STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O. Box 47250 * Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360) 664-1160 * TTY (360) 586-8203

September 25, 2009

5 Star Movers and Delivery, LLC
3410 160" Avenue East
Sumner, Washington 98391

RE: Penalty Assessment TV-090944

To Whom It May Concern:

A review of Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) records
indicates that you have not remitted payment for the enclosed Notice of Penalties dated July
2, 2009.

If we do not receive your $100 payment by October 2, 2009, the commission will consider

additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney
General for collection.

For questions regarding this matter, please contact Sheri Hoyt, Compliance Investigator. Ms.

Hoyt can be reached at (360) 664-1149, or by e-mail at shoyt@wutc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosure




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE _
-FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: TV-090944
PENALTY AMOUNT: $100

5 STAR MOVERS AND DELIVERY, LLC
3410 160™ AVENUE E
SUMNER, WASHINGTON 98391

The Commission belicves that you have committed a violation of Washington
Administrative Code (WAC) Code 480-15-480 which requires household goods carriers to
file annual reports with the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission
(Commission) by May 1 each year. You are classified as such a company., Commission
records show that you did not make the filing by the required date of May 1, 2009. Revised
Code of Washington (RCW) 81.04.405 allows penaltics of $100 for every such violation,
Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense and, in the casc of a
continuing violation, every day’s continuance shall be and be deemed to be a separate and
distinct violation. ‘

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed penalties against you in
the amount $100, as follows:

On March 2, 2009, the commission mailed 2008 Annual Report forms and
2009 Regulatory Fee packets 10 houschold goods carriers registered with it. A
letter from Executive Director and Secretary David W. Danner instructed
- companies (o file annual reports and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2009.
Further, the letter stated failure to file the annual report by May 1 could result
-in a penalty. Those companies wishing to request an extension to file the
annual report were asked to do so prior to May 1, providing a reason for the
requested extension. 5 Star Movers and Del[very, LLC, did not request an
extension,

On March 27, 2009, the commission mailed a nofice to all household goods
- carriers reminding them that 2008 annual :eports and 20(}9 regulatory fees
were due by May 1, 2009,

- On May 15, 2009, the commission sent letters to those companies that had not yet
filed their reports. The létter, signed by David Danner, gave an extension to
companies to file their reports by May 29, 2009, In the letter, Mr. Danner stated the
commission would not seek & fine or cancel the permit of any company with a report
received by the commission postmarked no later than May 29,
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As of June 23, 2009, 5 Star Movers and Delivery, LLC, failed to file the 2008 Annual
Report. »

This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment,

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to confest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 81.04.405, :

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporling your
request in an informal hearing, called a Bricf Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
_you of his or her decision.

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

» Pay the amount due, ‘
* Request a hearing 1o contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigagion to contest the amount.of the penalty.

Please indicate your,selectioﬁ on the enclosed form and send it to the Washington Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
within FIFTEEN (15) days after you receive this notice. .

~ If you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June 0, 2009.

g .
ANN E. RENDAHL,
Administrative Law }_udge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT TV-090944

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if’

needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. T am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
the matters sct forth below and I have personal knowledge of those matters. T hereby make,
under oath, the following statements.

[ ] I. Payment of penalty, I admit that the violation occurred and enclose §100 in
payment of the penalty.

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I belicve that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge: :

[ ] 3. Application for mitigation. I admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
[ ] a) Task fora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ ] b} 1waive a hearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here: :

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct,

Dated: ___ [month/day/ycar], at [city, slate]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false stalement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not

~material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is a
class B felony.”




