WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-100322
PENALTY AMOUNT: $7,900

GERALD JAHN D/B/A
SPOKANE MOVERS
PO BOX 19232
SPOKANE, WA 99219

" The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed a number of violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15, which
specify how household goods moving companies may issue estimates and supplemental
estimates. The Commission also believes you have committed a number of violations of Tariff
15-C, which identifies the rates and charges household goods moving companies may charge

their customers, as well as the items a company must include on its estimate forms and bills of
lading.

Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such
violation. Under this statute, each and every violation is considered a separate and distinct
offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, each day the violation continues is considered
a separate and distinct violation.

As a part of a follow-up investigation of documents related to a move Gerald Jahn d/b/a Spokane
Movers performed in July 2009, and of the company’s business records from 70 moves
performed in September and October 2009, Commission staff identified a number of violations
of WAC 480-15 and Tariff 15-C. As aresult, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has
assessed penalties against you in the amount $7,900 for the following 79 violations.

Failure to supply an estimate to each customer prior to moving household goods
’ 4 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630
Failure to provide inventory cube sheets with estimates.
67 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630 and Tariff 15-C, Item 85(2)(g).
Failure to provide a supplemental estimate.
6 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-630
Failure to provide a bill of lading.
2 VIOLATIONS: WAC 480-15-710

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explamed is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment,
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Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your request
in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law
judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify you of his or her
decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

s Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

X you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

~ DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective May 4, 2010.

AL L0

ANN E. RENDAHL
Director, Administrative Law Division




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
‘ PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-100322

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. I am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make, under

- oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $900 in payment
of the penalty.

[ ] 2. Request for a hearing. [ believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge: : '

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 @) Task forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information. I
present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020: -

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any official
proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is not an
element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”




