subject to
penalties. Completed forms and regulatory fee payments must be received by the UTC no later than May 1, 2017 .
Failure to file the annual report by the above deadline will result in a financial penalty of $100 for each business
day after May 1. Failure to pay the regulatory fees by the above deadline will result in a 2 percent penalty
on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.

Extension Requests
You may file a written request for an extension to file the completed annual report; however, the commission will
not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be filed with the commission by
April 14, 2017, and must state a valid reason for why the extension is needed and identify a specific date which
the report will be filed with the commission. The commission will notify you by April 28 whether your request is
approved or denied. Even if your request is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payments
if you fail to pay your regulatory fees by May 1. To file your extension request online visit:
http://www.utc.wa.gov/docs/Pages/ElectronicFiling.aspx

No longer operating in Washington
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the Voluntary Cancellation Form available at:
www.utc.wa.gov/regulatedindustries/transportation/nonprofitbuses/pages
However, if your company operated in Washington at any time during the 2016 calendar year, you must
file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2016.

Confidential Status
Nonprofit speical needs providers are not permitted to file annual report documents as confidential.
If a company regulated under RCW Title 81 submits its annual report or fee sheet as confidential, the
commission will reject that submission and will not consider the report to be filed until the date the company
submits the report and all required documents and information without any designation of confidentiality. If that
date is after May 1, the company will be subject to the penalties described above.

Electronic Filing and Payment
To obtain an electronic format of the report, submit a report online or pay your regulatory fees online visit:
www.utc.wa.gov/regulatedindustries/pages/annualreports

Staff Contact
Sean Bennett at (360) 664-1157 or sbennett@utc.wa.gov
TTY Toll-Free phone number 1-800-416-5289
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ANNUAL REPORT CERTIFICATION

(PLEASE VERIFY THAT ALL SCHEDULES ARE ACCURATE AND COMPLETE BEFORE SIGNING)

I, the undersigned /' )}, ¢ J1ac / | o uean
Responsible Account Officer (Please Print)

of EDNyatq NC Y 1N (o) TTq
Name of Company

have examined this report and to the best of my knowledge and belief, all statements of fact are
accurate, the financial statements, for the period from January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2016,
contained in this report, correctly reflect the business affairs of the respondent.

\ ﬁlk}u:’lir« bf(a}f" ('{ [,«\ 'J,(‘.M ] “’i ‘ LNOORN_
Title (Signature of Responsible Account Officer)
(please print) (Typed if submitting electronically)
509- /3(/ 7 2482 /!/‘ / ;
Telephone Number Date

GENERAL INFORMATION

Washington Unified Business Identifier (UBI) No.: L0l- )M/-31/
(If you do not know your UBI No. please contact Business Licensing Service at 1-800-451-7985 or BLS@dor.wa.gov)

Business Structure (please check the appropriate designation):
0 Individual / Sole Proprietor O Partnership O Other (LP, LLP, LLC) O Corporation ?('Nonproﬁt Corporation

List the name, title, and percentage of partner's share or stock distribution for major stockholders. If LLC,
list members and percentage of ownership.

Name Title Percent / Shares / Stock / Ownership
M A
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SCHEDULE 1

(complete all information for the year 2016)

Recordable Intrastate and Interstate Accidents

Recordable Accidents

Intrastate

Interstate

A fatality

An injury to a person requiring immediate treatment away from the

scene of the accident

1~

Disabling damage to a vehicle, requiring it to be towed from the
accident scene

Total number of recordable accidents

Vehicle and Mileage Information

Mileage Information

Total Operating Miles

Intrastate

7324

Interstate

Intrastate: Trips that operate exclusively within WA

Interstate: Trips that operate outside of WA

Vehicles Operated

Indicate vehicles operated during the precedin
(for compensation) for persons with special

schedule containing the required information listed below.

g year under certificate issued by the UTC to provide transportation services
transportation needs. If more space needed, please attach an additional

