STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Fvergreen Park Dr, S.W., P.O. Box 47250 ¢ Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 = TTY (360) 586-8203

September 28, 2012

David W. Danner, Executive Director and Secretary
Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. SW

P. O. Box 47250

Olympia, Washington 98504-7250

RE:  Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission v. CoSpeed LLC.
Commission Staff’s Response to Request for Mitigation of Penalties
Docket UT-120966

Dear Mr, Danner:

On July 30, 2012, the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission issued a $2,100
Penalty Assessment in Docket UT-120966 against CoSpeed LLC. (CoSpeed) for 21 violations of
Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-120-382, which requires competitively classified
telecommunications companies to furnish annual reports to the commission no later than May 1
each year.

Tt is the company’s responsibility to ensure that the regulatory fee and the annual report are filed
by the May 1 deadline. On February 29, 2012, Annual Report forms and Regulatory Fee packets
were mailed to all competitively classified telecommunications companies. In addition to other
information, the cover letter informed the regulated company it must complete the annual report
form, pay any regulatory fees and return the material by May 1, 2012, to avoid enforcement
action. The letter also stated a company may file a written request for an extension, however the
request must be filed with the commission by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for
why the extension is needed, along with the date the report will be filed. The company did not
file a request for an extension. The letter instructed the companies, if they no longer operated in
Washington, to go to the commission’s website and cancel its registration or permit, however if
the company operated in Washington at any time during the 2011 calendar year, it must pay
regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based on the months of operation during 2011,
even if it cancels its registration or permit. The company did not cancel its registration and it did
not file a closing annual report.

On May 14, 20122, the commission mailed a letter to those companies that had not yet filed an

1 See attachment A for a copy of the letter sent to all regulated companies on February 29, 2012.
2 See attachment B for a copy of the enforcement letter sent to the company on May 14, 2012.
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annual report notifying them that, to date, they had incurred a penalty of $800. The letter went on
to explain that companies who filed their annual reports no later than May 25, 2012, would
receive mitigated penalties of $25 per day, with an additional $25 per day for each instance in the
previous five years that the company received a penalty for filing a late report. The company had
substantial time and sufficient notice to file its annual report by the May 1 deadline.

On May 22, 2012, CoSpeed called the commission, requesting the $2,100 penalty assessment be
waived because the company is no longer operating in Washington state. Commission staff
informed CoSpeed it would remove the penalty if the company did, indeed, cease operations
during the reporting year in question, but failed to cancel its registration.

According to the Washington Secretary of State Website, CoSpeed became inactive on October
6,2011.

Despite CoSpeed failing to pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report, staff
recommends waiving any and all penalties related to CoSpeed’s 2011 annual report. The
commission’s policy in this scenario is to not enforce the annual report and regulatory fee
requirements even though it has the authority to do so.

If you have questions regarding this recommendation, please contact Mathew Perkinson,
Compliance Investigator, at (360) 664-1105, or at mperkinson{@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely, :

Stillac)

Sharon Wallace, Assistant Director
Consumer Protection and Communications
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Attachment A

STATE OF WASHINGTON
WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 5. Evergreen Park Dr. SW., P.O. Box 47250 + Olympls, Washinglon 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ TTY (160} 586-8203
February 29, 2012

Dear Regulated Company:
Reference: Your 2011 Annual Report and 2012 Regulatory Fees are due May 1

State law requires you to file an amiual report and pay regulatory fees to the Washinglon Utilities
and Transportation Commission (UTC).

What is required of you?.
By May 1, you must:
» Compleic and tile one paper copy or clectronic version of the enclosed 2011 annual
report form
o Pay your 2012 regniatory fogs

What happens if you do not file a completed anuual report and pay regulatory fees on

time?
If you do not file your company’s completed annual report and pay the regulatory fees by
May 1, the UTC will assess a Gnancial penalty of $100 for each business day after May |
that the report is not filed and $100 for each business day after May | the fees are unpaid,
You may seek mitigation of the penalties in response to the assessmient you receive, afler you
have filed a completed annual report and paid your regulatory fees. The amount of the
penalties the UTC mitigates, if any, will depend on the reasons you were late and whether
you have filed ute in prior years. If you have not liled your completed annual report or paid
your regulatory fees by June 1, 2012, Staff will initiate proceedings (o have the UTC revoke
your authority to operate in Washington.

What happens if you do not pay the regulatory fees by May 1?
If you do not pay your company’s regulatory fees by May 1, you will incur a 2 percent
penalty on the amount due and a 1 percent monthly interest charge on the unpaid batance.
These amounts apply in addition to the assessment of a penalty of $100 per business day after
May 1 that the fees are unpaid.

