STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 « Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 = TTY (360) 586-8203

September 28, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. Pac-West Telecomm, Inc.
Commission Staft’s Response to Application for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-120995

Dear Mr. Danner:

On July 31, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $450
Mitigated Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-120995 against Pac-West Telecomm, Inc. for 18
violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires
competitively classified telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the
commission no later than May 1 each year.

On August 13, 2012', Pac-West Telecomm, Inc. wrote the commission requesting mitigation of
penalties (Mitigation Request). In its Mitigation Request, Pac-West Telecomm, Inc. does not
dispute that the violation occurred. The company states, “Due to staff and office changes, the
2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fee packets were not received by our regulatory
department until after the deadline. We filed as soon as we were alerted to the issue.”

It is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 20127, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all regulated competitively classified telecommunications companies. In addition
to other information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the
annual report form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012 to avoid
enforcement action. On May 14, 2012°, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that
had not yet filed an annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of
$800. The letter went on to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than
May 25, 2012, would receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day
for each instance in the previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late
report.

1 See attachment A for a copy of Pac-West Telecomm, Inc.’s Mitigation Request.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
3 See attachment C for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012.
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Pac-West Telecomm, Inc. filed its annual report on May 25, 2012, which is 18 business days past
the deadline of May 1, 2012. The penalty was mitigated from $100 per day to $25 per day, for a
total of $450. Pac-West Telecomm, Inc. became regulated in November 1999 and has never
received a penalty for filing a delinquent annual report in the past.

Staff does not support mitigating the assessed penalty as the penalty has already been reduced.
Pac-West Telcomm, Inc. has been filing annual reports for several years and should be fully
aware of the May 1 deadline. Pac-West Tecomm, Inc.’s annual report was 24 days past the
deadline of May 1, 2012, making the company liable for a penalty of up to $2,400. The
commission nevertheless exercised its discretion and assessed a penalty of $450 against Pac-
West Telecomm, Inc. based on the number of business days the company’s filling was late,
rather than on the basis of calendar days. The commission, as a courtesy mails each company an
annual report form and regulatory fee sheet. Staff believes that the $450 penalty assessed is a
reasonable punitive measure to impose for the company’s violation of WAC 480-15-480.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105 or at mperkinson@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

(R _ ;
f/é&/ a//dfw
Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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Attachment A

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-120995

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty sssessment. Use additional paper if needed,

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
staternents under cath is 2 class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify w the

matters set forth below and I bave personal knowledge of those matters. | hersby make, under
oathy, the following statements.

f
t——4
[ 1L Payment of penalty. | admit that the viclations occurred. I have: ;f,
=
e e . i
[ 1Enclosed $450 in payment of the penalty o
=
&P
[ 12 Request for a hearing. | believe that one or more of the alleged violations did ot —
occur, based on the following information, and request a hearing, which s a process
that allows an affected person to present argument to an administrative law judpe fora
decision by an administrtive law judge:
(13

Appiicaticn for mitigation. I admit the violations, but | believe that the penaity should
be reduced for the reagson(s) set out below.

Due o staff and office changes, the 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fee packets

were not received by our regulatory department untif after the deadline. We filed as soon as
we were alerted 10 tha issue,

[ 1 a) laskforahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge based on the
information presented above.
OR X1k

I waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information |
present directly above.

[ declare under penalty of pedjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information | have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: 08082012

// [eity, state]

of Apﬁlic.mt
7

A

[month/day/year], at Austin, TX -

Mike Curry  (Pac-West Telecomm, Inc.)
Name of Respondent (company} - please print

Signat

ROCW 9A72.020:

e

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person s guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any oificial
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his staternent was pot material is aot a
defense 10 a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is 2 class B felony.™
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Attachment B

STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., P.O. Box 47250 « Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1T60 » TTY (360) 586-82043
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:

Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

and Transpertation Commission (UTCY).

What is required of vou?
By May 1, vou must:
+  Compiete and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report form
+ Pay your 2012 reguiatory fees

What happens if you do not file 2 completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If vou do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a financial penalty of $100 for each business day after May |
that the report is not filed and 3100 for each business day afier May | the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment you receive, atter vou
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior years. If vou have not filed vour completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
I vou do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, vou will ncur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance,
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penaily of $100 per business day after
May | that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written reguest for an extension o [ile vour completed annuil report. but the
UTC wili not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
fited with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why vou need an
extension and dentify a specific date by which vou will fle your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify vou by May | whether vour request is approved or denied. Even if your request

v - o
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STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
1300 S, Evergreen Park Dr. W, PO, Box 47250 « Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

{360} 664-1760 « TTY (360) 386-8203

February 29, 2012 '

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires vou to file an annual report and pay regulatory fees ko the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission {(UTC).

What is required of you?
By May 1, vou must:
+  (ompleic and file one paper copy or electronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report form
*  Pay your 2012 regulatory foes

What happens if you do not file a completed annual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
I you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a fmancial penalty of $160 for each business day after May 1
that the repert is not filed and $100 for each business day after May 1 the fees are unpaid.
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessment vou receive, after you
have filed 3 completed annual report and paid vour regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, wiil depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed late in prior vears, I vou have not filed your completed anmial report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, StafT will initiate procecdings to have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 17
If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a | percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid balance.
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $10{ per business day after
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

vour regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension o {ile your completed anmual report. bt the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which vou will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May | whether vour request is approved or denied. Even i vour request
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Page 2

is approved, you will still be Hable for penalties and interest payments if you fail to pay your
regulatory fees by May 1,

What should you do if vour company is no longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or peomit by using the cancellation forms available on
our website (see below), but if your company operated in Washington af any time doring
the 2011 calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file 2 closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 even iff vou cancel yvour registration or permit.

May vou designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

{1} You are eligible 10 request confidential treatment only if your company Is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, il you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 81 RCW, may not reguest
confidential treatment of documents because the authority for such reatment is found
only in RCW §0.04.093, I a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheet as
confidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential.

() You must {ollow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-67-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.ntc wa.goviannual reports.

Please noter The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not 2 confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the rule. The UTC will not, however,
disclose credit card information vou list on the fze sheet,

May von perform some of these tasks suline?
Yes. You may complete the following tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
2 www utc.wa goviannualreports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File your repont electronically

Cancel your registration {lelecommunications companies} or permit (iransportation
companies} if vour company ceased operations in 2011,

" 8 & &

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?

PO Box 47230
Olvimpia, WA 98304-7250

Is there any additional information you should file?
» If you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
vour Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2
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Attachment C
STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHIMNGTON UTILITIES AND TRAMSPORTATION COMMIDSHOM
308 5. Everpreen Park Do S0, PO Box 42250 « Ofvipla, Wasding tove 2058 50
(IGO0 GhA-FERD « TTY GRG0 5068200
May 14,2012
KOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION
Attention:

Your 2011 annual report to the Utilites snd Transposation Commission {compission) was due
on May 1, as required by law. Fins 25 of $100 per day began secruing on May 2.
As of the date of this letter, you have acerned a penalty of $880. That penalty will increase by

%100 per day for ench subsequent day you fail to comply.

This letter tells you what vou can do to mitigate vour penalty,

If the commission receives your report postmarked no Inter than May 25, conwnission staft
will mitigate your penalty to 8238 per day. Additional penalties of $25 per day wiil be added for
each yesr you have Gled late in the past five vewrs, up o 3 mucinnen of 3100 per day.

If you have
omplianee

Annual report foems are available on the commission’s website at www ute,w
questions o reguire additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Iavestigator, at (3603 664-1105 or mperkinsoni@utc. wa.gov.

Sineerely,

e
David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary




