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STATE OF WASHINGTON
UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ● Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ● www.utc.wa.gov


August 18, 2014

Steven V. King, Executive Director and Secretary
Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW
P.O. Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

RE:	Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Group Six Communications, LLC

	Commission Staff’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties UT-140889

Dear Mr. King:

On June 2, 2014, the Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $1,000 Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-140889 against Group Six Communications, LLC for 10 violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1 each year.1

On August 13, 2014 Group Six Communications, LLC wrote the commission requesting mitigation of penalties (Mitigation Request).2  In its Mitigation Request Group Six Communications, LLC does not dispute that the violation occurred.  The company states, “It’s been a devastating time, picking up the pieces after our founder/President who was also my boss and friend passed away just as we were about to start a brand new year.  We humbly request that the penalty be rescinded with our promise that this will not be an issue in the future”.

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee is paid and the annual report is filed by the May 1 deadline.  On February 28, 2014, Annual Report packets were mailed to all regulated telecommunication companies.  The instructions for annual report completion page of 
the annual report informed the regulated company that it must complete the annual report form, pay the regulatory fees, and return the materials by May 1, 2014, to avoid enforcement action.  
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On August 13, 2014 Group Six Communications, LLC filed its completed annual report and paid the regulatory and late payment fees due.  The company has one prior violation of WAC 480-120-382 for the 2010 Annual Report.  Staff does not support the company’s request to rescind the penalty due to prior violations.  However, due to the extenuating circumstances experienced by the company during the 2014 process, staff does recommend partial mitigation.  Staff recommends a reduced penalty of $25/day for a total assessed penalty of $250.

If you have any questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Amy Andrews, Regulatory Analyst, at (360) 664-1157, or aandrews@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,



Sondra Walsh, Director
Administrative Services
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_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Group Six Communication’s Mitigation Request received on August 13, 2014

_____________________________
1See attachment A for a copy of the penalty assessment sent on June 2, 2014
2See attachment B for a copy of Group Six Communication’s Mitigation Request received on August 13, 2014
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'WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-140889
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1.000

Group Six Communications, LLC
PO Box 12155
Salem, OR 97309

According to Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) records, you
‘have violated Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
telecommnications companies to file their annual reports and pay regulatory fees each year by
May 1. You did not file an annual report or pay regulatory fees by May 1. 2014.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80,04 080 authorizes the Commission to assess penalties of
100 for violations of Commission rules. Each violation is a separate and distinct offense and, in
the case of a continuing violation. every day’s continuance is a separate and distinct violation.
‘The Commission interprets noncompliance with WAC 480-120-382 beyond May 1 as 2
continuing violation, and assesses penalties of $100 for each day a company fails to file its report
or pay its regulatory fees after that date.

As a resul, the Commmission has assessed penalties against you in the amount of $1.000 on the
following basis:

On February 28, 2014, the Commission mailed the 2013 anmual report forms and
the 2014 regulatory fee packets to all telecommunications companies registered in
‘Washington. The instructions page for the annval report form instructed these
companies to file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1. 2014. The
instructions page also stated that failure to file the annual report by May 1 would
result in penalties. The deadline for requesting an extension to file your annual
report was April 17. You did not request an extension.

As of May 15, 2014, Group Six Communications, LLC has not filed its 2013
‘annual report or paid its 2014 regulatory fee. May 15 is 10 business days from
May 1 resulting in a total penalty of $1,000.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may request
2 hearing to contest the penalty assessment. The Commission will grant that request only if
‘material issues of law o fact require consideration of evidence and resolution in a hearing. A
request for a hearing must include a written statement of the reasons supporting that request.
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Failure to provide such a statement wil result in denial of the request. If there s a reason for the
‘violation that you think should excuse or reduce the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty through evidence presented at 2 hearing or i writing. A request for
‘mitigation must include a written tatement of the reasons supporting that request. Failure to
‘provide such a statement will result in denial of the request. See RCWS0.04.405

If you properly present your request for a hearing and the Commission grants that request, the
‘Commission will revierw the evidence supporting your dispute of the violation or application for
‘mitigation in a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding before an administrative law judge. The
administrative law judge will consider the evidence and will notify you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following

 Paythe amount due.
Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
+ Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utlities and.
Transportation Commission. Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection, which may file suit in state court to collect the penalty. The
‘Commission may also initiate proceedings under WAC 480-121-060 to revoke your autharity to
‘provide telecommunications services in Washington.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 2, 2014.

GREGORY ] KOPTA
Administrative Law Judge
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ASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-140889

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document. and send it to the Commission
‘within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below). which states that making false:
statements under oath i 2 class B felony. I am over the age of 13, am competent to testify to the
‘maters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make, under
oath, the following statements

[ 11 Payment of penalty. T admit that the violations occurred. T have:

[ ]Enclosed s in payment of the penalty
[ ] Submitted my payment of § online at wwiw utc wa gov
My confirmation mumber is

[ 12 Requestfor a hearing. T believe that one or more of the alleged violations did not
occur, for the reasons I describe below, and I request a hearing based on those reasons
fora decision by an administrative law judge:

[ 13 Application for mitigation. T adumit the violations, but I believe that the penalty should.
e reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 14 Taskfor a hearing to present evidence on the information I provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ]b) TaskforaCommission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.

T declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing.
including information T have presented on any attachments,is true and correct.

Dated: [month/dayyear], at [city, state]
‘Name of Respondent (company) — please priat Signature of Applicant
RCW 94 72020

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the frst degree ifin any official
‘proceeding he makes a materially false tatement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.™
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PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment, Use additional paper if necded.

Thave read and nderstand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. 1 am over the age of 18, am competent o testify to the
‘matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters.  hereby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 71 Paymentof penalty. Laduit that the violktions ocourred. T have:
[ ] Enclosed$, _ in paymet of the penalty

[ ] Submitted my payment of $ online at wiww.ute.wh.gov.
My confirmation number is

[12 Request for a hearing, I believe that one or more of the alleged violations did
i feasons [ describe below, and T request @ hearing based on those feasons
n by an administrative law judge:

5/(3 Application for mitigation. 1 admit the violations, but  believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reasons set out below:

[ 1) Taskfora hearing to preseat evidence on the information [ provide above to
an administrative law judge for a decision
OR [ ¥b) Tesk for a Commission decision based solely on the information I provide
above.
1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Weshington that the foregoing,
including infomation, have preseted on any attachments, is troc and correct.

Dated:

RCW 9A.72.020:
“Perjury i the frst degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any offcial
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law, (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element o this crime, and the actor's misteken belief that hisstatement was not material i not a
defense to a prosecution under this scction. (3) Peury in the first degree is a class B felony.”
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