May you request an extension of time if you are unable to file the annual report or pay

your regulatory fees on time?
You may file a written request for an extension to file your completed annual report, but the
UTC will not extend the deadline for paying regulatory fees. Any extension request must be
filed with the UTC by April 24, 2012, and must state a valid reason for why you need an
extension and identify a specific date by which you will file your completed annual report. The
UTC will notify you by May 1 whether your request is approved or denied, Even if your request
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UTC Annual Reports and Fees
February 29, 2012
Pape 2

is approved, you will still be liable for penalties and interest payviments if you fail to pay your
reguiatory fees by May 1.

What should you do if your company is ne longer operating in Washington?
You may cancel your registration or permit by using the cancellation forms avaikable on
our websie (see below), but if your company operated in Washington at any time during
the 201 | calendar year, you must pay regulatory fees and file a closing annual report based
on the months of operation during 2011 cven if you cancel your registration or permit.

May you designate any information in your annual report as confidential?
Yes, but if you satisfy two conditions:

(1) You are eligible to request confidentisl treaiment only if your company is regulated under
Title 80 RCW, that is, if you operate an electric, natural gas, telecommunications or water
company. Transportation companies, regulated under Title 31 RCW, may not request
confidential reatment of documents because the authority for such treatment is found
only in RCW 80.04.095. I a Title 81 company files its annual report or fee sheel as
canfidential, the UTC will not treat it as confidential,

(2) You must follow the steps for filing confidential documents in WAC 480-07-160. You
may find this rule at the UTC website, www.ute.wa.gov/annual reports.

Please note: The regulatory fee sheet portion of your report is not a confidential document
and will not be accorded confidential treatment under the ride. The UTC will not, however,
disciose credit card information you list on the fee sheet,

May you perform some of these tasks online?
Yes, You may complete the Tollowing tasks from the annual reports page at the UTC
website waww.ute. wa.goviannualreports:

Obtain electronic versions of annual report forms

Pay regulatory fees

File yout report clectronically

Cancel your registration (telecommunications companies) or permit (transportation
companies) i your company ceased operations in 201 1,

* & + 9

Where do you mail the completed annual report form and regulatory fee payment?
Washington Utilitics and Transportation Commission
PO Box 47250
Olympia, WA 98504-7250

Is there any additionat information you should file?
e If you are a gas distribution company, please also file both a paper and electronic copy of
your Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 2,
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» 1f you arc an electric company, please also file both a paper and clectronic copy of your
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Form 1.

¢ 1f youare a class T Railroad, please also file a copy of your Surface Transportation Board
Form R-1 - including statistics specific to the state of Washington,

[f you have questions about any aspect of your report or regulatory fee, please contact Rae
Lynn Carnes at (360) 664-1152 or reames@ule. wa.gov.

If you need this letter or an annual report form in an altemate format, please call 360-664-1243. The

TTY Toll-Free phone number is 1-800-416-5289.

Sincerely,

i

Pavid W, Danner
Executive Director and Seerctary

Enclosures
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Attachment B

STATEY OF WASHINGION
WASHINGTOMN UTHITIES AND TRANSPORIATION COMMISHION
1 8, Fvesgroen Park D SV, B, iox 47250 o Olyaipla, Wasdhington wigsod-7250
£360) 664-1 140 = TTY (1604 58560207

May 14, 2012

NOTICE OF ENFORCMENT ACTION

Attention:

Youwr 2(H 1 annual repost to the Utilities and Transpertation Commission (commisston) was due
on May 1, a3 required by law. Financial penalties of $100 per doy began acerving on May 2.

As of the dafe of this letter, you have acerued a penalty of $860. That penalty will increase by
$100 per day for each subsequent day you fail to comply.

This Jetter tells you what you can do to mitignte your penalfy,

1f the commission receives your report pestmarked no Inter than May 25, commission staff
wil mitigate your penalty 10 $25 per day. Additional penaliies of $25 per day will be added for
each year you have filed fate in the past [ive years, up to a maximum of $100 per day.

Annual report forms are available on the commission’s website al www.ute.wa.gov. If you have
questions or require additional information, please contact Mathew Perkinson, Complianee
Tnvestigator, at (360 664-1105 or mperkinsonf@ute, wa.gov.

Sineerely,

G Vourd i (feevnr

Bavid W. Danner
Exe¢cutive Diveclor and Secretary




