STATE OF WASHINGTON

WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

1300 S. Evergreen Park Dr. S.W.,, P.O. Box 47250 ® Olympia, Washington 98504-7250
(360} 664-1160 * TTY (360) 586-8203

September 25, 2009

MG Blossom, President

South Bainbridge Water System, Inc.
4573 Point White Drive NE
Bainbridge Island, Washington 98110

RE: Penalty Assessment UW-090939

Dear Mr. Blossom:

A review of Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (commission) records
indicates that you have not remitted payment for the enclosed Notice of Penalties dated June
26, 2009.

If we do not receive your $200 payment by October 2, 2009, the commission will consider

additional sanctions. In addition, we will refer the matter to the Office of the Attorney
General for collection.

For questions regarding this matter, please contact Sheri Hoyt, Compliance Investigator. Ms.

Hoyt can be reached at (360) 664-1149, or by e-mail at shoyt@wutc.wa.gov.

Sincerely,

P Sl Vg S
David W. Danner
Executive Director and Secretary

Enclosure




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

NOTICE OF PENALTIES INCURRED AND DUE
FOR VIOLATIONS OF LAWS AND RULES -

PENALTY ASSESSMENT: UW-090939
PENALTY AMOUNT: $200

SOUTH BAINBRIDGE WATER SYSTEM, INC.
4573 POINT WHITE DRIVE NE
BAINBRIDGE ISLAND, WA 98110

The Commission believes that you have committed a violation of Washington

~ Administrative Code (WAC) Code 480-110-505 which requires water companies to file
annual reports with the Commission by May 1 each year. You are classified as such a
company, Commission records show that you did not make the filing by the required date of
May 1, 2009. Revised Code of Washington (RCW) 80.04.405 allows penalties of $100 for
every such violation. Each and every such violation shall be a separate and distinct offense

- and, in the case of a continning violation, every day’s continuance shall be and be deemed to
be a separate and distinct violation.

As a result, the Commission hereby notifies you that it has assessed pehalties against you in -
the amount $200, as follows:

On March 2, 2009, the commission mailed 2008 Annual Report forms and 2009
Regulatory Fee packets to water companies registered with it, A letter from Executive
Director and Secretary David W. Danner instructed companies to file annual reports
and pay regulatory fees by May 1, 2009, Further, the letter stated failure to file the
annual report by May 1 could result in a penalty. Those companies wishing to request
an extension to file the annual report were asked to do so prior to May 1, providing a
reason for the requested extension. South Bainbridge Water System, Inc., did not
request an extension.

On March 27, 2009, the commission mailed a notice to all water companies
reminding them that 2008 annual reports and 2009 regulatory fees were due by May
1, 2009,

South Bainbridge Water System, Inc., failed to file its 2008 annual report by the May
1 deadline. On May 15, 2009, the commission sent letiers to those companies that had
not yet filed their reports. The letter, signed by David Danner, gave an extension to
companies to file their reports by May 29, 2009. In the letter, Mr, Danner stated the
commission would not seek a fine from any company with a report received by the
commission postmarked no later than May 29.




PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-09093% ) ; PAGE 27 -

As of June 19, 2009, South Bainbridge Water System, Inc., failed to file the 2008
Annual Report.

~ This information, if proved at a hearing and not rebutted or explained, is sufficient to support
the penalty assessment. '

Your penalty is due and payable now. If you believe the violation did not occur, you may
request a hearing to contest the penalty assessment. If there is a reason for the violation that
you think should excuse you from the penalty, you may ask for mitigation (reduction) of this
penalty. See RCW 80.04.405. '

You have the right to present your request for review or mitigation at a hearing, but you are
not required to do so. If you do, the Commission will review the evidence supporting your
request in an informal hearing, called a Brief Adjudicative Proceeding, before an
administrative law judge. The administrative law judge will consider your plea and notify
you of his or her decision. :

You must act within 15 days after receiving this notice to do one of the following:

-+ Pay the amount due.
* Request a hearing to contest the occurrence of the violations.
* Request mitigation to contest the amount of the penalty.

Please indicate your selection on the enclosed form and send it to the Washiﬁgton Utilities
and Transportation Commission, Post Office Box 47250, Olympia, Washington 98504-7250,
- within FIFTEEN (15) days afier you receive this notice.

H you do not act within 15 days, the Commission may refer this matter to the Office of the
Attorney General for collection. The Commission may then sue you to collect the penalty.

DATED at Olympia, Washington, and effective June @ 2009.

ANN E. RENDAHL
Administrative Law Judge




WASHINGTON UTILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION
PENALTY ASSESSMENT UW-090939

PLEASE NOTE: You must complete and sign this document, and send it to the
Commission within 15 days after you receive the penalty assessment. Use additional paper if
~ needed.

I have read and understand RCW 9A.72.020 (printed below), which states that making false
statements under oath is a class B felony. | am over the age of 18, am competent to testify to
* the matters set forth below and I have personal knowledgg of those matters. I hereby make,
under oath, the following statements,

[ ] 1. Payment of penalty. I- adm;t that the v10]at10n occurred and enclose $200 in
payment of the penalty,

[ 1 2. Request for a hearing. I believe that the alleged violation did not occur, based on
the following information, and request a hearing for a decision by an administrative
law judge:

[ 13. Application for mitigation. ] admit the violation, but I believe that the penalty
should be reduced for the reason(s) set out below.
{ ] a) Taskfora hearing for a decision by an administrative law judge
OR [ 1 b) Iwaive ahearing and ask for an administrative decision on the information
I present here: :

1 declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of Washington that the
foregoing, including information I have presented on any attachments, is true and correct.

Dated: [month/day/year], at [city, state]
Name of Respondent (company) — please print Signature of Applicant
RCW 9A.72.020:

“Perjury in the first degree. (1) A person is guilty of perjury in the first degree if in any
official proceeding he makes a materially false statement which he knows to be false under
an oath required or authorized by law. (2) Knowledge of the materiality of the statement is
not an element of this crime, and the actor’s mistaken belief that his statement was not
material is not a defense to a prosecution under this section. (3) Perjury in the first degree is'a
class B felony.”



