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June 26, 2017
UTC attention Gregory J. Kopta, Administrative Law Judge

| am writing you today addressing the penalty letter that | received the 26 of June.
I submitted my annual report in the mail for 2016 on April 13, 2017. (Copy enclosed).

I’'m confused why the commission did not let me know that they didn’t receive it on May 1, 2017 until
the 22" of June accruing penalty’s daily. At least | could of sent the copy in and only have a penalty for
one day instead of ten days? Even though | would still address the penalty as | was not late submitting

the original Annual Report for 2016.

We have been in business since 2004, and always sent the annual reports in on time except for 2015) as
we were trying to deed the water systems to the property owners and was notified by UTC stating that
couldn’t do that. During the numerous hearings we thought the UTC had deregulated us in 2014.

In one of the hearings, “the commission asked Jim Ward why were regulated by the UTC as we only had
17 total customers and didn’t fall into the UTC rules”. Because of the process that lasted for over 6
months, was the only reason | was late filing for 2015.

Thank you in advance for your consideration in this matter.

Sincerely,

Cheri and Robert Thurston

™~
i



Date Se"t, 2/ Service Date: June 22, 2017

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UW-176424
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1000

T & T Professional Services ‘ i

111 Sparrow Court : —

Port Ludlow, WA 98365 =

(e
According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, youZ
have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-110-505, which requires water
companies to file their annual report and pay regulatory fees each year by May 1. You did not
file a complete annual report by May 1, 2017.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 authorizes the Commission to assess a penalty
of $100 for each violation of a Commission rule. In the case of a continuing violation, every
day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation. The Commission interprets noncompliance
with WAC 480-110-505 beyond May 1 as a continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100
for each day a company fails to file its complete report or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a result, the Commission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1000 on the
following basis: ‘ :

On February 28, 2017, the Commission sent the 2016 annual report forms and the
2017 regulatory fee packets to all water companies registered in Washington. The
instructions page for the annual report form instructed these companies to file
complete annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2017. The instructions
page also stated that failure to file the complete annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual
report was April 15. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15,2017, T & T Professional Services had not filed its complete 2016
annual report or paid its 2017 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from
May 1, resulting in a total penalty of $1,000. A complete and accurate annual
report is still not on file and additional penalties may accrue until the Commission
receives the report and any required regulatory fee.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that
request only if material issues of law or fact require consideration of evidence and
resolution in a hearing. A request for a hearing must include a written statement of the
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reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a statement will result in denial
of the request.

If there is a reason for the violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may
ask for mitigation (reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at a hearing or in
writing. The Commission will grant a request for a hearing only if material issues of law or fact
require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. Any request for mitigation must
include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to provide such a
statement will result in denial of the request. See RCW 80.04.405.

The Commission will only grant requests for mitigation if the violations occurred due to
circumstances beyond your control. Such circumstances include, but are not limited to: death or
serious illness of the person responsible for filing the report, or a member of that person’s
immediate family; destruction by fire or other casualty of your place of business or business
records; or an act of fraud, embezzlement, theft, or conversion on the part of your employee.

The following are examples of circumstances that are not considered be to beyond your control,
and thus are not acceptable bases for requesting mitigation: financial hardship; a
misunderstanding or lack of knowledge of Commission rules; failure to receive an annual report
form from the Commission; mistakes or misconduct on the part of your employees; employee
termination or turnover; personal events such as weddings or graduation ceremonies; and
vacations or business trips.

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
Commission will review the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:’

e Pay the $1000 due.
e ' Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

In addition to your selection, a complete annual report and payment of the regulatory fee is
‘required. Payment of the penalty does not satisfy the requirement that you file an annual
report and pay any applicable regulatory fee.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and file it with the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission at: https://www.utc.wa.gov/docs/Pages/ElectronicFiling.aspx,
within FIFTEEN (15) days of receiving this electronic notice.
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If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 21, 2017.

/s/ Gregory J. Kopta
GREGORY J. KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-170424

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1.  Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred. I have:

[ ]Enclosed $ in payment of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $ online at www.utc.wa.gov.
My confirmation number is

[ 12. Contest the violation. I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below (if you do not include reasons supporting your
contest of the violations here, your request will be denied):

[<] a) Iask fora hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR
[]1 b) Task for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

[\/] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced because the violations occurred due to circumstances beyond my control, as
explained below (if you do not include reasons that support your application for '
mitigation here, your request will be denied): ‘

[ /1 a) Task for ahearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision

OR

[/] b) Task fora Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
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I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: |/ / l@ [month/day/year], at | O/ 1 A~ O IDW) U/ [eity, state]
Name of Respondent K(company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”



