November 5, 2009
Ethan Margalith, Chairman
Starving Students, Inc.

1850 Sawtelle Boulevard #300

Los Angeles, CA  90025-7028

RE:  Penalty Assessment TV-091592
Dear Mr. Margalith:
A review of Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) records indicates that you have not responded to the enclosed Notice of Penalties dated October 9, 2009. A response was due within 15 days of your receipt of the penalty notice. According to our records, Starving Students, Inc. received the penalty assessment on October 13, 2009.
The penalty amount is due and payable now. If we do not receive your $1,600 payment by November 13, 2009, we will refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney General for collection. In addition, the commission will consider further sanctions at that time.
If you have any questions, please contact Betty Young, Compliance Specialist, Transportation Safety. Ms. Young can be reached at 360-664-1202, or by e-mail at byoung@utc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

David W. Danner

Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosure
[image: image1.png]‘WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-091592
PENALTY AMOUNT: $1,600

STARVING STUDENTS, INC.
1850 SAWTELLE BLVD #300
LOS ANGELES, CA 90025-7028

‘The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission) believes that you have
committed one or more violations of Washington Administrative Code (WAC) 480-15-570,
Driver safety requirements, which requires household goods carriers to comply with CFR Part
391 governing qualification of drivers. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows
penalties of up to one hundred dollars for every such violation and, in the case of a continuing
‘violation, states that every day's continuance shall be deemed a separate and distinct violation.

‘The Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penaltics against you in the amount of
$1,600, as follows:

On September 23,2009, Motor Carrier Safety staff John Foster conducted a compliance
review of Starving Students. During the review, Mr. Foster found that the company had
been using a driver whose license was suspended. This violates WAC 480-15-570,
which adopts by reference CFR Part 391.11(b)(5), Using a driver without a currently
valid motor vehicle operator’s license or permit. According lo the company’s records,
this driver drove for a total of 16 days during September 2009. This constitutes 16
violations as to which a penalty of $100 per violation is assessed.

‘This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support the
penalty assessment.

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violations did not oceur, you may
Tequest a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there s a reason for the violations that
you think should excuse you from all or part of the penalty, you may ask for mitigation
(reduction) of this penalty. Sec RCW 81.04.405.

‘You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are not
required to do so. If you do, the Commission will revie the cvidence supporting your request
in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an administrative law
judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and nofify you of his o her decision.
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You must act within 15 days after rece g this notice to do one of the following:

+  Pay the amount due.
*  Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities and
‘Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250, within
FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective October 9, 2009.
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'WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-091592

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the Commission
within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if noeded.

Thave read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath s a class B felony. 1 am over the age of 18, am competent to festfy to the
matters set forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. I hercby make, under
oath, the following statements.

[ 1 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violations occurred and enclose $1.600 in
payment of the penalty.

[ 12 Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violations did not oceur, based on the
following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative law
judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. T admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty should
be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ ] @)1 ask for a hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b)Iwaiveahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
T present here:

T declare under penalty of perjury under the Jaws of the State of Washington that the foregoing,
including information I have presented on any atfachments, is true and correet.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [eity, state]

‘Name of Respondent (company) ~ please print Signature of Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person s guilty of perjury in the first degree ifin any official
proceeding he makes « materially false statement which he knows o be false under an oath
required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement i not an
element of this crime, and the actor's mistaken belief that his statement was not material is not a
defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a class B felony.”