Year

Make

Model

Passenger Seating

Number of Vehicles

Capacity
)( 0 1 ,Ei‘ o l'/')L /"/ —(,,,?,;53('1 Xi€1 "‘1 > /!/, Vi
qd4 1 L AyaLan (o /
a7< ome- Pick ¢ D /
Total Vehicles Operated 3

ﬁimary Source of Compensation

O Grants or Contracts

& Passenger Fares

O Other

Check all that apply and provide a brief description
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REGULATORY FEE CALCULATION SCHEDULE

Due May 1, 2017

In accordance with RCW 81.66.030 "Regulatory Fees"

Company Name:

, % |
é¢"/}/)i(« 14 >~< yalke (’(/I{t 7

Annual Report Year
2016

, the Commission requires Private Nonprofit Special Needs Transportation Providers

to file reports the number of vehicles operated by said company at any time during the calendar year and pay the sum of ten dollars
annually for each vehicle operated. Every company subject to regulation shall file with the Commission a statement under oath and pay to
the Commission a fee as instructed below. There is no minimum fee.

Regulatory Fee Calculations

1 Total Number of vehicles operated at any time during the regulatory year

2 Total Regulatory Fees owed (enter amount from Line 1) 3 x $10.00 30, ©
Agency Use Only 001-111-0268-231-01

Penalty & Interest Calculations

3 Penalties on Regulatory Fees being paid after May 1

4 Total Penalties on Regulatory Fees owed (enter amount from Line 2 x 2%) 30% x 002 A

5 Interest on Regulatory Fees being paid after May 31

6 Amount from Line 2 x Number of month past May 31 x 1% ¢ A x 0.01 «

7 Total Penalties and Interest owed (Line 4 plus Line 6) "7 Sy /)(

8 Total Regulatory, Penalties and Interest Fees Due (Line 2 plus Line 7) ',“M

Agency Use Only 001-111-0268-231-11

e

COMMISSION USE ONLY
Reception #: 001-111-0268-231-01
Reference: AR2016 001-111-0268-231-11
Payment ID: 001-111-0268-032-20

001R-111-0268-032-20 (

Total Paid:
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PAYMENT INFORMATION

The commission accepts the following methods of payment:

M Cash (in-person at commission)

M Check (must be in US Funds)

Online payments* (ACH, American Express, Discover/Novus, Mastercard, Visa)
M Pay-by-phone (credit card payments only) at (360) 664-1349

*Please note: A convenience fee of 2.5 percent (minimum of $3.95) is charged by Official Payments
for using the credit card processing service.

To pay online visit:
https://www.utc.wa.gov/regulatedindustries/Pages/online-payments.aspx

FILING YOUR REPORT

All'annual reports and regulatory fees must be received by the commission no later than

May 1 each year (or the following business day if May 1 lands on a weekend). Postmark
dates are not considered the date received. It is strongly recommended to use a mail delivery
service, such as certified mail via USPS, with delivery confirmation or filing online to receive
an email notification of receipt.

Reports may be mailed, faxed, delivered in person or submitted online:

™M Mail to: (recommend via certified mail no later than April 15 to ensure timely delivery)
Utilities and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504

M Physical Address for express delivery services (Fedex, UPS):
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.
Olympia, WA 98504
M Faxto: (360) 664-1289 (Contact commission staff below to verify receipt)

M File online using the commission e-file system: (System will generate automatic email receipt)
https://www.utc.wa.gov/docs/Pages/ElectronicFiling.aspx

NEED MORE ASSISTANCE?

For more information about annual reports please reference the Annual Report FAQ document
at the website below or contact Sean Bennett at (360) 664-1157 or shennett@utc.wa.gov.

https://www.utc.wa.gov/regulatedindustries/Pages/annualReports.aspx
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Thank You for Submitting Your Payment

Your payment of $31.20 has been processed on 7/11/2017.
(Please allow up to three business days for this charge to post to your account.)

Your confirmation number is: 3719

Any questions can be directed to Accounts Receivable, 360-664-1349

https://utconlinepayments.utc.wa.gov/Confirmation.aspx?OnlinePaymentID=3719&Payme... 7/11/2017



