STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 8. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W., PO. Box 47250 * Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 ¢ TTY (360) 586-8203

September 25, 2009

Frank McGovern, President
Quality Telephone, Inc.

PO Box 7310

Dallas, Texas 75209

RE: Penalty Assessment UT-090961

Dear Mr. McGovern:

A review of Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) records
indicates that you have not remitted payment for the enclosed Notice of Penalties dated June
26, 2009.

If we do not receive your $200 payment by October 2, 2009, the commission will consider
additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney

General for collection.

For questions regarding this matter, please contact Sheri Hoyt, Compliance Investigator. Ms.
Hoyt can be reached at (360) 664-1149, or by e-mail at shoyt@wutc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosure
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WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUl
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UT-090961
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200

QUALITY TELEPHONE, INC.
POST OFFICE BOX 7310
DALLAS, TEXAS 75209

The Commission believes that you have commitied a violation of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) Code 480-120-382 which requires competitive
telecommunications companies to file annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each
year. You are classified as such a company. Commission records show that you did not make
the filing by the required date of May 1, 2009. Revised Code of Washington (RCW)
80.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for every such violation. Each and every such violation
shall be a separate and distinct offense and, in the case of a continuing violation, every day’s
continuance shall be-and be deemed to be a separate and distinct viofation.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount $200, as follows:

On March 2, 2009, the commission mailed 2008 Annual Report forms and
2009 Regulatory Fee packets to telecommunications carriers registered with it.
A letter from Executive Director and Secretary David W. Danner instructed
companies 1o file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2009,
Further, the letter stated failure to file the annual report by May 1 could result
in a penalty. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the
annual report were asked to do so prior to May 1, prewdmg a reason for the
requestcd extension,

On March 27, 2009, the commission mailed a notice to all telecommunications

carriers reminding them 2008 annual reports and 2009 regulatory feeswere

~ due by May: 1, 2009,

On May 15, 2009, the commission sent letters to those companies that had not
7 yet filed their reports. The letter, signed by David Danner, gave an extension
' to companies to file their reports by May 29, 2009. In the letter, Mr, Danner
stated the commission would not seek 2 fine or move to revoke the registration
of any company with a report received by the commission postmarked no later
than May 29.



PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-090961 _ PAGE 2
As of June 23, 2009, Quality Telephone, Inc., failed to file the 2008 Annual Report,

Quality Telephone, Inc.; also failed to file its 2007 annual report timely and, as a
- result, previously received a $100 penalty assessment in 2008, This penalty amount of
- $200 is for two consecutive years of non-compliance.

This Jnformatlon if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment, :

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for m:tlgatlon {reduction) of this
penally See RCW 80.04.405.

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation af a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her dccmon

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following;

+ Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations,
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Pleésé indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washmgton 98504-7250,

. within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice.

If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the .

Atlorney General for collection, The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty

;zik S, @M

ANN E, RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge 7




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UT-090961

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment., Use additional paper if

needed.

[ have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. [ am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters set forth below and [ have personal knowledge of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the followmg statements,

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I admit that the violation occurred and enclose $200 in
, payment of the penalty.

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and requcst a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law: judge

[ 1 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ 1 a) Task forahearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b) Iwaivea hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washmgton that the
foregomg, lncludmg mformatlon I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct

Dated: ' [month/dayfyear], at [city, state]

~ Name of Respondent (compény)r— pleasé priht - Si”grnatrurerbf Applicant

RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under

an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
-material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degrec isa
class B felony.” :



